Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.0/10 (2110 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
23
49
97
312
763
685
159

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2110 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

This is the first darker sweet style rum I've ever tried and it got me into sipping and learning about all types of rum. It has thicker texture in the mouth than other rums I've tried and it's almost syrupy (there's a lot of sugar in it). The combination of alcohol,sugar, and strong vanilla is almost medicinal smelling and was a bit wierd for me when going through my first bottle. In the beginning I had a love/hate relationship w this rum and couldn't decide if I liked it. After recently trying several others rums and developing new tastes, I now have a second bottle. I've learned that I do like this rum neat but I like it even more on the rocks. It's so sweet that I prefer to open it up w ice to thin it out. When compared to Ron Zacapa 23 Solera they both have a base "rum raisiny" flavor but the DRE has a bit more burn and a lot more flavor of sweet vanilla and baking spices on top. You actually feel spice on your tongue with Diplomatico but with Zacapa you just get the dried fruit flavor with not too much more on the finish. Interesting and fun rum to own, fantastic bottle presentation.
Update: This should be referred to as a rum-liquor because it's so obviously sweetened and it's texture resembles drinks like Amaretto or Frangelico. With that said, you don't have to call this stuff rum but it's an amazing beverage in its own right with a unique combination of flavors. Most noticably in my latest tasting was a sweet and subtle black-liquoric alongside the trademark bold vanilla. The liquoric was likely responsible for my previous reporting of a medicinal smell to the drink and now that I've identified the flavor it's quite good. This was my first time having it from a Glencairn glass. The sugar seems to possibly be disguising a rum that may not be as aged as we think...how much of a role does the actual spirit play in the delicious taste vs the taste provided from added sugar? I will add that this was even better with a dash of angostura bitters, after adding it I could taste more wood and familiar flavors to Santa Theresa 1796 because the vanilla had been muted down. Intrigued. 7 bc it's just such a different animal than most rums

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

The Diplomatico was my first Rum many years ago ,and i love him until today.

Nose: sweet , caramel,vanilla smoke,fruit,nutty
Tase: sweet,caramel ,vanilly, fruity,nutty,smoke,oak

the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva before 2012 was a little bit better .

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

So far, this is my absolute favorite rum. You don't need ice to mellow it out, it has almost no burn, but still full of flavor. I wouldn't dare put this in a cocktail or with coke, it would be a disgrace to do that. It is extremely smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

I've tried hundreds of rums, and have I've 75 different types in my cellar at home. I have 4 cases of this. It's that fantastic. Rich and creamy, heavy caramel and toffee, without being overwhelmed with hard oak. This is the epitome of rum, the gold standard by which all others are judged. Superb!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Diplomatico RE was my first sipping rum. Couldn't have chosen a better one to start with. Being new to the rum review game, I won't try to use fancy lingo like flavor notes, legs or complexity. I will just say that it smells and tastes like sweet deliciousness with a subtle burn. Drinking it neat is the way to go. Ice and water takes away from that creamy goodness and mixing hides that great flavor. I have graduated to less sweet rums but this will always stay in heavy rotation at my house. At around $35 USD (01/2016), this is a must have.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by James Dylan from United States with 8 ratings

Wow, this is like sweet, rum-flavored pancake syrup. Based on the reviews here, I went out and bought a bottle ($40), and was hoping to discover a new favorite sipping rum. It never happened. From the first sip, I was like.."huh?" My background is, I have dietary restrictions and don't drink soda or eat a lot of candy (sugar) or sugary drinks or food, even. So maybe my tolerance for sugar is low, who knows. But this stuff is cloyingly sweet, the aftertaste is similar to that of having eaten hard candy. You can taste this sickly sweet residue in your mouth for long afterwards. Don't get me wrong, it's not "bad" rum, it's sweet and slightly pleasant, but for a rum purist, it's horrible. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this bottle of rum-flavored syrup. It also has a strong scent of vanilla, no doubt added. Like I said, it's not rum, it's a liqueur. It has a nice burn down the throat, but the sticky sweetness is horrible for me, and it makes me want to brush my teeth. Sorry guys, I'm voting against the grain on this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

As tasty as this is, rating is down as it's not a rum - it's a liqueur:

Nose: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch (you get the idea). Vanilla and dark fruits, maybe some orange skin. Tiny prickle of spice from the oak. The combination is not complex but it is certainly very hedonistic.

Palate: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch. Vanilla and dark fruits......oh wait. Nose, taste and repeat. Very viscous and mouth-coating, actually quite cloying. Yep, it's a liqueur. Delicious though.

Finish: Actually surprisingly long, didn't expect that. Lashings of vanilla and a bit of oaky bitterness but I get the impression that the finish is just there because my mouth is still coated with the sticky rum and I'm still getting "palate" and not an actual "finish".

More here:

https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Diplomatic RE is an excellent sipping rum. Sweet enough but not quite as much as Zaya . Buttery caramel flavor with the smoky burnt oak misting through. I can sip a good glass of rum for two hours. Add a twist of lime and try that with this rum. Let me know if after about 30 to 45 minutes you , you don't find the nose has evolved to a different rum. All in a good way. If it were not more expensive than Zaya, it would also be a 10 but I have to say 9.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva comes in a nice bottle and the rum is delivered in a nice tube (as in the picture).
The smell is very sweet with lots of caramel, cacao and vanilla.
In mouth this rum is very velvety with a small hint of spice at the end. The taste is full of vanilla, cacao and orange.
The finish is long, mild and sweet with a little bit of spice.
A sipper that also goes well as a blender. This one should be in every collection :)

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by redwdz from United States with 1 rating

A luxurious adventure of rich evolving tastes: molasses, chocolate, toffee, vanilla, orange, at a very reasonable price. Quite smooth and easy on the palate. I surprise devotees of high end bourbon and scotch with this sipping rum. Mmmm...

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This rum was unbelievably great for sipping. I was fearful that it would be a bit too sweet after reading a few reviews and giving it a smell, but it ended up being extremely well balanced and smooth all the way through. There are rich sweet caramel/molasses aromas followed quickly by oak and smoky notes. The taste is very similar to the smell with sweet caramel at first, hints of vanilla, and then small oak notes. It is very smooth all the way through with no harshness whatsoever. This is like a desert, but not too sweet. One of my new absolute favorites.