Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum is distilled from molassis in copper pot stills and then aged in small oak casks for on average 12 years before being bottled.

Produced in Venezuela, which has a rich rum history dating to 1896, the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva distillery is located on the northern slopes of the Andes mountains.

8.0/10 (2164 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
10
12
22
47
102
327
776
700
165

Rate Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


2164 Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 10 ratings

Smooth, tasty and sweet but not to sweet. A perfect rum for starters

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

I'll give a mention to this fellow that nailed the rum review:
https://rumtastic.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/diplomatico-reserva-exclusiva-review/

It's just too sweet for me. Rums by their nature will tend to have a sweeter note, but this is playing to a crowd that wants liquid candy in their mouth.

I'm currently experimenting with drier and spicier rums to mix it with in order to try and bring some semblance of balance.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

For people who like sweet rums, this one should be a winner! The Diplomatico Réserva Exclusiva is a very sweet aged rum from Venezuela, which brings out his fruit and spiced notes without being strong at all in the throat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I like rum, and I like it straight. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva has that wonderful taste a sipping rum should have. It's smooth, tasty and has a nice little bite in exactly the right proportions. Without any overpowering flavors like so many other high end rums. Bottom line, it's absolutely wonderful. I've never found anything better, regardless of price. EDIT: I found something better! El Dorado 25 year.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Excellent rum in a lot of ways with a deep toffee aroma. A very sweet and round caramel palate, with a hint of vanilla. Enjoyable as a dessert after dinner. In the long run I find it way to sweet for a regular sipping though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Rumm from United States with 4 ratings

I love the long thin slow legs that appear above the golden brown swirl in the glass. As I bring the glass to my nose there is the reward of soft vanilla and a tinge of cocoa and molasses to tempt my taste buds. I find the sweetness a delightful accompaniment to the report of spices from my olfactory senses. The burn is gentle as the golden brown goodness rolls around the sides of my tongue and down the throat. A delightful sipping experience.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

So it was (one of) the fist of my aged rums, and it's why I love them that much.
As I don't taste it from long time I'm normally objective on this ratting (and I'm more interested on some Bourbon now ;p ).
A nice smell of mixed vanillia and caramel and a bit spicy, who remember me the Rooibos (false tea). On the mouth the same flavor is present but more stonguer, giving a round and sweat rum, with a bit of astringent and a long sweet caramel/vanillia finish.

Realy a nice and good rum for everyone. A great first choice for start aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by VyperGrrl from United States with 1 rating

A lot of people will complain about the sweetness of this rum, or say it's not a "good rum" because it was sweetened after distilling. I'm not one of those people. I don't think that pouring a snifter of spirits should represent an endurance event. I want to enjoy it - and I definitely enjoyed this one. On the nose, I got butter, brown sugar and a hint of pinapple. I tasted caramel, vanilla, walnut and nutmeg with a hint of orange. Very little astringent burn on the tongue, and warm going down. A very nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

My first foray into more premium rums and I was blown away. Beautifully sweet but not overpowering, smooth and perfect for sipping.

On a recent holiday to Keffalonia I spied a bottle behind the bar and asked for a glass (a Greek single is like a UK triple 👌) the owner was stunned I knew it and went on to tell me all the awards it's won and that UK guests don't know what it is... I drank the whole bottle that week and started the next one reminding me how easy it is to drink. What's more, at the price point it is exceptional value and easily matches or outstrips more expensive rums I've had.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Well over 1,900 aged dark rums enjoyed and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva is still on my Top 15 list after 15 years. It is sublime, very smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of flavors plus it is the best price-quality ratio of any rums, period. If you haven't tried yet Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 13
20/100 Palate test 19
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 15
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 94

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 23 ratings

I purchased this based on many reviews I had read online a few years ago. Boy it did NOT disappoint! In fact, at the time, it was the smoothest, tastiest rum I had ever had! Beautiful bottle that is frosted green with what appears to be a currency for the label. It looks great sitting on my or any bar. The nose is pleasant with vanilla and honey. The color in the glass is a fantastic rich cognac color. In the mouth, mild spiciness, wood, nuts and vanilla. Clean finish. Definitely a sipping rum and should be in your stash without question.