Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.1/10 (195 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
11
31
59
88

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


195 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7380e70a3b2c33c98bf859ffcb92389f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

ein Klasse Rum aber mit doppeltem Preis im Verhältniss zum Vintage 2000 zu teuer und eher etwas schwächer .Bei weitem nicht so süss wie der Reserva Exclusiva ,angenehm rund und voll,schöner Abgang.
Aber wie gesagt ich würde den Vintage 2000 ganz klar vorziehen

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Diplomático Ambassador Selection comes in a high class bottle and a high class package. Very classy (picture).

This rum have to rest in the glass so all of the nice aromas will come out. You smell sweetness, fruit and chocolate. This rum is 47% proof but you don´t sense that in the smell or in the taste.

The taste is mild with sweetness, vanilla and a hint of spice and sherry. You don´t sense any alcohol. It´s very well balanced and smooth.

The aftertaste is long with sweetness and spice. This might be the perfect sipper for special occasions :)

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I rate new rums by blind tasting them with other rums that I've already scored, to rate the new rum and validate my existing scores at the same time. However, when I tried this one next to others, there was absolutely no question which rum was the Ambassador as it tasted like no other rum I've ever tried. Anise, caramel, almonds, oak, cacao, molasses, and a bit of sherry, vanilla, and tobacco.

The abv is high at 47%, but rums this great always taste better stronger! If you're ok with a good hint of anise, you'll probably love this as much as I did. This is truly an amazing rum. I want more with fine a cigar - WOW!

70b90ce20c5468932b6c00840194effc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

The thing that suprise me the most, is that the rum is on 47% without being too strong. Of course it gives it a strong power, but it's wrapped in soft sweetness, and could not be better balanced. PLEASE TRY IT!!!!!

Nose : I find dark chocolate, sherry, power and small hints of vanilla.

Taste : I find dark chocolate, roasted nuts, sherry, orange, molasses and a great power. The rum is so thick and delicious, that it lubricates your mouth while you drink it, delicious!!
The aftertaste is deep, strong and with the perfect little sweetness, that ends up with molasses.

Du you self a favour and try this rum if you like sweet rums, but with a strong power that kicks you in the mouth on the same time!!

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 233 ratings

Was not expecting the quality of this rum. The reserva exclusiva is pure sugar water and the single vintage line is decent, but this is something else. That said, the diplomatico lineage is still obvious. The nose is thick, with full, soft, oaky notes, a bit of chocolate, flambed banana and heavy caramel. The first sip surprises a bit. It's fat and oily with a deep, yet soft and subtle caramel and chocolate character. Notes of prunes and banana also peaks out. The deep caramel note is countered by full, complex, oaky notes, but it's not particularly dry. The strength of the rum builds up the notes and makes the taste full and interessting, but still pleasant at the same time.There's a very long, big bodied aftertaste, and you feel a nice heat building up in your mouth and chest. If you feel like parting with a substantial pile of cash and like sweet rum, consider throwing it at this. it's good but considering the pricetag and slightly masking sweetness, this rum can't compete in this price bracket.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

When I bought this bottle , I decided never to open it and after the show: Rum Days at Waremme in Belgium , I could finally taste it. And I think now that we must not only open but also share it! It is an elixir , a real masterpiece. With notes of honey , sugar, dry fruits. Long and extra sweet taste. Excellent work sir Tito Cordero

Last update.
Found big sister, it's time to open little one !

F2cc9172cf27227e0c576ecbde386c8c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Well, I am disappointed :(
I was expexcting a Roller Coster with this one judging by the ratings, bottle and price.
Well nothing special about this one. I feel I have been tricked...
So yes, it is a good Rum, but I find it quite bitter, and the alcohol is all over the place, in the nose and in the mouth, covering everything else.
Even in the long aftertaste.
It has a nice thick consistancy, but not much aromatic developement. First and last bottle for me...

C77992b39d97d1d2673298bb728d439a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Jannick from Denmark with 7 ratings

This is an awesome rum, really dark and rich in colour.
Nose: is just filled with chocolate and burnt nuts a little bit of orange,coconut and banana.

Taste: is so smooth and and almost like velvet with a strong power 47% but the power is very well balanced and notes i almost the same as in the nose, but with raisins.
Aftertaste: looong and sweet with a little bit of oak.

696ce6ff2f0f66e0e3d7e73b83669e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Tried it at Rum Fest UK and it was so good I invested in a bottle! This is quite simply Liquid gold!!

3d47552e1a3e6da6f980f4fc9d8295d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

My wife brought a bottle back from Miami for my birthday last year. This rum blew me away. I am a big fan of the other Diplomatico offerings, but this one rates my top rum to date. I love the bottle with the very heavy cork. The rum just tastes perfect!

Ff061c497245f19910ea0718e4ffa331.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

What an explosion of tastes, complexity, sweetness, delicate, very balanced..first time I tasted a rum that really gave me a WOW feeling! My favourite rum so far. The budget speaks for its self..