Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10 (205 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
65
90

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


205 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Exceptionally sweet and smooth, even despite being this strong.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kiwipirate from New Zealand with 13 ratings

I picked up a bottle of this about a year ago from a favourite whisky site to take as a curio to a "Burn" (Think Burning Man if you don't know what I mean).

I had a very dear friend of mine look after it whom has an exceptional knowledge of whisky's, rums and generally rare or unusual drinks and he has a brilliant wee collections of things he lets me try when I visit New Zealand. He had a wee sip of this while over skype and described it as being very nice but tasting like a firecracker, with a gunpowder/sparkler metallic taste about it. He joked that it seemed like maybe it was the kind of rum that would be consumed by a Venezuelan Army general, with a little bit of an AK-47 bullet powered poured in and a fine Cuban cigar and I was to later find this joking prediction was actually spot on.

When I tasted it myself, it was a nice smooth rum but at 350 dollars NZ I couldn't help but feel like I had been tricked by a "branded" item. While at the festival, a few other guys and I were enjoying some other very nice single malts and rums I took with me and a stranger who I had given a few glasses of this and that said that he had a bunch of cigars with him that his recently deceased Grandfather had left him.

He broke the cigars out and lo and behold, the rum flavour completely changed and it was fantastic! I have never had something completely complement something as well as that rum pared with the random cuban this guy had handed me. In retrospect, had I not had this encounter, I likely would have occasionally sipped from it thinking it was a bit of an oddball rum, until it was all gone and never considered ever trying it again but with a good cigar, God damn was it good!

I don't encourage smoking but if you are willing to kill yourself ten minutes faster and prepared to shell out the money, for this experience this is worth a try. Would rate it at least 9 on that basis.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by BingChen from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 19 ratings

This one, unlike most of the diplomatico rums, isn’t cloying sweet. It packs a lot of flavors for both the nose, mid palette and finish. It is excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Stuartt Corder from Chile with 6 ratings

So, I am a Diplomatico fan, in general. My colleagues (central american, mostly) are fans of various others, and I have had Flor de Cana 18, Havana club maestros, etc. And prior to this one one my favorite rum that I had actually tried was Diplomatico 2004 single vintage. I had had Zacapa XO and some other "100 dollar plus bottles" but that was the best. I live in Chile and with the pandemic, the importation slowed....so I was forced (FORCED) to buy the 250 dollar a bottle ambassador. And wow was it worth it. This doesn't taste like alcohol, it tastes like heaven. the bourbon barrel aging is obvious with SLIGHT sour notes that just offset the deep caramel and vanilla. There is some raw oak as well, and a bit of spice on the nose. It somehow manages to be everything and not too much at the same time. dark and deep. If you have a chance for a glass, don't pass it up, even for just a taste at 20 bucks or so. Lovely.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Radeji bych si 1000 Kc priplatil a vybral jsi Zacapu Royal. Neni to spatny rum, ale za tu cenu nestoji. 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 106 ratings

First sip is very mild, and then it begin to stick in the back of the tongue followed by a silky smooth feeling in the mouth. Fine nose and taste. Good Rum from Diplomatico!

Small alien 200 200

Posted 3 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

The Ambassador is very well rounded with a nice balance between the sweet fruityness that characterizes the Reserva Exclusiva and other Diplomaticos, but not as "in your face", mixed with some nice oak and a very full body that lingers for a long time. It's both super smooth and complex. This is simply a superb rum, but it's scarily expensive...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I have an empty bottle and box in my garage. It was tasty and didn’t last very long. It fell right into my wheelhouse of oak and caramel flavours. It wasn’t harsh just expensive.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

The flagship of the company that concentrate all the best features : sweet, complexe, brown sugar, vanilla , bourbon touch, long afertaste, ... A must-drink or event better, a must-have !

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It’s a High quality Rum but... for 200€ you can buy better or more rear rum

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by maxi_vor95 from Germany with 5 ratings

Aroma: Spicy, vanilla, caramel, dried fruit, some peat

Body: Spicy, vanilla, caramel, dark chocolate, coffee, hints of peat and fruitiness

Finish: Spicy, coffee, hints of dried fruit and dark chocolate

Conclusion: One of the best rums I've ever tried. It's so complex, with alot of flavors you won't find in most of the rums out there. Let it rest in the glass for atleast 20 minutes before taking a sip. It's mind-blowing.