Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.1/10 (199 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
60
89

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


199 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

One of the top 5 rum’s I’ve ever had! Probably #2 overall

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i expected more of this Special expensive Rum. the single vintage is fuller of taste than this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jay G from Canada with 5 ratings

Got this one for my father. Needless to say, he liked it like none other.
Keep it for special occasion tho, the price point is a bit on the very high side.

All I can say about the flavor is that it won't dissapoint. It's in the top 10 for a reason.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Jorge Granadillo from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 5 ratings

This is one of the best rum I've had to date, and I've tried a lot of good ones. It has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Would pair well with a fine cigar. Simply an amazing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This is for sure an awesome rum. Really great complexity - not as sweet as the other Ambassador rums. But it does come at a hefty price, where you can find even better alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Had the chance of tasting this product at an event and it was really amazing!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

This is very pricey but it is one of the best rums i have ever had.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Stuartt Corder from Chile with 6 ratings

So, I am a Diplomatico fan, in general. My colleagues (central american, mostly) are fans of various others, and I have had Flor de Cana 18, Havana club maestros, etc. And prior to this one one my favorite rum that I had actually tried was Diplomatico 2004 single vintage. I had had Zacapa XO and some other "100 dollar plus bottles" but that was the best. I live in Chile and with the pandemic, the importation slowed....so I was forced (FORCED) to buy the 250 dollar a bottle ambassador. And wow was it worth it. This doesn't taste like alcohol, it tastes like heaven. the bourbon barrel aging is obvious with SLIGHT sour notes that just offset the deep caramel and vanilla. There is some raw oak as well, and a bit of spice on the nose. It somehow manages to be everything and not too much at the same time. dark and deep. If you have a chance for a glass, don't pass it up, even for just a taste at 20 bucks or so. Lovely.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Radeji bych si 1000 Kc priplatil a vybral jsi Zacapu Royal. Neni to spatny rum, ale za tu cenu nestoji. 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 72 ratings

First sip is very mild, and then it begin to stick in the back of the tongue followed by a silky smooth feeling in the mouth. Fine nose and taste. Good Rum from Diplomatico!

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by Richard from Sweden with 67 ratings

The Ambassador is very well rounded with a nice balance between the sweet fruityness that characterizes the Reserva Exclusiva and other Diplomaticos, but not as "in your face", mixed with some nice oak and a very full body that lingers for a long time. It's both super smooth and complex. This is simply a superb rum, but it's scarily expensive...