Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10(358 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
35
112
124
63
12

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

358 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

This is a great rum. I love Diplomatico!

Not quite as sweet or smooth as the Diplomatico Exclusiva, but still great - especially for the incredibly low price of only $19.99 (Total Wines & More). Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. A fantastic rum which deserves a great score.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

This good rum can be drunk on the rocks, however quite a bit of alcohol taste. I love this with cola and a lot of ice! Can be mixed with a stronger concentration of rum and still be very drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Reserva is a good quality rum with lot's of flavor for a reasonably priced rum. This is a lighter rum that works well as a sipper. I keep this one on my back bar for a less filling after dinner sipper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

It is worth to pay extra for 12-years Reserva Exclusiva

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

A nice light and airy rum. Not bitter or sharp. There's nothing in it that really stand out for me other than a lingering something that I can't quite hit on. I had this rum with a cheese fondue and it paired quite nicely.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Thegouj from France with 10 ratings

Un bon rapport qualité/prix qui permet de se faire la main dans le "monde" du rhum vieux sans se ruiner. Une excellente base pour les cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

A light smell of vanilla with some caramel. In the mouth a short vanilla taste wit longuer caramel finish but this rum is very dry, slightly astringent and definitely too young (thanks to RhumsTeq for the terms).
It's an interresting rum for starting tasting "aged" rum but not exceptional.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

J'ai testé via un tasteme ce diplomatico reserva, ayant connu auparavant le reserva exlusiva, du coup celui ci étant moins sucré, il m'a moins séduit ... je le re-gouterai à l'occasion en essayant d'être plus objectif !!!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

basic to chill with a bunch of dudes

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

El ron Diplomatico Reserva extra anejo has a great nose with a strong flavor of vanila and a discrete note of coconut.
The nose is really good however the taste is totally different: On the palate, this rum is very dry, slightly astringent and definitely too young. I found it very tannic with notes of spices, predominantly pepper.
In conclusion, this rum is rather a disappointment for me, and the note I've granted it (6) is the worst I've provided to a Very Old rum. Even if the difference is just of 1 point, I find this rum far behind the rums I've noted with a 7, such as the Angostura 1919 or the Plantation rum Barbados 2000.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

This rum make's my favorite rum sazerac so good!