Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1980 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Fred from Canada with 11 ratings

Very nice avec, but I wouldn't place it near the top choices. It's fairly sweet and rich in both nose and palate. Vanilla tones, fuits, bitter orange and all around a classic rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

The Diplomatico was my first Rum many years ago ,and i love him until today.

Nose: sweet , caramel,vanilla smoke,fruit,nutty
Tase: sweet,caramel ,vanilly, fruity,nutty,smoke,oak

the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva before 2012 was a little bit better .

Posted almost 7 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

So far, this is my absolute favorite rum. You don't need ice to mellow it out, it has almost no burn, but still full of flavor. I wouldn't dare put this in a cocktail or with coke, it would be a disgrace to do that. It is extremely smooth.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

I've tried hundreds of rums, and have I've 75 different types in my cellar at home. I have 4 cases of this. It's that fantastic. Rich and creamy, heavy caramel and toffee, without being overwhelmed with hard oak. This is the epitome of rum, the gold standard by which all others are judged. Superb!

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Diplomatico RE was my first sipping rum. Couldn't have chosen a better one to start with. Being new to the rum review game, I won't try to use fancy lingo like flavor notes, legs or complexity. I will just say that it smells and tastes like sweet deliciousness with a subtle burn. Drinking it neat is the way to go. Ice and water takes away from that creamy goodness and mixing hides that great flavor. I have graduated to less sweet rums but this will always stay in heavy rotation at my house. At around $35 USD (01/2016), this is a must have.

Posted over 3 years ago by James Dylan from United States with 8 ratings

Wow, this is like sweet, rum-flavored pancake syrup. Based on the reviews here, I went out and bought a bottle ($40), and was hoping to discover a new favorite sipping rum. It never happened. From the first sip, I was like.."huh?" My background is, I have dietary restrictions and don't drink soda or eat a lot of candy (sugar) or sugary drinks or food, even. So maybe my tolerance for sugar is low, who knows. But this stuff is cloyingly sweet, the aftertaste is similar to that of having eaten hard candy. You can taste this sickly sweet residue in your mouth for long afterwards. Don't get me wrong, it's not "bad" rum, it's sweet and slightly pleasant, but for a rum purist, it's horrible. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this bottle of rum-flavored syrup. It also has a strong scent of vanilla, no doubt added. Like I said, it's not rum, it's a liqueur. It has a nice burn down the throat, but the sticky sweetness is horrible for me, and it makes me want to brush my teeth. Sorry guys, I'm voting against the grain on this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rumtastic from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

As tasty as this is, rating is down as it's not a rum - it's a liqueur:

Nose: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch (you get the idea). Vanilla and dark fruits, maybe some orange skin. Tiny prickle of spice from the oak. The combination is not complex but it is certainly very hedonistic.

Palate: Big caramel, toffee, butterscotch. Vanilla and dark fruits......oh wait. Nose, taste and repeat. Very viscous and mouth-coating, actually quite cloying. Yep, it's a liqueur. Delicious though.

Finish: Actually surprisingly long, didn't expect that. Lashings of vanilla and a bit of oaky bitterness but I get the impression that the finish is just there because my mouth is still coated with the sticky rum and I'm still getting "palate" and not an actual "finish".

More here:

https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

Posted about 6 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Diplomatic RE is an excellent sipping rum. Sweet enough but not quite as much as Zaya . Buttery caramel flavor with the smoky burnt oak misting through. I can sip a good glass of rum for two hours. Add a twist of lime and try that with this rum. Let me know if after about 30 to 45 minutes you , you don't find the nose has evolved to a different rum. All in a good way. If it were not more expensive than Zaya, it would also be a 10 but I have to say 9.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Diplomático Reserva Exclusiva comes in a nice bottle and the rum is delivered in a nice tube (as in the picture).
The smell is very sweet with lots of caramel, cacao and vanilla.
In mouth this rum is very velvety with a small hint of spice at the end. The taste is full of vanilla, cacao and orange.
The finish is long, mild and sweet with a little bit of spice.
A sipper that also goes well as a blender. This one should be in every collection :)

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This rum was unbelievably great for sipping. I was fearful that it would be a bit too sweet after reading a few reviews and giving it a smell, but it ended up being extremely well balanced and smooth all the way through. There are rich sweet caramel/molasses aromas followed quickly by oak and smoky notes. The taste is very similar to the smell with sweet caramel at first, hints of vanilla, and then small oak notes. It is very smooth all the way through with no harshness whatsoever. This is like a desert, but not too sweet. One of my new absolute favorites.

Posted almost 7 years ago by redwdz from United States with 1 rating

A luxurious adventure of rich evolving tastes: molasses, chocolate, toffee, vanilla, orange, at a very reasonable price. Quite smooth and easy on the palate. I surprise devotees of high end bourbon and scotch with this sipping rum. Mmmm...

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

I'll give a mention to this fellow that nailed the rum review:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

It's just too sweet for me. Rums by their nature will tend to have a sweeter note, but this is playing to a crowd that wants liquid candy in their mouth.

I'm currently experimenting with drier and spicier rums to mix it with in order to try and bring some semblance of balance.

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

For people who like sweet rums, this one should be a winner! The Diplomatico Réserva Exclusiva is a very sweet aged rum from Venezuela, which brings out his fruit and spiced notes without being strong at all in the throat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I like rum, and I like it straight. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva has that wonderful taste a sipping rum should have. It's smooth, tasty and has a nice little bite in exactly the right proportions. Without any overpowering flavors like so many other high end rums. Bottom line, it's absolutely wonderful. I've never found anything better, regardless of price.

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Excellent rum in a lot of ways with a deep toffee aroma. A very sweet and round caramel palate, with a hint of vanilla. Enjoyable as a dessert after dinner. In the long run I find it way to sweet for a regular sipping though.

Posted over 6 years ago by Rumm from United States with 4 ratings

I love the long thin slow legs that appear above the golden brown swirl in the glass. As I bring the glass to my nose there is the reward of soft vanilla and a tinge of cocoa and molasses to tempt my taste buds. I find the sweetness a delightful accompaniment to the report of spices from my olfactory senses. The burn is gentle as the golden brown goodness rolls around the sides of my tongue and down the throat. A delightful sipping experience.

Posted about 6 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

So it was (one of) the fist of my aged rums, and it's why I love them that much.
As I don't taste it from long time I'm normally objective on this ratting (and I'm more interested on some Bourbon now ;p ).
A nice smell of mixed vanillia and caramel and a bit spicy, who remember me the Rooibos (false tea). On the mouth the same flavor is present but more stonguer, giving a round and sweat rum, with a bit of astringent and a long sweet caramel/vanillia finish.

Realy a nice and good rum for everyone. A great first choice for start aged rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by VyperGrrl from United States with 1 rating

A lot of people will complain about the sweetness of this rum, or say it's not a "good rum" because it was sweetened after distilling. I'm not one of those people. I don't think that pouring a snifter of spirits should represent an endurance event. I want to enjoy it - and I definitely enjoyed this one. On the nose, I got butter, brown sugar and a hint of pinapple. I tasted caramel, vanilla, walnut and nutmeg with a hint of orange. Very little astringent burn on the tongue, and warm going down. A very nice rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

My first foray into more premium rums and I was blown away. Beautifully sweet but not overpowering, smooth and perfect for sipping.

On a recent holiday to Keffalonia I spied a bottle behind the bar and asked for a glass (a Greek single is like a UK triple 👌) the owner was stunned I knew it and went on to tell me all the awards it's won and that UK guests don't know what it is... I drank the whole bottle that week and started the next one reminding me how easy it is to drink. What's more, at the price point it is exceptional value and easily matches or outstrips more expensive rums I've had.

Posted over 3 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 8 ratings

I purchased this based on many reviews I had read online a few years ago. Boy it did NOT disappoint! In fact, at the time, it was the smoothest, tastiest rum I had ever had! Beautiful bottle that is frosted green with what appears to be a currency for the label. It looks great sitting on my or any bar. The nose is pleasant with vanilla and honey. The color in the glass is a fantastic rich cognac color. In the mouth, mild spiciness, wood, nuts and vanilla. Clean finish. Definitely a sipping rum and should be in your stash without question.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 1,900 aged dark rums enjoyed and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva is still on my Top 15 list after 15 years. It is sublime, very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of flavors plus it is the best price-quality ratio of any rums, period. If you haven't tried yet Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 13
20/100 Palate test 19
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 94

Posted about 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Very nice avec, but I wouldn't place it near the top choices. It's fairly sweet and rich in both nose and palate. Vanilla tones, fuits, bitter orange and all around a classic rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

It was hard to believe that a rum was so cheap for some to be one of the ten best rum in the world. The perfect demonstration that the price is not synonymous with perfection. It is perfectly balanced rum and butterscotch flavor ( sweet as candy) is pleasant . It will be perfect with dessert (crème brûlée...)

Posted over 4 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Is good but is far too simple...
Just some fruits, some little spice, too sweet (probably a lot of added sugar).
It's made to please everyone's taste...
Don't chose it if you want to find a true rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum blew me away! I can't believe it's only $34.99 (K&L Wines 2015). Toffee, cacao, vanilla, gingerbread, oak, molasses, wow! Smooth as silk too; don't even bother mixing it. A bit creamier than most rums. I prefer this over many others that cost far more.