Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1984 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

One of my all time favourites. Perfect one a hot summer day in the Caribbean

Posted about 4 years ago by Tommy from Netherlands with 12 ratings

This rum is soft en gentle for you, right from the first start and stays that way till the end.
The smell is soft en sweet with all kinds of flavours opening up, preparing your mouth for whats to come. Then you take a sip of this lovely potion and you get exactly what you want after smelling it; lots of flavour in the most subtle way possible. It might even smother you with that soft and warm feeling.

Seems harmeless at first, but this baby will make you want it.

Lovely rum, excellent made stuff.

Posted about 4 years ago by K from Canada with 6 ratings

As a great rum fan, this happens to be my personal favourite. Enjoy on the rocks or straight up.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

This rum was a great surprise - actually didn„t like dark rum till this one.

Posted about 4 years ago by Anastasios Birmpilis from Greece with 5 ratings

Diplomatico reserva exclusiva is a top-notch, yet affordable rum, made for serious rum lovers, to sip and enjoy in specific days and times.

Colour: dark caramel
Aroma: Chocolate, tofee, caramel, all accompanying a great oak base.
Flavour: rich, thick.
Taste: Caramel tofee, chocolate with an essence of vanilla and sweet alcoholic tones.

This is a must have/ try. One of my favourite rums. Only for sipping, preferably straight up or with a small ice cube or just a tiny portion of water, in order to release more aromas and discover its true potential.

Tips: Accompany it with some pieces of good quality bitter chocolate or/ and a light-medium, preferably canarian, cigar.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas from France with 22 ratings

Un rhum qui ne décevra personne. A avoir dans sa rhumateque.

Posted about 4 years ago by John from France with 2 ratings

Un rhum doux et équilibré. Un de mes rhum préféré. Très bien pour commencer à apprécier les rhums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

I was introduced to this at a great little rum bar in Key West. It's great neat and also with a cube or two. Lighter than some, but tasty just the same.

Posted about 4 years ago by Daniel from Israel with 4 ratings

First off, i'm very fond of Diplomatico. I always enjoy it as a sipper when i'm in "summer week-end relaxation" mode. The mouth is round, full bodied with lot's of interesting stuff going on in the nose, from candied fruit, to leather. My issue however with Diplomatico, is the overly sweet mouth with really doesn't match the stunning nose, and makes for a less than elegant drinking experience. You can almost feel the complexity in the first few moments, but then the sweetness takes over and dominates. When I factor in the great price, this is could almost be worth and 8, but lack of balance brings it down to a 7 for me. Still, a great effort for a superb price and a must on any rum collectors shelf...

7/10

Posted about 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 14 ratings

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Notation Personnel : 8/10

Posted about 4 years ago by Richie from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Nose: sweet,fruit,rosiness
Tase: sweet,rosin,caramel, fruity

Posted about 4 years ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

Dark Brown. Smells like raisins, chocolate and caramel. Pleasantly sweet. A strong taste of dried fruits, some caramel and toffee and some burning alcohol. Medium aftertaste.

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

This rum is a winner, a great taste and affordable . The best value I've tasted . Rich, creamy , sweet and with a good balance of spice, it is one of the most decorated molasses rum around the world . Its a very balanced rum, first a silky attack in mouth without stinging, very smooth. He leaves a long finish of vanilla caramel and sweet aroma. A rum tasted without ice... maybe just two rock of stainless to refresh.

Ce rhum est un gagnant, un gout exceptionnel et a un prix abordable. Le meilleur qualité prix que j'ai goûté. Riche, onctueux, sweet et avec un bon équilibre d’épices, ce rhum de mélasse est un des plus décore a travers le monde. C'est un rhum très équilibré, une attaque en bouche soyeuse sans picotement. Il laisse une finale longue d’arôme de caramel sucré et vanillé. Un rhum a déguster sans glace sans mélange...peut-être juste deux rock de stainless pour rafraîchir.

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

A favorite...honey, orange and toffee with a smooth finish.

Posted about 4 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

Dark rich taste, very little to no burn. Sweet with some caramel hints. I would only sip this rum. No coke.

Posted about 4 years ago by Bertin from Canada with 8 ratings

This is the best entry rum to get people interested in rum. Very good choice for the price. Gentle alcohol, almost no burn and a sweet finish. This Will get people to like rum if they never tried straight up aged rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jonas Vikkelsø from Denmark with 5 ratings

Dejlig nem og let drikkelig. Er selvfølgelig også super populær hos undertegnede, da den er meget tilgængelig prismæssigt!

Posted about 4 years ago by Lukas from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Very good rum at a low price. I have one bottle for several years and rum does not lose quality. Always happy to savor a glass

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

Smooth and no burn. Very nice. Slight nuttiness, but more of a light spiced cake. Simply enjoyable!

Posted about 4 years ago by java from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Můj první rum, koupen vyloženě jen na zkoušku. Jelikož mě před tím tvrdý alkohol nechutnal, tak tohle bylo obrovské pozitivní překvapení. Chuť skvělá, jak by se řeklo pro "rumového začátečníka". I přes onu sladkost, která je tam jasně cítit vystoupí i další chutě jako karamel, vanilka, dub. Jak vůně tak chuť je výborná.

Posted about 4 years ago by Fredrik Hansson from Sweden with 2 ratings

A very Nice priceworthy rum i highly recommend.
Sweet but with a Nice dept in the flavor.

Posted about 4 years ago by Frank Skalka from Denmark with 5 ratings

This is the perfect rum to buy if you are new to the world of rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Been holding out to try this for A few months so I didn't have other bottles open.I've got a really poor sense of smell but I got this one straight off the glass. At first I thought its a bit medical but that soon passed. The first sip was small, and I gave it the full rinse to get the flavour into the mouth, and I was so pleased to get a warm burn before swallowing. No burn in the throat and for the next half hour I was content with a sip here and there getting all the caramel, buttery sweet flavours. A bit of an adjustment for me as I'm a firm coke mixer . Thick in the glass and velvety smooth, the flavour improves with the patient approach and now I'm reluctant to sample it with coke but I will and then edit this rating later. One thing I know already is this is superb and not for sharing with just any old friend. Keep it close if you get my meaning.ok back again and although the diplomatico tasted great with a coke. I'm not going to mix it again. Sacrilege.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................