Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Añejo rum

Diplomatico Añejo

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Gold

Diplomatico Anejo is a 4-year old golden rum from Venezuela. It is the youngest of the Diplomatico rum family and is medium-bodied.

6.3/10 (118 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
23
34
42
12
1

Rate Diplomatico Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Diplomatico Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a younger rum with much flavor. This is a mediocre sipper or shot rum. There is a lot of decent flavor and a classic molasses rum taste. The price point raises my score on this as it is quite cheap.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

Not quite a sipper, but plenty of flavor for a mixer where you want a bold gold, like a strawberry daiquiri. Light on the nose with a wine-like fruitiness, full flavor that can only be described as "rum", with a medium finish that just lingers a minute.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I love the older Diplomaticos, but while this has some of the same characteristics, it doesn't come together with the same complexity. The elements or there, just don't tie together how I would want in a rum of this age.

It pours a straw gold, and despite a light nose, elements of vanilla and caramel dominate the taste. A quick burn mellows into a nice warm back end. This would mix well, or be good after shoveling the driveway.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

If you are getting into complex rums this is a great starter and must have in the cabinet.
Considering i was able to get it under $15 it is as good as it can be.

Caramel is all around with nose, taste and finish...
I think it is typical for Venezuelan rums this is my 3rd Venezielan rum woth same character
Some other distinct flavors as well overall solid rum for the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron muy basico para lo que Diplomatico nos podria ofrecer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 6 ratings

Mellow body. Tastes of light vanilla caramel and fruit.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

....but not a great one either. Light in color, you can tell it is young in age. Decent flavor on the nose of citrus, good up front sweet vanilla and,light oak, but it dies off and doesnt have a great finish.

Can be a neat pour or over the rocks, but would make a great cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Maxime from France with 11 ratings

Vraiment pas terrible... Pas trop de gout et plat...

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This one isn't just slapped with the "Anejo" label. It actually holds up. The presence of oak puts that argument to rest. I liked the taste of tobacco leaf and molasses. If a very good Anjeo and worth trying.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 22 ratings

Rum of pleasant with a delucious flavor, l enjoyed drinking and at a reasonable. I recommend every opportunity.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United States with 8 ratings

Not the full flavor mouth of the other Diplomatico offerings but nice enough nose and very minimal initial alcohol bite. Got a bottle for $14.99 because at that price I just had to try the Diplomatico base offering. Probably not too many $15 Rums out there as good. Gave it the 7 because there are many well rated rums here with more initial alcohol bite than this has. Doesn't have an outstanding, lasting mouth after that but that in itself has value to me.