Posting your rating...
Don Q Cristal rum

Don Q Cristal

Puerto Rico | Light

6.1/10
76 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
17
16
22
10
1
4

Rate Don Q Cristal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Don Q Cristal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by paul feith from Spain with 2 ratings

This is my go to mixing rum...great neutral rum flavour at a decent price.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pauf from United States with 10 ratings

I love this rum for cocktails. You can drink it with just ice and water or jazz it up in a mojito. A friend of mine from Puerto Rico swears by his hang over free mornings after a Don Q evening, I must admit the damage was minimal compared to other selections.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Nondescript rum that's the best thing on the bottom shelf.

sugar test-0g

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Matt Thomas from United States with 11 ratings

It's what the locals drink in PR. Or on a boat. GAI. (Get after it)

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

was told while visiting Puerto Rico to visit the Bacardi factory, but drink Don Q. They were right! Favorite crystal run for making mojitos.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 2 ratings

Years ago my Puerto Rican in-laws introduced my to this Caribbean Gem. I can't even drink Bacardi or any other white rum anymore. Mix it with passion fruit juice for an incredible cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I prefer this over the standard Bacardi white rum when mixed with Coke. It has a nice smooth neutral taste with a finish that I did not expect for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Quick fact, in Puerto Rico, Don Q is the rum of choice. It taste like what folks think white rum taste like, not "vodka" (i.e. Bacardi Superior). It great for mixing, both frozen and non-frozen cocktails. It's not great for sipping or cooking with, but there are much better rums for that. It comes in a gazillion flavors (e.g. limon, coconut, etc.) and always costs less than $20, probably closer to $15.

If I had to pick a brand of rum from the brands with the widest selections of rums (i.e. Bacardi, Don Q, Cruzan, Malibu), I would definitely choose Cruzan over Don Q, but Don Q over Bacardi and Malibu depending on the flavor. Please note: alcohol content amongst flavors vary.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This rum is inexpensive and provides a taste superior to the other big brands when a mixer is required. Gave my Rum&Coke an almost chocolate-y quality I quote liked. It's definitely not a sipper, though, so I can't recommend it on flavor and aroma alone.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by lholz13 from United States with 27 ratings

I do not get the hype. I probably won’t buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Wo1fpacker from United States with 13 ratings

This is a solid 'backbone' rum. It doesn't stand out as compared to other white rums but it has a pleasant, crisp flavor that works well cocktails or a light sip over ice. Definitely better than Bacardi by a stretch.