Posting your rating...
Don Q Cristal rum

Don Q Cristal

Puerto Rico | Light

6.1/10
76 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
17
16
22
10
1
4

Rate Don Q Cristal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Don Q Cristal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by paul feith from Spain with 2 ratings

This is my go to mixing rum...great neutral rum flavour at a decent price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 119 ratings

The nose is faint citrus and vodka-like alcohol, the taste is very mild, fine vodka with a lemon twist turning towards sweet, which almost disappears when mixed. Considering the price and the fact that there is nothing in the smell and taste which would spoil any drink, it is a nice inoffensive mixer - sometimes you need just that. Much better to spend money on this, than Elements 8 Platinum. I prefer the white rum with more distinguishable taste that this so I am giving only 6 stars here, but if you like to prepare those dangerous mixed drinks where you actually cannot feel the taste of the alcohol, add two stars as this rum serves this purpose very well indeed.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by RumFrica from Netherlands with 5 ratings

I picked up a bottle for €18. For this price I can get way better and sometimes cheaper light rums such as Plantation 3 Stars, Flor de Caña 4 or Havana Club 3. The rums doesn't have a lot of flavor or alcohol bite to it. I found it not as bad as Bacardi Carta Blanca or Captain Morgan White, but it doesn't really do anything particaly well. Decent in a Rum & Coke or Mojito, for a Daiquiri there are better alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

I’m leaning now more towards lighter, sippable rums. I’ve compared several including Brugal Especial extra dry, Cruzan Aged Rum (not the light or the dark, just labeled Aged Rum) and Don Q Cristal. I’d rank them 3, 2 and 1, in that order. Don Q Cristal being my favorite. It’s very slightly sweet with no offensive odor or taste. Very pleasant. It’s my new daily sipper. No question. I’ve read that in Puerto Rico it outsells Bacardi 3 to 1.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Cpt.J from United States with 14 ratings

Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my share of some wonderful rum. This stuff is absolutely amazing tho. I can get a 1.75L out here for $25 after tax. My favorite drink is a mojito. Need I say more? This makes the PERFECT mojito. I keep a 1.75 of this on hand for just my mojitos while I keep a bottle of plantation 3 star for my tiki drinks. That’s my recommendation to you

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Good light rum, better than the bacardi by far, decent for Mojitos

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 52 ratings

Very light flavor good for mojitos or other citrus base cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I generally lean toward the dark rum, but this one seemed interesting and my Puerto Rican friends all day it is the preferred rum in Puerto Rico. Don Q Cristal is clear, nice and sweet with a pretty good burn. I took it with a Coke on the side, didn’t really like it straight, not really a sipping rum in my opinion, so I went ahead and mixed it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by xrodriguez from United States with 22 ratings

Love this rum as a mixer. Folks from Puerto Rico love this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by YohoYoho from United States with 10 ratings

Have used this in various cocktails calling for white rum, always tastes great to me. Have also tried in a mix with dark rum to steep cherries in (but those are still currently aging in the jar). Does not have a strong flavor, but that is a good thing, I don’t think it supposed to. In any event, I like it better than Bacardi white and think it will do great in any cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ubertulsons from Latvia with 7 ratings

Asked for good rom in puerto rico alckohol store, priposed don Q vs bacardi and with coke was pretty ok.