Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.1/10 (2028 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
21
44
94
302
726
664
155

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2028 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I walked past this bottle a sum total of 400 times and never pulled the trigger on it because something always seemed like a better buy for it's price. I finally bought this guy and gave it nothing but high praise before having it. Now my thing is I quite enjoyed the younger brother of the Diplomatico's was it outstanding? No but it was a a very nice not just for the price but in general. So I finally decided to buy this ugly bastard of a bottle and give it a try. First pop of the top it has that same spice fragrance that Bumbu and Kilo Kai have in it. Which made me excited because for reasons unknown that certain spice is quite good at making a well composed blend, i.e. removing the alcohol burn and making it one complete taste. Pouring it in the glass you get an overburden of alcohol smell and oak. Which is fine by me. However 1 quick swig of this and even letting it breath you get a large bit of burn. It's a very dry burn too, the worst kind. Now I mean you get the oak aged taste with a very very minor hint of that secret spice however the harshness over powers the flavors. After incinerating my tongue with repetitive intake of said liquid in an idea that the harshness would stop eventually (sometimes the first sip of any rum can be harsh) to no success. Ultimately I have found that the anejo is a much better rum in both cost and taste and I will continue to buy that bottle it need be rather than this. Mixed down it's actually a very nice drink with some strong oak and alcohol flavor however when I am paying $40+ for a bottle I don't like mixing. I want to enjoy it for all it's worth rather than polluting with diet coke. Save this one for the shelves and go for the Anejo.
*PS the secret spice is banana

Ebc8a98110a85a80e7bd31ef0aa5d056.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

This rum is really smooth and has a wonderful taste. It will leave you very satisfied and with the desire to drink another one!

2838e1e240f0f96271d16daeebea1dcc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Austria with 3 ratings

Für mich gehört der Diplomatico mehr zum Likör als zum Rum

83a9fcc58851cb221a77073a2d03164a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Clavius from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Můj nejoblíbenější rum. Jemný, ideálně sladký, vyvážený zážitek. Kdo chce ochutnat rum, měl by začít tímto.

D2e2cda246db0f0c222c194351bc47b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Si por primera vez tomas ron y pruebas este Diplomático, te vuelves fanático del ron. No se siente ni huele el alcohol, mucha vainilla y chocolate. Tal vez una dulzura exagerada, que para otros es muy agradable.

B835117561507e3371c9a5fc1ccdab12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by akaziggy from United States with 1 rating

My favorite watering hole has 74 bottles of rum on the shelves. It took me some weeks, but I've had a snifter of every one of them (and took notes). For my money (and especially when you consider I like the sweeter stuff) this is the second finest glass of rum on the menu (only behind the El Dorado 21). That first sip hits all the right notes of vanilla, toasted caramel, and (stay with me here) a little wet leather. The second, third and fourth sips don't matter any more. Shut your eyes and think of Venezuela...

4843fef297fb44ffc1508ceb860c5b9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Prijemny rum, rum je sladky a ma stiplavy korenisty dozvuk, vonia za vanilkou a kakaom. V cene okolo 30€ primerana volba.

4e2eccefe77dcc8b4d20849a5bbc5f51.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by catalyst_245 from Australia with 6 ratings

It's nice and it's drinkable - but it has the problem all french-style rums have, it's got lots and lots of sugar. Buy a cheaper rum. add a teaspoon of sugar and you'll get this.

6498fb0df5dc58a61fd0ae2b71b751b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Matimba from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This rum by far is the best I have tried! Lovely sweet molasses and excellent aftertaste. Wonderful with no ice or with ice! Why mix!!!

8617587fda9f5cc0e0378b3eab827206.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jmarsh from Canada with 4 ratings

Very smooth over a bit of ice, excellent flavour. This is a great sipper for anyone looking for a starter bottle. Smoky dark bottle looks great on the shelf as well!

5e7e6e2badd86eaf4f913c242c5ac556.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jijanek from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Well balanced but not too superb. My favourite El Dorado is still unreached.