Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.0/10 (2164 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
12
22
47
102
327
776
700
165

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2164 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0

Posted 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 106 ratings

Amazing caramel nose, could smell this stuff all day. Taste is overwhelming brown sugar. It's sweet but not overpowering with burnt caramel slight short nice finish. Easy to sip on, maybe a little too sweet for more than 1 glass and not hugely complex - a definite recommend for new raters.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by SteveH from Bahamas with 4 ratings

It’s basically one of the best value sipping rums , smooth and rich in the palate a good mouth feel caramel vanilla and gentle spice , added sugar yes but over ice hard to beat for double the money.
Whilst Reserva familia is in my opinion better this is a safe and easy introduction to sipping rums

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Like others have said. It's liqueur, in my opinion. It's tasty in the way other liqueurs can be tasty, and I don't judge anyone who likes it, but I do hope the rum world get's more regulated so that this can be placed in a different category.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Murz from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

A smooth flavoursome rum, easily sipped over ice, and not too expensive to mix either.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by mamercado33 from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

The combination of Color, Aroma and Flavor make this Rum a Special Spirit.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bobapud from Canada with 5 ratings

Very affordable for a great sipping rum. If you are just beginning sipping rum, this is the one to start with.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 54 ratings

This is my go to drink for a relaxing end to a long day. If you sip it slowly it is perfect in almost every way. It is a sweet rum, so keep that in mind, but it is exceedingly smooth. The nose is raisins, vanilla, and maple syrup. Once it hits your mouth deep caramel and vanilla tones linger and swirl on the back of your tongue. There is no burn at all. It is smooth and pleasant at every level and for under 42-48$ a bottle it is superb value. If you find this bottle, grab it and thank us later.

*Update* So as other may point out, this rum does not age well once opened. I now find after 6 months on the shelf that the complex flavors have become muted and it has become sweeter. It is still very, very good but overall the short shelf life means a reduction in points.

Nose: 9
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 9
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 6
Price: 7

Total: 8.1

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hizarlow from United States with 2 ratings

I dont know the lingo yet but its smooth warm and a hint of spice. Very good.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

this is so additive-laden (40gms + per liter of added sugar, vanilla, etc) and artificial that I wouldn't recommend it even for a novice (which most of the reviewers here seem to be). ok as an after dinner liqueur maybe. But then there are lots of those.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I have about 15 rums in my collection and I’ll admit I like them on the sweet side, but it was the smoothness of this when sipping neat that blew my mind. No need for any ice and no burn.
I still have a couple to open but this is the perfect benchmark.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

In the glass, the rum is dark mahogany brown, co doubt thanks to a heavy dose of caramel coloring.

The nose is pancakes, toffee, burnt sugar, wood polish, leather - quite pleasant in fact.

The taste is major downer, however - a super sweet concoction, like drinking cola syrup, with faint wood influence and meek burn. Overpowering vanilla taste, cola, candy, brown sugar, tiramisu, maple syrup. It's like drinking liquid candy.

This is a liqueur, through and through, and I would not have a problem with it if only it was marketed transparently. The taste is not unpleasant, if you like candy, it just does not taste like rum at all.