Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva rum

Diplomatico Reserva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva rum is distilled from molasses using both copper pot and column stills. The rum is then aged in small oak casks for between 2 and 8 years before blending and bottling.

the Diplomatico distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains in Venezuela. The area has a rich rum history dating to 1896,

6.6/10 (353 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
35
108
124
63
11

Rate Diplomatico Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


353 Diplomatico Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by robo from Slovakia with 11 ratings

strasne som tam citil nieco umele asi to prehnali s dofarbovanim a dochucovanim . ked uz tak radsej mantuano

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 18 ratings

This is a nice rum, not too many flavour overtones that can take over the rum. I always keep this as a staple on the shelf and for the price well worth it.

The bottle is also a conversation piece on the shelf with the other rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by mcnamard from United States with 15 ratings

Lots of fruity smells and lots of flavors, but the alcohol stands out. Better as a nice mixer, but you'd opt for something cheaper if that's what you want.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Tout d'abord, il est très différent du grand classique de la marque. Plus sec, moins sucré, on retrouve tout de même la douceur du caramel. Il est globalement équilibré et, pour le prix, ne manque pas trop de caractère.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 41 ratings

Gave this one a shot, new offering at the store, rated 92 so what the heck. Fairly dark color and would have expected a little more smooth as a result, but it had a slight initial bite. Reasonably smooth after, and a nice finish. Stays in your mouth a while. Overall a good sipper but not the best

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Lee from Netherlands with 5 ratings

It is not bad rum but you taste less than exclusive. The most important tastes are missing in this rum. But it is okay to drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ondřej Výška from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Příjemně sladký, krásná barva. Můj favorit. Topka.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Moyen pour un amateur, facile à boire et à partager.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I"ve previously gone through a couple of the DRE bottles and like it, but sometimes it's almost too sweet so I would drink it on the rocks to cure that issue. With that in mind, and also a great price point, I decided to try out some of this for a change. Upon opening the bottle there is that beautiful familiar Diplomatico scent of vanilla,banana,toffee but in a slightly milder manner. Pretty much just what you would expect and the taste also reflects that. In the mouth it's much less syrupy/viscous, less pronounced and less sweet than the DRE while still having the same flavors. I honestly think that if I added a spoonful of sugar to this it would be exactly the DRE. Of course there is more heat to it (sugars always smooth out a rum) but it's not deadly alcohol tasting and is still sippable IMO. Overall I recommend this to those who like the smell of DRE but think it tastes too sweet, and to those who want those Diplomatico flavors in a mixed drink such as a Dark and Stormy but don't want to use the DRE as a mixer. Solid stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jack Farrell from United States with 10 ratings

I'm still fairly early on in my rum journey but this is the best I've had so far. If you don't think this excellent rum than I want to know what you're drinking. Certainly the best at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael King from Czech Republic with 50 ratings

Muj výběr na cesty. Skvěle skladná láhev, ikdyž na někoho příliš sladký.