Posting your rating...
Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10 (41 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
14
11
5
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Lyle from United States with 8 ratings

Good quality for the cost. Very smooth and easy to drink straight or on ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

All the don q rums are a bit to agricolic for me. This one is no exception. Nothing special....

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by KYRumRunner from United States with 5 ratings

Misses the mark in my book. Strong, harsh like a bottom shelf tequila. Ugh!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

About what you'd expect from a cheap rum with minimal age.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Is a comercial rum. Good only in a cocktail combination.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

Don Q Oro is my favorite everyday rum. Its taste is refreshing and its aromas are balanced when served as Cuba Libre, with lime and coca cola. It is smooth and I csn drink it all night snd nevet get tired of it!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

The other reviews kept me away from this one up until now because they are right. It is pale in color and almost could pass for a white rum. As others have said, the after taste is quite unpleasant and bitter. I compared this side by side against Cruzan Gold, which is my top recommended rum among those for less than $20. No contest. Even at only $9 per bottle, I won't be buying this one again.

And later that evening: this shit is horrible, so I dock it one point. It's clear brother called Don Q Cristal is much better, as others have said. As bad as this one is, it is still better than anything by Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum during a tasting seminar at Cardiff Rum Festival.

Not much to say about this one. Pretty standard cocktail bar fare. Not a sipper by a long shot. How old even is it? Got to be 1 or there abouts.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bay from United States with 1 rating

Very enjoyable oaky rum flavor.Velvety mouthfeel.Smell is like how it tastes.Smoothness is not great but that's how rum should be in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Don Q Gold is decent when mixed with Coke, but as a neat sipper rum, not so much. Harsh alcohol smell, very weak bland color and nasty taste if you try it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Roc James from United States with 6 ratings

I had a really bad week, and I was broke and drank all of the Kirk and Sweeney 12 year in my liquor cabinet. Hiding in the back I spotted a bottle of Don Q that a friend had brought over and I put my nose in the air and quickly shoved it in the back to never be seen again until today. Not a horrible rum, but not something I would purposely buy to consume myself unless my pockets were light. Mixed with coke I think it tastes better than Bacardi