Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10 (357 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
36
111
124
63
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


357 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Diplomatico Reserva 8 40% (Venezuela)

Eye: Amber with copper tones

Nose: Opens with pronounced elements of grapefruit, old dry wood and molasses. It continues with weak honey, cotton and a hint of orange-zest, fat fish oil, and cheap praline that reminds me of light cooking chocolate. It is no immediate love, I can tell you that. It is so obviously colored, forced and juvenile. To me it smells like drink base.

Mouth: Could I be wrong? No, it even taste like drink base. It has that thin eau-de-vie taste that I dislike so much in a sipping rom. It is young and light and carries few own flavors. It is also short which is actually a forgiving feature in this case. The sweetness comes crawling after a while as do the vanilla. A weak buzz on the palate from the alcohol burn which is neither good or bad. Then a little caramel, honey and melted white sugar with faint hints of pear. That´s it folks! (30 minutes in some soot enters but it really doesn´t add anything.

Reaction: For some reason I had high hopes for this one. Unfortunately, there is no hope and it can´t be compared with anything I have rated so far. It doesn´t even evolve in the glass which is a first. It actually degrades in the glass which is a trademark of any bad product. As sipping rum it has to be the worst yet but that does not mean it isn´t great in a drink. I know nothing about that as I don´t usually enjoy rom based drinks.

69p

Price: 335 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Moyen pour un amateur, facile à boire et à partager.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I"ve previously gone through a couple of the DRE bottles and like it, but sometimes it's almost too sweet so I would drink it on the rocks to cure that issue. With that in mind, and also a great price point, I decided to try out some of this for a change. Upon opening the bottle there is that beautiful familiar Diplomatico scent of vanilla,banana,toffee but in a slightly milder manner. Pretty much just what you would expect and the taste also reflects that. In the mouth it's much less syrupy/viscous, less pronounced and less sweet than the DRE while still having the same flavors. I honestly think that if I added a spoonful of sugar to this it would be exactly the DRE. Of course there is more heat to it (sugars always smooth out a rum) but it's not deadly alcohol tasting and is still sippable IMO. Overall I recommend this to those who like the smell of DRE but think it tastes too sweet, and to those who want those Diplomatico flavors in a mixed drink such as a Dark and Stormy but don't want to use the DRE as a mixer. Solid stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jack Farrell from United States with 10 ratings

I'm still fairly early on in my rum journey but this is the best I've had so far. If you don't think this excellent rum than I want to know what you're drinking. Certainly the best at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael King from Czech Republic with 50 ratings

Muj výběr na cesty. Skvěle skladná láhev, ikdyž na někoho příliš sladký.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by robo from Slovakia with 11 ratings

strasne som tam citil nieco umele asi to prehnali s dofarbovanim a dochucovanim . ked uz tak radsej mantuano

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Ο φτωχός συγγενής του Reserva Exclusiva ....... Δε νομίζω ότι πρέπει να γίνει σύγκριση ... είναι άδικο και άσκοπο !! Η σχετικά καλή τιμή αποτελεί ίσως και τον μοναδικό λόγο ύπαρξης αυτής της φιάλης .... Σε αυτά τα χρήματα όμως, έχεις αρκετές καλλίτερες ετικέτες ....... Παρόλα αυτά (για να μην το αδικήσουμε) πίνεται ευχάριστα και αποτελεί μία safe - απλά καλή - επιλογή !!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alex Birch from United States with 12 ratings

Loads of sweetness, but just the right amount. Caramel, vanilla, but hints of oak. The molasses for this rum is aged perfectly with the right amount of kick. With a smoky taste and oak bite, you'll definitely want to enjoy this rum more than once in a night. Highly recommend this bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 64 ratings

Meget sød. Meget lidt alkohol smag. Jeg synes dettte er en likør.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I am trying this neat now but I will try it next time with a little water or ice to see how it changes.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

But nothing special to tell about. Rather buy Diplomatico RE.