Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10 (206 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
65
91

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Balanced aroma, feeling Port, sultanas, candied fruits, nutmeat. Candied fruits, chocolate... Complexity and Great

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

This is remarkable. There is a harmonious flavor note you have to tease apart to find it’s components. Caramel, Oak, almonds, hint of vanilla, cacao. Sherry like feel. Will try to find this for my collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Exceptionally sweet and smooth, even despite being this strong.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

man riecht gleich das es ein diplomatico ist! im vergleich zum diplomatico reserva kräftiger, stärker, weniger süss.
ein muss für jeder rumliebhaber!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 121 ratings

Rigtig fin rom, startede min romrejse med den almindelig Diplomatico og har prøvet et par stykker siden. Denne er en af de bedre

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jonas from Sweden with 2 ratings

Nice bottle, excellent smell, nice aged taste at first with a firm body, and an exceptionally complex and delightful after taste. 10/10.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I bought a bottle of this on holiday in Curacao from a lovely young lady in a rather unassuming shack in the cruise terminal. It cost me the equivalent of £165, so a littl cheaper than I could get it at home in the UK. She gave me a few free samples of different rums before I made my decision to get this one ... It was early afternoon, so I was a little worried that I had made a rash choice due to intoxication, but no. Not a bit of it.
The policy of the cruise company we were holidaying with is to confiscate alcohol bought whilst ashore and hand it back prior to disembarkation at the end of the cruise, so I was fully expecting to have to wait to taste it. However, they either couldn't be bothered with the paperwork, or they didn't spot it on the scanner due to the unbelievably heavy wooden box it comes in. I kid you not, this thing is heavy! The stopper alone probably weighs a kilogram.
Anyhoo ... I sampled this the first time with a good book and cigar on the deck one afternoon when we were out at sea.
The first thing I noticed was the strength. It is a little hot on the tongue, but that is to be expected, given its high ABV content. I decided to let it mellow for a few minutes, but the book was good and I ended up leaving it slightly too long in the Caribbean heat, because quite a lot of the alcohol evaporated off and it rather bizarrely went a little cloudy. 10 minutes at room temperature is all that's required to let it breathe and ease the burn a little.
On the nose, there is xmas cake, freshly sawn oak, glace cherries, vanilla and treacle.
In the mouth (once you get used to the burn) it is noticeaby less sweet than Reserva Exclusiva (one of my favourites) and slightly drier. There is still quite a lot of oak, but it is perfectly balanced against the demerara and caramel notes. All of the aromas you get from the nose, you get in the mouth, but some of them you have to search for.
This stuff is eminently sippable and dangerously easy to drink a lot of. I polished-off the bottle in about 10 days (I was on holiday! Don't judge me.)
I was very keen to try this, because of my fondness for it's younger brother, Reserva Exclusiva, but really they are not much alike at all. The Ambassador Selection is well-rounded, balanced, stronger and grown-up, where the Exclusiva is sweet and fun, if a little immature.
I really hope that Venezuela settles down quickly, because I am looking forward to getting my hands on another bottle of this really soon!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

One of the top 5 rum’s I’ve ever had! Probably #2 overall

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by denis_leonov@icloud.com from Ukraine with 6 ratings

Аромат закрытый,яркие ноты тоффи и сырая кожа,сухая доска и сухофрукты,шоколад и сырое тесто с ванилью(22)
Жирный,плотный,шоколад и фрукты,дерево(22,5)
Финиш фруктовый,чуть лака и пряности,кожа,карамель,ваниль,изюм,кислые ягоды,мягкое дерево и капля ментола (22,5)
Баланс(22)
Крутой ром(89)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 23 ratings

Tasted at the 2018 Chicago Rum Festival. I've been wanting to try this for some time and it did not disappoint. Great depth of flavor and pleasingly sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lalin from Peru with 2 ratings

Wish to have and taste it some of these days, no doubt iy is my new target. Lets go for it!!!