Posting your rating...

6.6/10 (54 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
3
14
10
12
4
3

Rate Diplomatico Blanco

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Diplomatico Blanco ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Interesting white rum. It has the shoe nail polish taste of a vodka but quickly comes back into a sweetness with some light grassiness. Would definitely recommend as a white rum to mix in tropical drinks if you want to not destroy your mouth/stomach.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I'm not a big fan of the light rums, but this is one of the best I've had. This is one of the few light rums I've tried that I really enjoy straight. Light vanilla, sugarcane, and oak. Soooo smooth and creamy. VERY highly recommended if you like light rums!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a wonderful thick mouth feel. Goes well with tropical drinks, but not my favorite as a sipper. At $30 a bottle, price is it's biggest negative.

edited to add sugar test results- 8g

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Simply the best white rum I have tried. It could almost be a good sipper! Not tried it in cocktails yet

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

This rum has been modified and has had an increase in ABV with a new name called Planas. After reading reviews for both, I decided to grab that last bottle of Blanco on the shelf of the liquor store before it is gone. At $27, it was a bit steep, but it is a good dry white rum with only 8 gpl of added sugar.

On the nose is faint alcohol and nothing else. On the palate, I was groping in the dark to find hints of coconut and banana. Going down the pipe was minimal burn with no unpleasant after taste. It can't quite compete with Plantation 3-Star Artisinal or Vizcaya Cristal, but it is still a good white rum that won't go to waste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Pleasant smell of lightly fragrant pineapple (poured into a snifter). Mild and smooth flavor of banana cream, vanilla, toffee, and caramel. The mouthfeel has a wonderful warm velvet quality. I'd pour it into a snifter and drink it neat, or mix it with a good cola. Haven't tried it in a daiquiri, but I'd downplay the lime and sugar if I did. Tasty rum, good for when you want something delicate to sip on.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

I miss tge taste of a barrel! Very disappointed about it

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 42 ratings

Smell like a disinfectant.
Taste like it too...
Terrible !

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by TY from Austria with 53 ratings

In der Nase klar mit dezenten Zitrusnoten und leichtem Duft nach frischem Zuckerrohr. Keine Schärfe, was sich auch auf der Zunge bestätigt.
Sehr angenehm rund und weich. Neutraler Geschmack. Kaum wahrnehmbare Süße. Unaufregend.
Wärmend im Abgang, leicht pelziger Nachgeschmack mit Rückständen von dunklen Gewürzen, aber ohne Bitterkeit.
Bestimmt bestens für hochwertige Cocktails, aber auch gelegentlich zum schlückchenweise pur trinken geeignet.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 45 ratings

This is the only white rum I would sip, great for cocktails, makes great mojitos. Caramel notes although not as sweet as the Diplomatico Planas

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Joel from Canada with 5 ratings

That rum is very good and we like with a drop of lime this is very good