Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1979 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Søren Ladegaard from Denmark with 8 ratings

This is a very good rum and especial at the price tag (345.- DKR).
Sweetish rum with taste of molassis, caramel, vanille, banana in a very nice combination.
This is an inhouse favorite.

Posted over 2 years ago by Arnaud from France with 22 ratings

It's sweet and slightly pleasant, but this is not a rum but a liqueur. There is lots off added sugar and it also has a strong taste of vanilla, no doubt added.

Posted about 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Excelente sabor.
Notas de vainilla, café, avellanas.
Color obscuro que deja ver el añejamiento real de este ron

Muy recomendable!!!

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Tradiční kůže, lesní med, dřevo a při hlubším pátrání ve sklence až plástve, lehce i propolis. (86 b)
Chuť: Mísí se zde krásná uhlazenost a jemnost v tom nejlepším slova smyslu s jemnou štiplavostí, vyzrálostí dřeva a medovou sladkostí.
Když budu hodně přísný, tak trochu dřevitá dochuť celkový dojem maličko ruší, ale nic významného. (88 b)
Body: 87
Shrnutí: Hlavně v chuti si mě získal, hodně sympatický reprezentant Venezuely.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This rum contains no less than 41g/L of added sugar and that is too much sugar for my taste. It would be much better if this rum could have been left to be just pure rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Hizarlow from United States with 2 ratings

I dont know the lingo yet but its smooth warm and a hint of spice. Very good.

Posted over 1 year ago by john from United States with 2 ratings

this is so additive-laden (40gms + per liter of added sugar, vanilla, etc) and artificial that I wouldn't recommend it even for a novice (which most of the reviewers here seem to be). ok as an after dinner liqueur maybe. But then there are lots of those.

Posted about 2 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I have about 15 rums in my collection and I’ll admit I like them on the sweet side, but it was the smoothness of this when sipping neat that blew my mind. No need for any ice and no burn.
I still have a couple to open but this is the perfect benchmark.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

In the glass, the rum is dark mahogany brown, co doubt thanks to a heavy dose of caramel coloring.

The nose is pancakes, toffee, burnt sugar, wood polish, leather - quite pleasant in fact.

The taste is major downer, however - a super sweet concoction, like drinking cola syrup, with faint wood influence and meek burn. Overpowering vanilla taste, cola, candy, brown sugar, tiramisu, maple syrup. It's like drinking liquid candy.

This is a liqueur, through and through, and I would not have a problem with it if only it was marketed transparently. The taste is not unpleasant, if you like candy, it just does not taste like rum at all.

Posted over 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Great rum for the money without question. The sweetest from all of the ones i’ve tried so far. I have to say is way too sweet to sip on its own. However, you can make a fantastic rum old fashion cocktail with this one.

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Wow. I knew it was going to be sweet, but I didn't realize just how sweet.

As others mention, there's VERY little bite, and only mild warmth on the finish hinting that this is actually a spirit. That's not a good sign. This stuff is basically spiked sugar syrup, and little else. The more complex flavors are almost totally masked by the sweetness.

After sitting in the glass for 15 minutes, the nose congealed into the focused smell of vanilla frosting. I don't think I could tell the two apart.

I couldn't finish my glass. Ice wouldn't help, and Coke has gobs of sugar already. I imagine this could make a killer Daiquiri... rum, lime, and no sugar. Still, I see this strictly as a mixer.

As even "Flawed with a glimmer of hope" seems generous, I have no reservation in awarding this my lowest rating to-date. And this is just a wild guess, but I think the imaginary un-sugared version would be still be only a 6. Too bad they have no incentive to change...

Posted about 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Sweet and very fine rum. My favorite. I recommend...

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from Canada with 3 ratings

A friend introduced this one to me when I had indicated my ambivalence to all things rum - up to that point I was a confirmed whisky drinker (rye, thank you very much, none of that peaty scotch crap)
What an eye opener. The sheer... goodness of this rum was immediate and forever changed my go-to spirit of choice. Caramel, vanilla, molasses...sweet and buttery smooth...
I still enjoy locating new and interesting rye blends, but my liquor cabinet is now stuffed mainly with rum as I try to locate THIS 10/10 rum's equal - an admittedly difficult task as it's tough to surpass the perfection of your first love.

...If I could just get past my hatred of peat, I think I'd be set.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein wirklicher Top Rum.
Die Nase kann nicht genug kriegen: Vanille, Toffee, Karamell,
um nur einige der süssen Versuchungen zu nennen.
Geschmeidig und samtig im Gaumen, voller Geschmack.
Abgang ganz lecker, könnte aber länger sein.
Super Preis/Leistung.

A real top rum.
The nose can not get enough: vanilla, toffee, caramel,
to name just some of the sweet temptations.
Smooth and velvety on the palate, full flavor.
Departure quite tasty, but could be longer.
Great price / performance.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe Doaks from United States with 3 ratings

This is a flavor-bomb, very complex and almost chewy. However, I wonder that few if any folks here mention the licorice. This stuff tastes like it was aged in Bookers bourbon barrels. I mean, it's rum through and through, and very good, but the usual rummy aromas and flavors are overwhelmed by a stalk-y vegetal presence - and black licorice. Straight up, it's very good. But a splash of water or an ice cube brings out the licorice to a level I couldn't enjoy (of course, I don't like Bookers all that well either). In the first third of the bottle, I was ready to buy 3 or 4 more. By the last third, I was kind of tired of it. So, I'll put it in the back of the cabinet, and 'rediscover' it at some future date.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Smooth sweet rum... just spank my butt and call me Sally. Excellent both neat or on the rocks.. well worth the money spent.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matesha from New Zealand with 1 rating

Smooth, heavy on the demerara, just like I like it.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

den første rom som jeg købte. Og det har jeg bestemt ikke fortrudt.
Duft: dejlig sød og rund med noter af blomme og figne
Smag: røget, sød og med en dejlig balanceret eftersmag.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rune Lind from Denmark with 4 ratings

Really good rum for the price. It is sweet without getting too sweet.
Very balanced in the taste.

Highly recommendable for beginners.

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I was truly blown away with the Diplomatic Reserva Exclusiva Rum. This instantly became one of my favorites. Money well spent.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

What a great rum. Smell of vanilla and caramel. No harsh burn when swallowed. Drank this one straight, wouldn't think of mixing it with anything.

Posted about 6 years ago by Thomas Christiansen from Denmark with 9 ratings

God sød rom, som er god til prisen, duft og smag af kraramel

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Rigtig lækker rom med en dejlig duft og smag, fin længde og sødme. Meget nem rom at drikke.
Genkøb

Posted about 7 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

this rum is truly a benchmark, the quality that you get for this price is stunning.
Certainly it's a sweet rum but therefore a very good one. Also very good as a recommendation to beginners. The only bad thing is that the Botucal (name change in germany) lost some of it's quality, if that wouldn't have happened I would give the rum the full score!

****UPDATE 2019-11-17****
6 years have passed since this review and in this period I could try many rums, primarly unsweetened high proof and full proof rums. I'll make it quick:
This rum has still this special magic to get people into rum in general due to this "everybodies darling" attribute. however, we are also talking here about a sweetened rum and without the added sugar this rum would most likely won't have as many fans as it has. It's easy to consume, but there is much better stuff out there guys.

Posted over 7 years ago by Michael from United States with 18 ratings

If you prefer sweeter rums, this will be your gold standard. On par with my personal gold-standard choice, El Dorado 15, but slightly sweeter than I generally prefer. Smoooth as silk, though, no doubt abouti t.