Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10 (205 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
65
90

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


205 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 424 ratings

Well, I expected more from this rum...it's so strong for me. You have to leave it much time in the glass. I lost my patience with it.

Nose: Fruity and thick nose with almond, hazelnut and cocoa. Toffee apples, fruits and hints of cooked banana, juicy sherry and mince pies, alongside deep notes of cinnamon and potpourri.

Palate: Rich and fruity with a buttery biscuit base, cinnamon, dried apricots, dates and Nutella. The predominant flavour, however, is of really good sweet pipe tobacco. Stunning.

Finish: Long and fruity with sweet, thick honey and allspice.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

My wife bought this rum from Manitoba for our 30th anniversary but New Year's Eve is the time for this $411 bottle. The presentation is top notch and the colour of the rum begs you to open it. The first nose is quite strong but opens up after 15 mins in the glass. Dark chocolate, caramel and vanilla are strong and balanced with a long perfect finish. I will still vote for the 2000 S.V. for my favourite, for almost a third the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Koubič from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Neskutečný zážitek ochutnat tento rum. Jen cena je už dle mě hodně vysoká. Při této ceně pořídím 2 možná 3 lahve stejného chuťového zážitku. Každopádně jeden z nej co jsem kdy zkusil

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 78 ratings

Taste 9+/10. This is really good with touch like cognac-wine aging, taste also butter, sherry, little sweetness and a touch dry but with depth & balance-sophisticated-very smooth with little warm heat from alcohol with long aftertaste. Extreamly overpriced i think Single Vintage 2002-2004 is equal but with some different darker taste and also half price... It is about same style with El Dorado 21 & Zacapa Roayal.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Přímé srovnání Single Vintage 2002 s Diplomáticem Ambassador Selection. Ambassador Selection hravě zvítězil, rozdíl v kvalitě byl markantní. Přesněji řečeno jsem pil rumy Botucal. To, že se rumy Diplomático prodávají na německém trhu pod názvem Botucal, je důsledek trochu absurdního soudního sporu s obchodním řetězcem ALDI, který vlastní ochrannou známku Diplomat, pod kterou prodává levné brandy za nějakých 6 € za lahev. Prostor pro záměnu s rumem, navíc při velkém rozdílu v cenách, moc nevidím a vzhledem k popularitě Diplomática ve světě by se mohl na slávě podobně pojmenovaného produktu přiživit spíš Diplomat samotný. Nicméně od března 2012 v důsledku soudních tahanic oficiální distributor pro Německo ustoupil a rumy jsou na tamním trhu pojmenovány Botucal.
Alkohol: 47 %
Původ: Venezuela
Aroma: Hutná, bohatá vůně, pikantní a větrová. Kůže, cedrové dřevo, skořice. Aroma je v přímém srovnání se Single Vintage 2002 zajímavější, sladší a kořenitější. (90 b)
Chuť: Velejemný a přitom bohatý na jazyku. Neskutečně uhlazený, působí opravdu vyzrále. Sladkost je decentní. Příjemně dřevitý a hlavně kořenitý.V dochuti je znát dozrávání v sudech po sherry Pedro Ximénez. Táhlý, kořenitě medový dozvuk. (94 b)
Body: 92/100
Shrnutí: Výborný rum. Charakterem mi připomíná Rum Nation Panama 21 yo. Ovšem cena je zde mnohem vyšší, než u Nation Panamy.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jay G from Canada with 5 ratings

Got this one for my father. Needless to say, he liked it like none other.
Keep it for special occasion tho, the price point is a bit on the very high side.

All I can say about the flavor is that it won't dissapoint. It's in the top 10 for a reason.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jorge Granadillo from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 5 ratings

This is one of the best rum I've had to date, and I've tried a lot of good ones. It has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Would pair well with a fine cigar. Simply an amazing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This is for sure an awesome rum. Really great complexity - not as sweet as the other Ambassador rums. But it does come at a hefty price, where you can find even better alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Had the chance of tasting this product at an event and it was really amazing!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

This is very pricey but it is one of the best rums i have ever had.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 26 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 204 ratings

After enjoying the single vintage I thought this would be a top 10. Sadly for me I found it too heavily aged in the PX barrels. I usually like PX second aged rums like Dos Maderos 5&5, but this might have been aged a bit too long.i immediately reminded me of Ron Navazos, aged for 24 years and way to long in Oloroso casks, just overpowering not even rum anymore. Lots of better rums in the $50-$150 range for me $250 was too much unless you love aged sherry. Look at my top 10 list for better options, and if you get a chance for a tot try it but don’t buy the cow.