Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10 (357 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
36
111
124
63
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


357 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Diplomatico Reserva 8 40% (Venezuela)

Eye: Amber with copper tones

Nose: Opens with pronounced elements of grapefruit, old dry wood and molasses. It continues with weak honey, cotton and a hint of orange-zest, fat fish oil, and cheap praline that reminds me of light cooking chocolate. It is no immediate love, I can tell you that. It is so obviously colored, forced and juvenile. To me it smells like drink base.

Mouth: Could I be wrong? No, it even taste like drink base. It has that thin eau-de-vie taste that I dislike so much in a sipping rom. It is young and light and carries few own flavors. It is also short which is actually a forgiving feature in this case. The sweetness comes crawling after a while as do the vanilla. A weak buzz on the palate from the alcohol burn which is neither good or bad. Then a little caramel, honey and melted white sugar with faint hints of pear. That´s it folks! (30 minutes in some soot enters but it really doesn´t add anything.

Reaction: For some reason I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately, there is no hope and it can´t be compared with anything I have rated so far. It doesn´t even evolve in the glass which is a first. It actually degrades in the glass which is a trademark of any bad product. As sipping rum it has to be the worst yet but that does not mean it isn´t great in a drink. I know nothing about that as I don´t usually enjoy rom based drinks.

69p

Price: 335 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 51 ratings

Nice, smooth rum with a sweet vanilla taste. Still prefer the reserva exclusiva.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

From the affordable Dipllomatico rum offer, the best price/value choice is for sure the "green bottle" Reserva Exclusiva. This Reserva rum is missing the smoothness, the aroma richness and the nice feeling of the Exlusiva rum... it is simply too harsh for my apetite.

On the other hand compared to other younger/cheaper rums (5/8 years old) it may be a good choice. But in that case I would suggest something like Plantation Barbados...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 62 ratings

Tasted the diplomatico Reserva and his big brother Reserva Exlusiva side to side. Surprisingly different. While good and worth it, the Reserva exclusiva was better, more complex, with caramel notes, while this one had more "alcohol" notes and a relatively strong cigar notes.

Ai goûté le diplomatico Reserva et son grand frère Reserva Exlusiva côte à côte. Étonnamment différents. Bien que bon et en vaut la peine, le Reserva Exclusiva était mieux, plus complexe et plus rond, avec des notes de caramel, alors que celui-ci la sensation d'alcool et d'assez fortes notes de "cigare" étaient plus présente, avec une texture plus mince. Reste que ce rhum demeure très agréable et seul, sera très plaisant !

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

Did not know what to expect, just saw it in the store and bought it, but it is really nice. Makes me want to buyt the more expensive brother, i read it is even better, and as this one is allready great quality, i can only imagine...

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by radu steolea from Romania with 4 ratings

un excelent mix cu arome de vanilie si caramel, cu usoara tenta de migdale.... superb

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I really liked the flavours of this rum, not quite as good as the reserva exclusiva but still warm flavoured, went down a treat with Coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

9 for the price, can't get something that smooth for that cheap, awesome rum, good son to the exclusiva

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bradley Stapleton from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

While a little harsh, this is standout for it's multiple amazing flavors that shift gear with just the first sip!
Get's better as you have more also. Excited to try the Exclusiva

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alo from Estonia with 13 ratings

Good drinkable rum, but nothing special as i remember.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

Not as good as the Exclusiva, it's still a very decent taste. Here also the hints of caramel and vanilla are a fine get together. Where the Exclusiva is smooth, this one has some sharp edges. This bottle was a nice tasting, but I'd still spend a bit more to get the Exclusiva.