Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10(358 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
35
112
124
63
12

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

358 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

This is a great rum. I love Diplomatico!

Not quite as sweet or smooth as the Diplomatico Exclusiva, but still great - especially for the incredibly low price of only $19.99 (Total Wines & More). Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. A fantastic rum which deserves a great score.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very Nice smooth rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Bonetto from France with 24 ratings

Very good with passion icecream... Name is "trou créole". It's good rum but for cocktails, not alone...

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Pour une dégustation, il n'est clairement pas au niveau ! Néanmoins, pour des cocktails, il est une excellente base.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

A sweet and light venezuelian rum is this diplomatico, but I personnaly prefer it's old sister, the Reserva Exclusiva. But it's still easy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

It's a very good sip, but I had the Exclusiva first and it just can't compare to its big brother.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

So, Andy has finally converted me to Rum &, having tried several apparently good rums over the course of the evening, this was far & away my favorite. I can't claim to be an expert but this had a wonderfully smooth & spicy flavour with a hint of vanilla. I think it was the spiciness that I really enjoyed. It may be sacrilege but adding just one small ice cube opens it up beautifully.
Cheers!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

I suspect doctoring in this rum, not nauseatingly sweet like Fortuna 8 yr but still too much for my taste. Pleasant but not complex sipper, almost a dessert rum. For about the same price El Dorado 12 yr is much better.

Edit - well I found figures on added sugar in rum, and surprisingly enough there was a relatively small amount of added sugar in this one - 7 g/ltr, a fraction of the amount added to the worst offenders - one of which is the Reserva Exclusiva, with 41 g/ltr.(!!!) I have never tried the exclusiva, because I had heard it is such a sweet bomb, and now I doubt I ever will.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Michael from United States with 18 ratings

If you're buying sips at a bar (say, Smuggler's Cove in San Francisco) get a shot of this and a shot of the upgraded green bottle. You'll see in about 1millisecond why a bottle purchase should be focused on the Reserva Exclusiva. Out of your budget range? Try El Dorado 8 or 12 instead. No, I wouldn't pour a glass of this down the toilet, but if I were on a budget, which I usually am, I'd spend my money more wisely with the better product or another line altogether.