Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10 (352 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
35
107
124
63
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


352 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 407 ratings

Ot amazing and doesn't blow you away. Decent rum but not amazing

C7bd44ddc1cdb86c0f52746fd50a35d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 8 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

I used to sell this a while back in an old bar i worked in and remember trying it around the time i was really falling in love with rum (Dont get me wrong ive always loved rum, but theres a time when your growing up and its no longer 'ooh i like rum, ill ave a rum n coke' and it becomes 'seriously i friggin LOVE rum let me see your selection, line up those 6 i need to try them all!!') as i was saying, it was a small place and this was probably the best rum in there! Opens with almost a fruit brulee integrating the caramel, citrus, light spice and dried fruits but lasts on the palate leaving you with a creamy, chocolatety sweetness that goes on so long and so smooth. We like!

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a great rum. I love Diplomatico!

Not quite as sweet or smooth as the Diplomatico Exclusiva, but still great - especially for the incredibly low price of only $19.99 (Total Wines & More). Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. A fantastic rum which deserves a great score.

Fc0feb1a9301c96b069671247e34a454.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

From Venezuela, this very value price rum demonstrates some very sweet notes on nose. You can smell some fruitiness, vanilla, toffee and again sugar cane sweet such as honey.

On the glass you can see a mahogany colour, kinda density and decent legs. The taste is kinda smooth, delicious and sweet of course.

Such as the Diplomatico Reserva exclusiva, but with less woody.

B2c6a8a92f3f1571bf0ae2a761fb4b3f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

This rum taste like rum which I really like. Some rum taste more like the bourbon barrels they age them in. I like the smooth rum flavour with an edgy finish.

8f3ae57c15f1b36b3d6120d286373728.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

There's some sweetness there, but it's topped with quite edgy alcoholic taste.

446d4b23a4cf7da4296ddb144029d0cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

Since Exclusiva is my favorite sipping rum, I decided to purchase its younger sibling @$25. Figuring if it's even close to the older, it's money well spent. Diplomatico did not disappoint! The nose is similar of molasses, toffee and caramel. The difference is in the palate of these two rums. This one hasn't aged as much and has a tad bit more heat / burn where as the older does not. This is easily opened up with the addition of a single cube of ice. Magically, it unfolds into a truly wonderful experience eith no burn. My bro-in law who is not a rum drinker, sat down with me over the 4th and had 3-4 fingers and a cube of ice each. He was amazed by this rum and again by the price thinking it was more than what it was. Commented he would have loved to have had a cigar to enjoy with it. We drank better than 3/4's of the bottle. This is a great gateway rum to quality sippers!

B8c2f6fc073cf0c6f54fa95434846d75.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Rault from France with 6 ratings

Trouvé à un très bon prix (26,90€), l'entrée de gamme dans la famille Diplomatico est bon!
Assurément moins agréable que son grand frère, il saura ravir la plupart d'entre nous!
À boire seul ou en cocktail...

E4c0d9c525577df13fd85bf92f2ce742.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by CharlyG from Luxembourg with 9 ratings

Definitely worse than the Reserva Exclusiva.. boring and flat taste.. not worth the price, even though it is not an expensive bottle

22bdcbc8af23ccd2b91ceb1a57f9eeb5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 81 ratings

...this was a gift to me long time ago.
I was not to excited about, probadly due to the fact my heart belonged to the A.H. Riise run in my shelf...

All I really remember was the very alcoholic taste to it...

D41cbdee48eb0bb20dd9e80666d63d04.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Nice, smooth rum with a sweet vanilla taste. Still prefer the reserva exclusiva.