Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.1/10 (200 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
60
90

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


200 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

One of the top 5 rum’s I’ve ever had! Probably #2 overall

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

My favorite rum that’s extremely smooth, flavorful, and aromatic. Packaging matches the quality of the contents and enhances the overall experience. The only reason I didn’t bump this to a 10 was that it can be a little strong initially. Save up for this one, well worth the purchase.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Really nice rich nose, candied walnuts and a port like finish. Taste is so complex, oaky that changes from from to back that really grows in power. Slightly fruity. Finish is nice and long with a little kick. There is a tart tang that holds it back from being a 10 for me, and maybe just a little too strong for me to enjoy multiple glasses - probably a little too much aging for my taste. But still a top complex rum that aficionados will certainly appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael LaRocca from United States with 10 ratings

This is an absolutely amazing rum, and was my favorite for years. Only today did I "downgrade" it to my second-favorite rum after trying El Dorado's 1988 Vintage 25-Year rum. They are very close though!

My scoring system (with weights) is as follows:
-Packaging (10%): 9
-Color (20%): 10
-Nose (20%): 10
-Palette (25%): 9
-Smoothness (25%): 9.5

-Total Weighted Score: 9.53 (rounded up to 10 for rumratings.com)

The nose of this rum is truly spectacular, and to me has strong notes of caramel and cinnamon. The color is also perfect, and before the rum even touches your palette your senses are already awake and eager. Then when you taste it, you will be hooked forever. What an amazing rum!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It is not for beginner drinkers, because the high ABV can mess with your perception, because it can be very astringent. Otherwise the flavor is very big on sherry, very much more than the Single Vintage editions which can be more fruity and whisky-like, or Reserva Exclusiva, which is more mainstream experience with vanilla tones.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 25 ratings

A step up from the normal (and already pretty good diplomatico) with the corresponding price increase too!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

Treated myself to a bottle for a special occasion. It does live up to the hype. It’s strong, as others have noted, but without any bite. One of a handful of rums best sipped without even an ice cube. Very dry, not a hint of added sweetness. Carmel, butterscotch and toffee are what I taste. Fruit is what I smell. The finish is like a sherry. No negatives, except the price. I think I’d rather spend on 4 or 5 bottles of Kirk & Sweeney 23 year old (which is as smooth - but significantly sweeter). But money aside, this is a great rum for special occasions. I should have broken out a Monte Cristo Habana. They would pair welll together.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from Master of Malt for £17 and was definitely worth it this expression from Diplomatico is something else. It's says it's 47% abv but theres no indication of that from the nose there's a wonderful butterscotch and caramel aroma. In the mouth there's a powerful punchy hit there's fruit in there, it immediately softens out to an amazing smoothness with a beautiful aftertaste of dried fruits

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mats Lunde from Norway with 3 ratings

Dette er noe av det beste jeg har smakt
Fin farge og veldig mye smak i hver dråpe,
Dette er en premium rom, veldig eksklusiv flaske, eske/boks
Bare korken må veie minst 2-300 gram
Solid 10er fra meg

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Virkelig lækker Rom.
Blød og afrundet med tilpas sødne, bestemt ikke sprittet.
Godt nok i den dyre ende men det hele værd.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Emanuel von Wartburg from Switzerland with 9 ratings

Der Ambassador duftet leicht nach Schokolade, ist sanft, fast cremig im Mund und hat ein abgerundetes Aroma. Einzig im Rachen brennt er mir zu lange. Der Diplomatico Single Vintage 2000 schmeckt mir deshalb besser.