Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


353 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Not so good as Reserva Exclusiva. Little bit more spicy. Average rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Pretty nice but not as good as the Diplomatico Reserva exclusiva. Good in cuba libre.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Somewhat more boozy and brash than the mellow Exclusiva, but still worth sipping straight up or in a better cocktail. Not top shelf, but a definitely solid back-up.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

købte denne fordi jeg er glad for reserva exclusiva. Den her er synes jeg ikke er helt så god som exclusiva

Posted about 5 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Moins sucré que le "reserva exclusiva", ce rhum est en fait assez différent.
Plutôt sec en bouche, sa palette d'arômes (vanille, fruits secs, tabac) est troublée par une note d'alcool très présente.
Pas désagréable, il n'a pas le charme de son "grand frère".

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Nothing overtly wrong with it. But to my taste, too sweet and lacking in concentration and sophistication. Not a rum I'd ever buy again. Quite well priced though and can see that it would appeal to many.

Posted over 5 years ago by Gwawr from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

A tasty sip, not as smoky as its bigger brother but still a mighty fine one.

Posted over 5 years ago by Samuel from United States with 3 ratings

I like to pour this one into a glen cairn glass and let it sit for 20 minutes or so before sipping. Good flavor with depth, a little hot in the throat.

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Did you hesitate when your hand reached for the Exclusiva, thinking it outside your price point? Yeah, I did that, and ended up here. This seems like the right introductory Venezuelan rum experience. And it is distinct, given Diplomatico's unique production. An enjoyable experience neat or on the rocks, yet not quite at the high level of rums in admittedly higher price points.

Posted 15 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

The problem I had with this one is it wasn’t quite a sipper it wasn’t matured enough but at the same time it would have been a shame to mix it. Overall I would recommend it to newer rum drinkers but as you go through more rims you probably won’t have it again.

Posted 26 days ago by Guy from Canada with 5 ratings

From Venezuela, this value price rum demonstrates some very sweet notes on nose.

Posted about 1 month ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

I have mixed feelings about this one, while is not bad at all, it has a prominent alcoholic note, a lot of added sugar and it’s certainly inferior to its ‘exclusiva’ counterpart. 5,5 bottles, curious one.

Posted 2 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

Much better than the reserva. Far less sweet and more definition. Strong caramel and cane.

Posted 3 months ago by Japd65 from Puerto Rico with 3 ratings

It have good wood taste, high on sweetness. Burn a little at the end.

Posted 5 months ago by mstephens55 from United States with 14 ratings

This rum s not as good as the Reserva Exclusiva, but at 2/3rds the price, it’s great to keep around for guests who do not have the knowledge or palate to discern the difference.

Posted 5 months ago by Shotzone3 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Why do you want To drink this? Its quite good but we have “Green” diplomatico which is only few more bucks expensive. So Yes! I like this. Really great if you cant find the “Green” one

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Dulce y suave, color tueste. Notas vainilla y caramelo. Fino fino.

Posted 6 months ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Good, but it is not Reserva Exclusiva which i really like!

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

Cheap rum that works for drinks not as a sipper. Spending a little more and get the reserva exclusiva is well worth the money.

Posted 9 months ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

I’m a big fan of Diplomatico. I’ve tried and rated several offerings. One thing that is a commonality between them is the price. This is a 2-8 year aged rum that is sweetened. It is much like its older brother Reserva Exclusiva, except $10 cheaper. Very good for someone starting out in the rum world. I was surprised at how smooth and sweet it is. There is a little lingering aftertaste and it lacks a little complexity and aroma. But it’s a young rum and only cost $31! Overall I’d say it’s worth a try it will not disappoint.

Posted 9 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

De är stor skillnad mellan diplpmatico exclusivo och denna reserva.
Fördelen är att denna ofta finns på liten flaska, en av få i Sverige.
Smaken är bra lite stark och saknar avslut utan blir lite spretig och spritig.
Men ok både smak och pris och extra plus för att den finns i liten flaska.

Posted 9 months ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Not as Nice as the older Brother but allright as a sipper. Also good as a cuba libre

Posted 10 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

I tried because i didnt have any other choice. Very dry and if you have ever tried the "brother" exclusiva reserva you will be disapointed. Still is a good rum to enjoy with ice but not to be your favorite

Posted 11 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Similar to its older brother but it's topped with quite an edgy alcoholic taste. spend the extra money and get the Reserva Exclusiva

Posted 11 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This full flavor rum is perfect for an afternoon on the porch. I prefer to drink at room temperature. The aroma and color will have your family and friends wonder what delicious treat you’re drinking.