Posting your rating...
Don Q Anejo rum

Don Q Anejo

Puerto Rico | Gold

6.3/10 (71 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
15
20
23
8
1
1

Rate Don Q Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


71 Don Q Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Sous son look de rhum à cocktails (top en daiquiri) se cache un vrai et honnête rhum de dégustation. À laisser aérér un bon quart d'heure pour profiter au mieux de l'expérience.
Plus abordable que le Havana 7 ans par exemple dans le même style.
La bouteille est relookee et affiche la nature du blend (3-8 ans à l'arrière).

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Don Q Gran Anejo (DQGA) is one of my top rums ever. Don Q Anejo (son of DQGA) has a similar “Anejo” taste but is clearly less “anejo”, that is, aged. When I am in the mood for Don Q and I am out of DQGA (especially since I am on a budget) i will turn to this excellent stand-in.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alex from Italy with 32 ratings

Nase holzig mit fruchtigen Noten
Am Gaumen Süss
Leider sehr schneller abgang

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Léger, facile d'approche, sur les épices. Bon rapport qualité-prix

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Nothing really special though nice for a "daily" rum! Didn't blow me away, didn't make me wanna stop drinking so a worthy 6!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

Other reviewers noted the similarities between this entry level rum and their Gran Anejo. I cannot think of a rum that is this cheap and still serves as a sipper. For the money, this one wins hands down over their Gran Anejo. Very smooth! It would also make a great mixer.

Update four days later: This rum makes one of the best Cuba Libres that I have ever had in my life! Forget the blanco rums for this drink! As for the taste vs cost ratio, this one wins hands down. Sure, there are much better sipping rums, but be prepared to pay 2-3 times more than one would for this one.

On another note, I was once anti-Don Q until I gave their Gran Anejo a try and was inspired by another reviewer to try this much cheaper and more flavorful rum. This one is definitely one to keep to avoid raiding the rum cabinet filled with much more expensive ones.

On still another note, if you wind up getting stuck owning a $51 bottle of Don Q Gran Anejo that is super smooth with almost no flavors, here is what to do with it. Try a 50/50 mixture of Don Q Anejo and Don Q Gran Anejo. You can even store this magical mixture back into that pretty bottle of Don Q Gran Anejo and most of your guests would never know. The Don Q Anejo has the much needed flavor while sacrificing some smoothness due to lack of aging. Together they make a fantastic combo. Gosh, why hasn't Don Q figured this out to sell us this mixture priced between $15 and $51? Don Q, this is your hint! I also should adopt a new nickname of Senor Simple Solera.

Update March 10, 2018: I bought another brand new bottle of Don Q Anejo and tested it against four other budget sipping rums between $11 and $23. As expected, the $11 Cruzan Gold lost out right away to Cruzan Estate Diamond Dark 5 year, which then lost out to Don Q Anejo. Then this Don Q beat my old standby of Flor De Cana 7. It was then a final comparison between this Don Q Anejo and my El Dorado 8, but that is like comparing two different rums, one is very dark and one is lighter. I liked the El Dorado 8 better, but at $8 more, I would expect this to be so. Since I would have to drive 25 miles one way to pick up new bottles of either one, my budget and mood would determine my go-to budget dark sipper at that time.

Update August 18, 2020: I just checked the website for Don Q rums. It appears that this old favorite will be discontinued or renamed Don Q Reserva 7.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Don Q makes a wide array of rums in the Spanish style, which are always going to be on the thinner, lighter side. It's a solid choice for any cocktail recipe calling for a Puerto Rican gold rum. It's an outstanding mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vinesh from Netherlands with 19 ratings

I liked the taste and smell. Nice drink for a good price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

This was an okay experience, liked the smell and taste, but not as good as others I have tasted.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 148 ratings

Egentlig en meget god duft, men smagen er en anelse for flad.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

Caramel, brown sugar in the nose.
Taste is plain and boring with no significant flavour (maybe hints of cinnamon). Finish is lightly sweet with touch of coconut.
Best what I can say about it is, that it is an average rum.