Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.1/10 (2058 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
12
21
46
93
305
746
669
156

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2058 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

I walked past this bottle a sum total of 400 times and never pulled the trigger on it because something always seemed like a better buy for it's price. I finally bought this guy and gave it nothing but high praise before having it. Now my thing is I quite enjoyed the younger brother of the Diplomatico's was it outstanding? No but it was a a very nice not just for the price but in general. So I finally decided to buy this ugly bastard of a bottle and give it a try. First pop of the top it has that same spice fragrance that Bumbu and Kilo Kai have in it. Which made me excited because for reasons unknown that certain spice is quite good at making a well composed blend, i.e. removing the alcohol burn and making it one complete taste. Pouring it in the glass you get an overburden of alcohol smell and oak. Which is fine by me. However 1 quick swig of this and even letting it breath you get a large bit of burn. It's a very dry burn too, the worst kind. Now I mean you get the oak aged taste with a very very minor hint of that secret spice however the harshness over powers the flavors. After incinerating my tongue with repetitive intake of said liquid in an idea that the harshness would stop eventually (sometimes the first sip of any rum can be harsh) to no success. Ultimately I have found that the anejo is a much better rum in both cost and taste and I will continue to buy that bottle it need be rather than this. Mixed down it's actually a very nice drink with some strong oak and alcohol flavor however when I am paying $40+ for a bottle I don't like mixing. I want to enjoy it for all it's worth rather than polluting with diet coke. Save this one for the shelves and go for the Anejo.
*PS the secret spice is banana

C0f998c66f19a1143cb6e85ca5a6dc17.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Very nice avec, but I wouldn't place it near the top choices. It's fairly sweet and rich in both nose and palate. Vanilla tones, fuits, bitter orange and all around a classic rum.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

It was hard to believe that a rum was so cheap for some to be one of the ten best rum in the world. The perfect demonstration that the price is not synonymous with perfection. It is perfectly balanced rum and butterscotch flavor ( sweet as candy) is pleasant . It will be perfect with dessert (crème brûlée...)

695c029a309ce00914cb758bb31a4da4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Is good but is far too simple...
Just some fruits, some little spice, too sweet (probably a lot of added sugar).
It's made to please everyone's taste...
Don't chose it if you want to find a true rum.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum blew me away! I can't believe it's only $34.99 (K&L Wines 2015). Toffee, cacao, vanilla, gingerbread, oak, molasses, wow! Smooth as silk too; don't even bother mixing it. A bit creamier than most rums. I prefer this over many others that cost far more.

D1ac9de0ae4a730e63bb7d3e39ef6f7d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Arnaud from France with 22 ratings

It's sweet and slightly pleasant, but this is not a rum but a liqueur. There is lots off added sugar and it also has a strong taste of vanilla, no doubt added.

1d3b81ce4184231d1d478e7ebbf76ede.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Excelente sabor.
Notas de vainilla, café, avellanas.
Color obscuro que deja ver el añejamiento real de este ron

Muy recomendable!!!

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Tradiční kůže, lesní med, dřevo a při hlubším pátrání ve sklence až plástve, lehce i propolis. (86 b)
Chuť: Mísí se zde krásná uhlazenost a jemnost v tom nejlepším slova smyslu s jemnou štiplavostí, vyzrálostí dřeva a medovou sladkostí.
Když budu hodně přísný, tak trochu dřevitá dochuť celkový dojem maličko ruší, ale nic významného. (88 b)
Body: 87
Shrnutí: Hlavně v chuti si mě získal, hodně sympatický reprezentant Venezuely.

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This rum contains no less than 41g/L of added sugar and that is too much sugar for my taste. It would be much better if this rum could have been left to be just pure rum.

Da1f3491615cd2474335d7845139dc95.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 days ago by Bobapud from Canada with 5 ratings

Very affordable for a great sipping rum. If you are just beginning sipping rum, this is the one to start with.

7cc2b5906acef3df6580737f99b0600d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Hizarlow from United States with 2 ratings

I dont know the lingo yet but its smooth warm and a hint of spice. Very good.