Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Blanco rum

Rate Diplomatico Blanco

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


55 Diplomatico Blanco ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the light rums, but this is one of the best I've had. This is one of the few light rums I've tried that I really enjoy straight. Light vanilla, sugarcane, and oak. Soooo smooth and creamy. VERY highly recommended if you like light rums!

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a wonderful thick mouth feel. Goes well with tropical drinks, but not my favorite as a sipper. At $30 a bottle, price is it's biggest negative.

edited to add sugar test results- 8g

Posted over 5 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Simply the best white rum I have tried. It could almost be a good sipper! Not tried it in cocktails yet

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This rum has been modified and has had an increase in ABV with a new name called Planas. After reading reviews for both, I decided to grab that last bottle of Blanco on the shelf of the liquor store before it is gone. At $27, it was a bit steep, but it is a good dry white rum with only 8 gpl of added sugar.

On the nose is faint alcohol and nothing else. On the palate, I was groping in the dark to find hints of coconut and banana. Going down the pipe was minimal burn with no unpleasant after taste. It can't quite compete with Plantation 3-Star Artisinal or Vizcaya Cristal, but it is still a good white rum that won't go to waste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Pleasant smell of lightly fragrant pineapple (poured into a snifter). Mild and smooth flavor of banana cream, vanilla, toffee, and caramel. The mouthfeel has a wonderful warm velvet quality. I'd pour it into a snifter and drink it neat, or mix it with a good cola. Haven't tried it in a daiquiri, but I'd downplay the lime and sugar if I did. Tasty rum, good for when you want something delicate to sip on.

Posted 14 days ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

I miss tge taste of a barrel! Very disappointed about it

Posted about 1 month ago by Per71 from Sweden with 35 ratings

Smell like a disinfectant.
Taste like it too...
Terrible !

Posted 2 months ago by TY from Austria with 30 ratings

In der Nase klar mit dezenten Zitrusnoten und leichtem Duft nach frischem Zuckerrohr. Keine Schärfe, was sich auch auf der Zunge bestätigt.
Sehr angenehm rund und weich. Neutraler Geschmack. Kaum wahrnehmbare Süße. Unaufregend.
Wärmend im Abgang, leicht pelziger Nachgeschmack mit Rückständen von dunklen Gewürzen, aber ohne Bitterkeit.
Bestimmt bestens für hochwertige Cocktails, aber auch gelegentlich zum schlückchenweise pur trinken geeignet.

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

This is the only white rum I would sip, great for cocktails, makes great mojitos. Caramel notes although not as sweet as the Diplomatico Planas

Posted 10 months ago by Joel from Canada with 5 ratings

That rum is very good and we like with a drop of lime this is very good

Posted 11 months ago by František Pavelka from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Hodně alkoholu, chuť nevýrazná. Dal bych to maximálně do míchaných nápojů.

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

As I got deeper into my rum journey, I learned that the whites can be as flavorful as the aged/dark, but in a different way.
Of all the Whites I have (about 20), this is by far the best.
Don't confuse it with the Diplomatico Planas white, a lower grade.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Diplomatico Blanco at a local bar while in London. Pretty decent bottle and label design. Floral notes and very mild coconut to your nose and palate. Definitely less sweeter than the Diplomatico Planas. Strong burn at the end. This is not a neat sipper rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

This tastes like Vodka or Blanco (maybe). Maybe good for mixing and cocktails as "quality" white rum. I dont have to say something more.

Posted almost 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Vanilla, coconut like taste with coffee light smel... Oak barrel... Not as I would prefer. Good for cocktails...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Sharp aroma with ethanol only, burning taste similar to vodka. Aftertaste better with vanilla and cocco tones.

Posted about 2 years ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

I would not probably drink it as is but could be good for coctails..

Posted about 2 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Premium mixer for premium drinks, but enjoyable as a sipper, especially with ice and twist of lemon.

Posted over 2 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

Best white rum I have ever tasted. So smooth and neat, great for daiquiris, great with rum and coke. This rum is so smooth I've even tried a few cocktails with it in place of vodka. For 24$ it is my go to white rum, and a great choice for any occasion, full marks.

Posted almost 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

Price: $23 and change. That's premium territory and with this selection, I'm 99% convinced there's no complexity or eye-popping flavor profiles to be found in any silver/light rum. The Diplomatico Blanco Reserva is rather boring. On the nose I get alcohol, slight floral and wood notes. It has a creamy mouth feel that's a little syrupy up front and the sweetness lingers on the lips after the rather quick finish. It tastes like powdered sugar donut flavored, sweet vodka. A faint hint of wood and Dutch Cocoa come in at the very end after the swallow and it just isn't that smooth either. Makes great cocktails however, so does the $9/liter Calico Jack. Until I come across the Plantation 3 stars or any other highly regarded silver rum, I'm stocking the bar with these light rums: Calico Jack, Cruzan and Wray and Nephew (overproof). Their flavor/quality per price point is excellent in my book. This was expensive for meh.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

This is a very interesting white rum ,with some of the complex flavours of amber like rums. It tingles the tongue at first but is smooth with a pleasant finish. At $45can it is an average price but,it is now unavailable in Ontario and Manitoba.

Posted almost 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 129 ratings

My nose catches only alcohol and floral fragrance. In the mouth there is a burning sensation, a pleasant barrel, again a burning sensation and bitterness. A lump in the throat, woody-herbal taste, alcohol, sweetness. Pleasant warmth through the esophagus. Amazing thing: the mind first becomes indistinct, then clears up!

Posted about 3 years ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the white rums.
They are well suitable for coctails and many times a bad standalone drink. But this is one of the best I've tried. Light vanilla nose and body... light sweetness and very smooth body for a white rum. A bit aggressive abv at start but well balanced at the end... I would say: Top white rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Interesting white rum. It has the shoe nail polish taste of a vodka but quickly comes back into a sweetness with some light grassiness. Would definitely recommend as a white rum to mix in tropical drinks if you want to not destroy your mouth/stomach.




#