Posting your rating...
Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10
43 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
11
6
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

At this price point, I think there are much better rums out there like Flor De Cana 4 year and Cruzan. Don Q gold has a harsh alcohol "bouquet" and a somewhat "chemical" flavor to me. It's drinkable but I'm not inclined to buy it again, even as a mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by desdamonas_rocketship from United States with 3 ratings

Bought this to mix. Trying on the rocks to rate. Very sweet and boozy. No real nice aging characteristics at all, straight up liquor. Must mix this, not good by itself.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gregdeboer2019 from United States with 13 ratings

My “go to” Cuba Libre while I’m in Puerto Rico. Its much better that its Bacardi equivalent.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

All the don q rums are a bit to agricolic for me. This one is no exception. Nothing special....

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by KYRumRunner from United States with 5 ratings

Misses the mark in my book. Strong, harsh like a bottom shelf tequila. Ugh!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

About what you'd expect from a cheap rum with minimal age.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 433 ratings

Is a comercial rum. Good only in a cocktail combination.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

Don Q Oro is my favorite everyday rum. Its taste is refreshing and its aromas are balanced when served as Cuba Libre, with lime and coca cola. It is smooth and I csn drink it all night snd nevet get tired of it!

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 416 ratings

The other reviews kept me away from this one up until now because they are right. It is pale in color and almost could pass for a white rum. As others have said, the after taste is quite unpleasant and bitter. I compared this side by side against Cruzan Gold, which is my top recommended rum among those for less than $20. No contest. Even at only $9 per bottle, I won't be buying this one again.

And later that evening: this shit is horrible, so I dock it one point. It's clear brother called Don Q Cristal is much better, as others have said. As bad as this one is, it is still better than anything by Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum during a tasting seminar at Cardiff Rum Festival.

Not much to say about this one. Pretty standard cocktail bar fare. Not a sipper by a long shot. How old even is it? Got to be 1 or there abouts.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Bay from United States with 1 rating

Very enjoyable oaky rum flavor.Velvety mouthfeel.Smell is like how it tastes.Smoothness is not great but that's how rum should be in my opinion.