Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Añejo rum

Diplomatico Anejo is a 4-year old golden rum from Venezuela. It is the youngest of the Diplomatico rum family and is medium-bodied.

Rate Diplomatico Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Diplomatico Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not a bad rum. Nose is full of caramel, too much for me. Fruity too though, with some mandarin and green banana. Mouth is fairly smooth, with flavours of vanilla and burnt caramel. Finish is dull.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack Farrell from United States with 10 ratings

After drinking the Reserva, which I feel is one of the best rums for the money, I was very disappointed in this one. At first sip I initially thought it was going to be alright but quickly found out otherwise. The taste is flat, boring and the finish is very short as was my relationship with this bottle. I suppose it's okay for mixing but I only consume my booze straight. Nothing terribly offensive about the Añejo but very little to recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

Diplomatico Anejo is a good, middle of the road rum with a firm standing on nose and warmth. If you're looking for a solid place to start your rum tastings, start here.

Posted over 3 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Good stuff for mixin with coke. Rich, sweet and vanilla taste even with the coke..

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I really love the Diplomatico rums, but I didn't try this for a long time because I assumed it couldn't be that good at only $13.49 (Total Wines, 2016). I was mistaken.

It has the same base flavor as the Diplomatico Reserva and Reserva Exclusiva. Not quite as good as those, but similar nonetheless. Smells and tastes of toffee, vanilla, oak, and molasses. Surprisingly smooth for a four year old rum. This is definitely the rum to buy if you're on a budget and you want a sipping (as opposed to mixing) rum. Two thumbs up!!!

Posted over 3 years ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 15 ratings

Certainly not my favourite rum. Buts it's still rum so I drink to that.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This light golden Rum has a hint of sweet butterscotch to both it's smell and taste. Mixes well with coke - A little harsh at first sip but mellows in a few quick minutes.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Not a bad choice for exploring anejo rum. It has a subtle wood-earth taste that is more apparent when served neat and even more evident when served neat with a little water.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Na to ako strašne mám rád ich vlajkovú loď, tak toto ma naozaj sklamalo

Posted over 5 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Pour decouvrir le "monde " diplomatico ! Parfait en cocktail

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Outstanding value and quality for cocktails... my favorite in a Caracas Mule... I believe it got discontinued so if you see some bottles available.... buy them all!!!

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Dieser Rum ist nichts Außergewöhnliches. Würde eher den älteren Bruder nehmen.

Posted 9 months ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

This would work ok as a mixer and it's a decent price. It is absolutely nothing to write home about and is disappointing next to the Exclusiva Reserva. Ok, I know it's cheaper and not the same...but I'd much rather have a Havana Club Anejo to this.

Posted 10 months ago by Joel from Canada with 5 ratings

Very good with lime and coke. Or for other food mix

Posted about 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

If you’re looking for a very sweet rum at budget prices, look no further.

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Bohata chut i vune. Mozna to trochu prehnali se sladkosti - neni zdaleka tal vyvazeny jako RE, ale rozhodne to neni spatny rum. Da se v pohode i samotny. Delsi sladky zaver s korenim.

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Solid go-to for cocktails requiring amber/gold rum. Nothing special overall, but it does have those characteristic sweet toffee, chocolate and dried fruit notes like the other Diplos, so it stands tall against competitors in this category...

If you like sugar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Natan from Israel with 15 ratings

I tasted it in s flight so, that may mislead me but overall it was a VERY good one that can be taken without ice or coke. It is swell balanced, nice sweetness and full texture. I liked it!!

Posted over 1 year ago by Logoscripto from Greece with 12 ratings

I know it is not a very complex and sophisticated rum but for this price is excellent choice to have in house. for a few euros more...you have a quality rum in house over some cheap commercial other choices. the rating given is considering the price. just for the taste i would give a 7.

Posted almost 2 years ago by FamousOlSpiced from United States with 8 ratings

I bought this on recommendation from a friend as a good, cheap sipper, though they admit that they were already drunk when they had tried it. It's decent enough, the nose is pleasant, but the flavor falls very flat when drinken neat. I still sip it occasionally, but it's really not something you break out on special occasions, which is acceptable for the price. Mixed into your beverage of choice, it holds up very well.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Not quite a sipper, but plenty of flavor for a mixer where you want a bold gold, like a strawberry daiquiri. Light on the nose with a wine-like fruitiness, full flavor that can only be described as "rum", with a medium finish that just lingers a minute.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I love the older Diplomaticos, but while this has some of the same characteristics, it doesn't come together with the same complexity. The elements or there, just don't tie together how I would want in a rum of this age.

It pours a straw gold, and despite a light nose, elements of vanilla and caramel dominate the taste. A quick burn mellows into a nice warm back end. This would mix well, or be good after shoveling the driveway.

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

If you are getting into complex rums this is a great starter and must have in the cabinet.
Considering i was able to get it under $15 it is as good as it can be.

Caramel is all around with nose, taste and finish...
I think it is typical for Venezuelan rums this is my 3rd Venezielan rum woth same character
Some other distinct flavors as well overall solid rum for the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron muy basico para lo que Diplomatico nos podria ofrecer.




#