Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.1/10 (2057 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
21
46
93
305
745
669
156

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2057 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E328dbe0ea7a86e75d7fb4a8466d562a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Parfait pour faire découvrir le rhum à quelqu'un ou pour s'y mettre en douceur, cette petite sucrerie est comparable à un caramel mou : "caramel" car au nez et en bouche c'est ce qui domine et "mou" car c'est très rond et ça manque cruellement de pêche !
A noter tout de même : c'est excellent avec un petit foie gras sur un toast, cela remplace aisément un vin blanc liquoreux.

34641a1dc0c99d6f844f280f918cb64d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

this is so additive-laden (40gms + per liter of added sugar, vanilla, etc) and artificial that I wouldn't recommend it even for a novice (which most of the reviewers here seem to be). ok as an after dinner liqueur maybe. But then there are lots of those.

43a3173141bc7ae4e8341d75aaea78eb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I have about 15 rums in my collection and I’ll admit I like them on the sweet side, but it was the smoothness of this when sipping neat that blew my mind. No need for any ice and no burn.
I still have a couple to open but this is the perfect benchmark.

F2cd5606db1e49cb42c827068e5941d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

In the glass, the rum is dark mahogany brown, co doubt thanks to a heavy dose of caramel coloring.

The nose is pancakes, toffee, burnt sugar, wood polish, leather - quite pleasant in fact.

The taste is major downer, however - a super sweet concoction, like drinking cola syrup, with faint wood influence and meek burn. Overpowering vanilla taste, cola, candy, brown sugar, tiramisu, maple syrup. It's like drinking liquid candy.

This is a liqueur, through and through, and I would not have a problem with it if only it was marketed transparently. The taste is not unpleasant, if you like candy, it just does not taste like rum at all.

716132e430cd9eef9be718b1aad28fb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Great rum for the money without question. The sweetest from all of the ones i’ve tried so far. I have to say is way too sweet to sip on its own. However, you can make a fantastic rum old fashion cocktail with this one.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Wow. I knew it was going to be sweet, but I didn't realize just how sweet.

As others mention, there's VERY little bite, and only mild warmth on the finish hinting that this is actually a spirit. That's not a good sign. This stuff is basically spiked sugar syrup, and little else. The more complex flavors are almost totally masked by the sweetness.

After sitting in the glass for 15 minutes, the nose congealed into the focused smell of vanilla frosting. I don't think I could tell the two apart.

I couldn't finish my glass. Ice wouldn't help, and Coke has gobs of sugar already. I imagine this could make a killer Daiquiri... rum, lime, and no sugar. Still, I see this strictly as a mixer.

As even "Flawed with a glimmer of hope" seems generous, I have no reservation in awarding this my lowest rating to-date. And this is just a wild guess, but I think the imaginary un-sugared version would be still be only a 6. Too bad they have no incentive to change...

3504b09eb2a5c535641c3cbd3f246de1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Sweet and very fine rum. My favorite. I recommend...

437a096cbda25fb83414963e3b50cfd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from Canada with 3 ratings

A friend introduced this one to me when I had indicated my ambivalence to all things rum - up to that point I was a confirmed whisky drinker (rye, thank you very much, none of that peaty scotch crap)
What an eye opener. The sheer... goodness of this rum was immediate and forever changed my go-to spirit of choice. Caramel, vanilla, molasses...sweet and buttery smooth...
I still enjoy locating new and interesting rye blends, but my liquor cabinet is now stuffed mainly with rum as I try to locate THIS 10/10 rum's equal - an admittedly difficult task as it's tough to surpass the perfection of your first love.

...If I could just get past my hatred of peat, I think I'd be set.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 355 ratings

Ein wirklicher Top Rum.
Die Nase kann nicht genug kriegen: Vanille, Toffee, Karamell,
um nur einige der süssen Versuchungen zu nennen.
Geschmeidig und samtig im Gaumen, voller Geschmack.
Abgang ganz lecker, könnte aber länger sein.
Super Preis/Leistung.

A real top rum.
The nose can not get enough: vanilla, toffee, caramel,
to name just some of the sweet temptations.
Smooth and velvety on the palate, full flavor.
Departure quite tasty, but could be longer.
Great price / performance.

Edf26a4d93247d2f96b79e4870f6a4d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joe Doaks from United States with 3 ratings

This is a flavor-bomb, very complex and almost chewy. However, I wonder that few if any folks here mention the licorice. This stuff tastes like it was aged in Bookers bourbon barrels. I mean, it's rum through and through, and very good, but the usual rummy aromas and flavors are overwhelmed by a stalk-y vegetal presence - and black licorice. Straight up, it's very good. But a splash of water or an ice cube brings out the licorice to a level I couldn't enjoy (of course, I don't like Bookers all that well either). In the first third of the bottle, I was ready to buy 3 or 4 more. By the last third, I was kind of tired of it. So, I'll put it in the back of the cabinet, and 'rediscover' it at some future date.

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Smooth sweet rum... just spank my butt and call me Sally. Excellent both neat or on the rocks.. well worth the money spent.