Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.1/10 (2108 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
23
49
97
310
763
685
159

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2108 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 10 ratings

The best I’ve had so far. Sweet, smooth, and delicious. I’d say it tastes a bit fruity like dried raisins or something. Do not hesitate to buy.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Bobapud from Canada with 5 ratings

Very affordable for a great sipping rum. If you are just beginning sipping rum, this is the one to start with.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

This is my go to drink for a relaxing end to a long day. If you sip it slowly it is perfect in almost every way. It is a sweet rum, so keep that in mind, but it is exceedingly smooth. The nose is raisins, vanilla, and maple syrup. Once it hits your mouth deep caramel and vanilla tones linger and swirl on the back of your tongue. There is no burn at all. It is smooth and pleasant at every level and for under 42-48$ a bottle it is superb value. If you find this bottle, grab it and thank us later.

*Update* So as other may point out, this rum does not age well once opened. I now find after 6 months on the shelf that the complex flavors have become muted and it has become sweeter. It is still very, very good but overall the short shelf life means a reduction in points.

Nose: 9
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 9
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 6
Price: 7

Total: 8.1

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hizarlow from United States with 2 ratings

I dont know the lingo yet but its smooth warm and a hint of spice. Very good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

this is so additive-laden (40gms + per liter of added sugar, vanilla, etc) and artificial that I wouldn't recommend it even for a novice (which most of the reviewers here seem to be). ok as an after dinner liqueur maybe. But then there are lots of those.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I have about 15 rums in my collection and I’ll admit I like them on the sweet side, but it was the smoothness of this when sipping neat that blew my mind. No need for any ice and no burn.
I still have a couple to open but this is the perfect benchmark.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

In the glass, the rum is dark mahogany brown, co doubt thanks to a heavy dose of caramel coloring.

The nose is pancakes, toffee, burnt sugar, wood polish, leather - quite pleasant in fact.

The taste is major downer, however - a super sweet concoction, like drinking cola syrup, with faint wood influence and meek burn. Overpowering vanilla taste, cola, candy, brown sugar, tiramisu, maple syrup. It's like drinking liquid candy.

This is a liqueur, through and through, and I would not have a problem with it if only it was marketed transparently. The taste is not unpleasant, if you like candy, it just does not taste like rum at all.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Great rum for the money without question. The sweetest from all of the ones i’ve tried so far. I have to say is way too sweet to sip on its own. However, you can make a fantastic rum old fashion cocktail with this one.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Wow. I knew it was going to be sweet, but I didn't realize just how sweet.

As others mention, there's VERY little bite, and only mild warmth on the finish hinting that this is actually a spirit. That's not a good sign. This stuff is basically spiked sugar syrup, and little else. The more complex flavors are almost totally masked by the sweetness.

After sitting in the glass for 15 minutes, the nose congealed into the focused smell of vanilla frosting. I don't think I could tell the two apart.

I couldn't finish my glass. Ice wouldn't help, and Coke has gobs of sugar already. I imagine this could make a killer Daiquiri... rum, lime, and no sugar. Still, I see this strictly as a mixer.

As even "Flawed with a glimmer of hope" seems generous, I have no reservation in awarding this my lowest rating to-date. And this is just a wild guess, but I think the imaginary un-sugared version would be still be only a 6. Too bad they have no incentive to change...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Sweet and very fine rum. My favorite. I recommend...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from Canada with 3 ratings

A friend introduced this one to me when I had indicated my ambivalence to all things rum - up to that point I was a confirmed whisky drinker (rye, thank you very much, none of that peaty scotch crap)
What an eye opener. The sheer... goodness of this rum was immediate and forever changed my go-to spirit of choice. Caramel, vanilla, molasses...sweet and buttery smooth...
I still enjoy locating new and interesting rye blends, but my liquor cabinet is now stuffed mainly with rum as I try to locate THIS 10/10 rum's equal - an admittedly difficult task as it's tough to surpass the perfection of your first love.

...If I could just get past my hatred of peat, I think I'd be set.