Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1983 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

One of my all time favourites. Perfect one a hot summer day in the Caribbean

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

Gorgeous color, but overly sweet and a little too cloying for me. Almost syrupy. Granted, I'm in more of a Straight Rye phase at the moment so that could have a lot to do with it. I may have to revise later after my palate has settled down.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

i don't wax and wane lyrical anymore in my reviews of liquids anymore as it just seems it's too personal specific....

however, i do think this rum carries with it great liquid and a good choice for both beginners and experienced rum drinkers.

may be due to their distilling methods but it has great potential in flavor profile. can't tell if the liquid will get any better with further aging but a great tasting rum.

probably great value for beginners and moderates... but for those well versed, i wouldn't say any further as they would already have passed own judgments.

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Pas trop cher pour un produit exceptionnel, a boire sans hésitation!

Posted over 4 years ago by Alexander Hæstrup from Denmark with 5 ratings

Rigtig fin rom, ikke krævende og en rigtig god begynder rom.
Det er en man altid kan falde tilbage til.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jason from United States with 5 ratings

and it lived up to the hype. good buy. I usually put a few soapstones in to lower the temp a bit, but doesn't need any ice to take the edge off.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kim Jensen from Denmark with 16 ratings

Fantastic rum. Very full and smooth. Lots of aromas.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonathan from France with 2 ratings

Good shipping rum with a great taste of caramel and vanilla. Reasonable price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 10 ratings

This bottle is the reason why I started to discovering rums. Very soft taste with many tones. Sweetness is optimal.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristoffer Pedersen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Den klarer sig rigtig godt som sipper og fungere og fint i cocktails. I forhold til prisen er det klart en af mine favoritter.

Posted over 4 years ago by ArnChowda from Canada with 12 ratings

Nice and sweet with a very appealing color. Had the el Dorado 12 year and I would prefer this any day to the el Dorado. Enjoy it both mixed with cola or straight. Won't be disappointed

Posted over 4 years ago by JOLIT from France with 11 ratings

Si le caramel et la vanille s'imposent au nez, viennent s'ajouter à la dégustation des notes fruitées, orangées, du fumé, qui tirent sur le café en terminaison. Belle entame et superbe longueur en bouche.

Posted over 4 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Schmeckt nach Süße tropen früchten, schokolade, karamell und kandierten früchten. Süß würziger geschmack nie zu stark und langanhaltend.
Einzigartigen geschmack muss man probieren.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Een overweldigend boeket aan smaken, zo smaakt deze rum. De blend is exclusief gemaakt van ‘pot still’ rums en heeft voor een periode van minimaal 12 jaar gerijpt in kleine, eikenhouten vaten. De kwaliteit van de rum is in de loop der tijd al vele malen erkend, een kleine opsomming van gewonnen prijzen;

Gold Medal: Ministry of Rum Tasting Competition, New Orleans
Gold Medal, Best in Category: International Cane Spirits Festival, Florida
Silver Medal: Monde Selection, Brussels
Silver Medal: Concours Mondiale, Brussels
Silver Medal: San Francisco World Spirits Competition
Gold Medal: The Rum Experience, London
Deze Diplomatico heeft een prachtige koperen kleur met een wat gouden gloed eromheen en is heerlijk rijk van smaak , met zalige hints van karamel, nootmuskaat en walnoot. De textuur is zijdezacht en romig die goed tot z’n recht komt wanneer het puur of ‘on the rocks’ wordt gedronken.

Geschiedenis Diplomatico
Eind de jaren 80’ was Don Juancho Nieto Melendez en zijn brandende passie voor het verkennen van de bronnen en processen zorgde eruit uiteindelijk voor zijn eigen verantwoordelijkheid voor de vele verleidelijke smaken van de traditionele dranken waaronder de rum.

Hij was vooral geïnteresseerd in ambachtelijke productiemethoden die ondanks relatief constant gehouden, waren kunnen opleveren uiteenlopende duidelijk verschillende resultaten .
Hij was gefascineerd door de subtiele complexiteit van de vele omgevingsfactoren die het rum -proces beïnvloeden , zoals het weer en de vochtigheid van de tropen. Een vakman in hart en nieren , Don Juancho was onvermoeibaar en zocht naar manieren om zijn eigen product te verfijnen door bemonstering van een uitputtende reeks van exotische likeuren en rum . In feite zijn zijn indrukwekkende verzameling drank heel beroemd geworden.
Don Juancho bestudeerde aandachtig de productie- methoden die in Jamaica , die op dat tijdstip de wereldstandaard was voor de vervaardiging en de waardering van rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Super lekkere rum heel zacht . moet je in u collectie hebben

Posted over 4 years ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

This is the first "good" rum I bought. It's very sweet, between a liqueur and a rum, but it's still very tasty, with plenty of aroma.
Cheap for such a quality rum.
It's an excellent sipper, don't mix it!

Posted over 4 years ago by Brian Brix Kristensen from Denmark with 6 ratings

elegantico, fantastico and seriously addictivico rum- I have been a diplomatico fanatico since our first date!

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Excellent, j ai toujours une bouteille a la maison. C'est mon coup de cœur. Le meilleur rapport qualité vs prix. Arome de caramel, vanille, noix. Doux et merveilleux en bouche.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stijn from Belgium with 4 ratings

Very mild and sheet button nog tot sweet. A little caramely vanilla fruit flavor.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brian Spange from Denmark with 3 ratings

Lækker rom med sød smag. Perfekt duft og sødme. Virkelig lækker.

Posted over 4 years ago by -Kars- from Italy with 9 ratings

Uno dei miei Rum più bevuti. Assoluto o nei cocktail. Sapore deciso, un po' dolce con richiami al caramello e alla vaniglia. Molto persistente il retrogusto con note affumicate. Qualità \ Prezzo imbattibile e facilmente reperibile. Per il mio palato non è un rum da 10 ma ha un' ottima versatilità. Sconsiglio abbinamento con cioccolato.

Posted over 4 years ago by Diana Roberts from Canada with 4 ratings

I had put this in my Rum tasting seminar it was in the top 3 out of eight rums. Absolutely amazed everyone.I have turned a lot of Rum & Coke drinkers into Rum drinkers with this one.I gave it an Eight of Ten because i do have my favorites, but have not tried enough rums. We are limited in Ontario with our choices.

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

En prisvärd rum.. Ja gillar den.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️..........

Posted over 4 years ago by Christophe from France with 10 ratings

I can understand why this rum is currently so succesfull... Sweet and easily drinkable neat, this rum is way too "caramel" oriented for my taste.. Halfway between rum and liqueur, it will please peolple enjoying sweet alcoholic beverages.. Women should enjoy it too.

Posted over 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Un rhum sucre,vanille.son nez vanille se confirme sur la degustation en bouche.si vous recherchez un rhum de degustation commencez par celui la.vous le comparerez aux autres.c une tres bonne base.Bien que pas donne 40 euros il est un des meilleurs rapports qualite prix parmis les meilleurs rhums aux monde d apres les recompenses obtenues.vous ne serez pas decu.note 8.1.
Toutefois l ajout de vanilline et un taux de sucre éleve le classent dans les rhums arangés et non traditionnel.dans cette gamme de prix on a du presidente marti 15 ans ou un predidente grand anejo parfois en magazin a 20 euros.