Posting your rating...
Don Q Cristal rum

Don Q Cristal

Puerto Rico | Light

6.1/10 (72 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
15
15
21
10
1
4

Rate Don Q Cristal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


72 Don Q Cristal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Better than Bacardi superior. Noticeably smoother and easier to drink. Pretty solid young rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Nondescript rum that's the best thing on the bottom shelf.

sugar test-0g

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt Thomas from United States with 11 ratings

It's what the locals drink in PR. Or on a boat. GAI. (Get after it)

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

was told while visiting Puerto Rico to visit the Bacardi factory, but drink Don Q. They were right! Favorite crystal run for making mojitos.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mike from United States with 2 ratings

Years ago my Puerto Rican in-laws introduced my to this Caribbean Gem. I can't even drink Bacardi or any other white rum anymore. Mix it with passion fruit juice for an incredible cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I prefer this over the standard Bacardi white rum when mixed with Coke. It has a nice smooth neutral taste with a finish that I did not expect for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Quick fact, in Puerto Rico, Don Q is the rum of choice. It taste like what folks think white rum taste like, not "vodka" (i.e. Bacardi Superior). It great for mixing, both frozen and non-frozen cocktails. It's not great for sipping or cooking with, but there are much better rums for that. It comes in a gazillion flavors (e.g. limon, coconut, etc.) and always costs less than $20, probably closer to $15.

If I had to pick a brand of rum from the brands with the widest selections of rums (i.e. Bacardi, Don Q, Cruzan, Malibu), I would definitely choose Cruzan over Don Q, but Don Q over Bacardi and Malibu depending on the flavor. Please note: alcohol content amongst flavors vary.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This rum is inexpensive and provides a taste superior to the other big brands when a mixer is required. Gave my Rum&Coke an almost chocolate-y quality I quote liked. It's definitely not a sipper, though, so I can't recommend it on flavor and aroma alone.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

I’m leaning now more towards lighter, sippable rums. I’ve compared several including Brugal Especial extra dry, Cruzan Aged Rum (not the light or the dark, just labeled Aged Rum) and Don Q Cristal. I’d rank them 3, 2 and 1, in that order. Don Q Cristal being my favorite. It’s very slightly sweet with no offensive odor or taste. Very pleasant. It’s my new daily sipper. No question. I’ve read that in Puerto Rico it outsells Bacardi 3 to 1.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Cpt.J from United States with 11 ratings

Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my share of some wonderful rum. This stuff is absolutely amazing tho. I can get a 1.75L out here for $25 after tax. My favorite drink is a mojito. Need I say more? This makes the PERFECT mojito. I keep a 1.75 of this on hand for just my mojitos while I keep a bottle of plantation 3 star for my tiki drinks. That’s my recommendation to you

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Good light rum, better than the bacardi by far, decent for Mojitos