Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.0/10 (2164 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
12
22
47
102
327
776
700
165

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2164 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Redjet from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I have to say I find some of the negative comments about this little beauty a bit uncalled for. I also have to say I am no expert in Rhum but whilst people get carried away with the aficionado talk about it not being a Rhum because its too sweet, this may, in fact, be a shortcoming in their knowledge. I'm not going to go into a chemistry lesson about sugars but in summary, this sugary taste can also be achieved in the process without adding sugar to sweeten it and can be in fact a byproduct of the process and may be intentional for the reasons mentioned in the negative comments, however, it does not necessarily make it a liqueur. I and many others like this Rhum and that is what matters. It's a bit like people who say it's an awful wine because the experts say it is, when in fact it could be very nice. I think maybe the wording should actually read something like "it's a little/too sweet for my palette" not condemn it to not being a Rhum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael David from United States with 10 ratings

Mediocre, fair, etc.. I will say that it had an unexpected, strange agave/tequilla note...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by darkmanso from France with 27 ratings

Bon rhum qui est agréable mais généralement trop cher.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Supakobi from Switzerland with 1 rating

Geschmacklich ganz nett und gefällig. Ein hervorragender Einsteigerrum; auch ich habe mit diesem hier meine liebe zum Rum entdeckt.
Für meinen (aktuellen) Geschmack viel zu stark gesüsst und gefärbt.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Matthewj1 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

The best way I’ve found to enjoy diplomatico is with orange zest and a few ice cubes. Also very good with cola like most rums

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by plukybrewster from Australia with 13 ratings

This is a nice rum but sooo pricey in BC, and to me just not worth the price tag.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kaleva from Finland with 3 ratings

Interesting rum with beautiful and quite complex nose but very sweet (I would say too sweet) palate. Good sipping rum but only for those who can stand excess sweetness. Reasonably priced and widely available.

Tasting notes:

Nose: Sweet, dark dried fruits (prunes, figs, bananas), spices (cinnamon, cloves), tropical fruits, cherries, fruit caramel, orange peel, sandalwood and new leather on the background

Palate: Very sweet, cherries, oranges, “winter” spices, toffee and honey notes, some liquorice and oak come later

Finish: Medium-long, sweet, dry, oaky with cherry jam and latte aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jfroggatt from Canada with 2 ratings

Best rum to enjoy neat. Sweet and no burn. Also not crazy expensive.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Toto je naozaj klasika medzi rumami. Pre niekoho sa moze zdat viac sladky.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Výborné pitie, sladší. Pri priamom porovnaní so Zacapa, hladší, sladší, menej korenistejší. Na druhý deň po Zacape pohárik voňal, po Diplomaticu nie.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jcapable from United States with 7 ratings

Not only is the bottle awesome, the rum hit all the sweet spots of delicious