Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10
361 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
9
35
112
126
63
12

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

361 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Fredrick from Sweden with 10 ratings

Tasted this at a friends house party. I had it a couple of times before but for me right now it carries a lill bit to much alcohol punch. The this might fulfill its purpose some times. But not right now. Need to look into Diplomatico´s finner releases.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

basic to chill with a bunch of dudes

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

El ron Diplomatico Reserva extra anejo has a great nose with a strong flavor of vanila and a discrete note of coconut.
The nose is really good however the taste is totally different: On the palate, this rum is very dry, slightly astringent and definitely too young. I found it very tannic with notes of spices, predominantly pepper.
In conclusion, this rum is rather a disappointment for me, and the note I've granted it (6) is the worst I've provided to a Very Old rum. Even if the difference is just of 1 point, I find this rum far behind the rums I've noted with a 7, such as the Angostura 1919 or the Plantation rum Barbados 2000.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

This rum make's my favorite rum sazerac so good!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very Nice smooth rum

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bonetto from France with 24 ratings

Very good with passion icecream... Name is "trou créole". It's good rum but for cocktails, not alone...

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Pour une dégustation, il n'est clairement pas au niveau ! Néanmoins, pour des cocktails, il est une excellente base.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 67 ratings

A sweet and light venezuelian rum is this diplomatico, but I personnaly prefer it's old sister, the Reserva Exclusiva. But it's still easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 193 ratings

It's a very good sip, but I had the Exclusiva first and it just can't compare to its big brother.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

So, Andy has finally converted me to Rum &, having tried several apparently good rums over the course of the evening, this was far & away my favorite. I can't claim to be an expert but this had a wonderfully smooth & spicy flavour with a hint of vanilla. I think it was the spiciness that I really enjoyed. It may be sacrilege but adding just one small ice cube opens it up beautifully.
Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

I suspect doctoring in this rum, not nauseatingly sweet like Fortuna 8 yr but still too much for my taste. Pleasant but not complex sipper, almost a dessert rum. For about the same price El Dorado 12 yr is much better.

Edit - well I found figures on added sugar in rum, and surprisingly enough there was a relatively small amount of added sugar in this one - 7 g/ltr, a fraction of the amount added to the worst offenders - one of which is the Reserva Exclusiva, with 41 g/ltr.(!!!) I have never tried the exclusiva, because I had heard it is such a sweet bomb, and now I doubt I ever will.