Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10 (206 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
65
91

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Wonderful, as you’d expect. One of 5 sampled at a rumfest seminar. Not sure it’s 4 x better than the exclusiva, but it is even better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by dimitrip from United States with 1 rating

Fell in love with this classic, smooth tasting rum. Hard to find but well worth the effort and money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Obel from Denmark with 3 ratings

This rom is full of taste. A grown up rom for the best of guests

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Emanuel from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Tento rum je skutečně velejemný. Už vůně je jemná, bez výrazaných tónů s jemnými tóny nasládlé vanilky, lehká vůně tropických květin. Po upití je první dojem naprosté hladkosti, po které se na jazyku rozleje řeka jemných komplexních chutí (vanilka, lehké ovocně dřevité tóny s jemnými kořenitými tóny), z nichž žádná nevyčnívá, což může být pro někoho fádní. Ten nástup řeky chutí je ovšem opravdu vyjímečný! Je nutné také ocenit chuťovou komplexnost a hladkost a především velmi dlouhý dozvuk chutí. Ještě dlouho po upití jsou plná ústa barev. Vzhledem k ceně rozhodně nečekejte šestkrát lepší zážitek, než u některých jiných výborných rumů. Stojí za to ochutnat, stejně jako svézt se v mercedesu vyšší třídy. Krásná prezentace - láhev a krabice ve dřevě - kus nábytku:)

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

I've been partial to the Exclusiva Reserve for many years, seeking out this and the single vintage for comparison and to see if it could get any better. For the price paid to the quality, I'm still an advocate for DER, feeling the massive price jump doesn't equate to a massive quality jump. It is definitely smooth, silky on the tongue with tamed caramel and sugar cane notes. There's an empty on my dead soldier shelf and a full, untouched in my prize cabinet. Will share with friends when the moment calls, but stick with DER for the best value for premium rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

This rum is nothing less of amazing, but I don't think it's twice as good as the Single Vintage, which is half price of the Ambassador.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Again based on sample I acquired but the experience of this “expression” is all to nice nicy. The aromas are quit light as initially couldn’t make much out of it which is surprising as this is coming at 47% abv. Mostly getting burned sugar, some butterscotch and a hint of varnish. No alcohol fumes whatsoever. Taste is sweet and can’t pick up any real rum notes apart from some sherry notes coming from the Px casks. Finish is long and sweet but again pretty one dimensional.

The single vintage range, even though that has added sugar, is much more interesting which is less than half the price of this.

Most of what you pay for a full size bottle must be in the gorgeous presentation as the contents certainly doesn’t reflect this.

For the lovers of “smooth” sweet “rum” that got too much money to burn.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

My favorite rum that’s extremely smooth, flavorful, and aromatic. Packaging matches the quality of the contents and enhances the overall experience. The only reason I didn’t bump this to a 10 was that it can be a little strong initially. Save up for this one, well worth the purchase.

Small 0

Posted 2 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 106 ratings

Really nice rich nose, candied walnuts and a port like finish. Taste is so complex, oaky that changes from from to back that really grows in power. Slightly fruity. Finish is nice and long with a little kick. There is a tart tang that holds it back from being a 10 for me, and maybe just a little too strong for me to enjoy multiple glasses - probably a little too much aging for my taste. But still a top complex rum that aficionados will certainly appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Michael LaRocca from United States with 10 ratings

This is an absolutely amazing rum, and was my favorite for years. Only today did I "downgrade" it to my second-favorite rum after trying El Dorado's 1988 Vintage 25-Year rum. They are very close though!

My scoring system (with weights) is as follows:
-Packaging (10%): 9
-Color (20%): 10
-Nose (20%): 10
-Palette (25%): 9
-Smoothness (25%): 9.5

-Total Weighted Score: 9.53 (rounded up to 10 for rumratings.com)

The nose of this rum is truly spectacular, and to me has strong notes of caramel and cinnamon. The color is also perfect, and before the rum even touches your palette your senses are already awake and eager. Then when you taste it, you will be hooked forever. What an amazing rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It is not for beginner drinkers, because the high ABV can mess with your perception, because it can be very astringent. Otherwise the flavor is very big on sherry, very much more than the Single Vintage editions which can be more fruity and whisky-like, or Reserva Exclusiva, which is more mainstream experience with vanilla tones.