Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10
217 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
36
69
94

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

217 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

What an explosion of tastes, complexity, sweetness, delicate, very balanced..first time I tasted a rum that really gave me a WOW feeling! My favourite rum so far. The budget speaks for its self..

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by NickTheGreek from Australia with 18 ratings

Tried this 2 times over the last couple of months.
Once in a rum tasting with 17 other classy rums.
And last week just with the 2000 Single Vintage as a comparison.

At the first tasting, consensus was that the 2010 Single Vintage was better. After tasting it again, I can confirm that the 2010 Single Vintage is definitely better than the Ambassador.

That's not to take anything away from this rum though. It's absolute quality.

But because I can buy 2-3 of the 2000 Single vintage for the same price as an Ambassador, I'd be buying the 2000 Single Vintage every time....No questions asked.

Drink straight up, or with a little ice if you want to reduce the heat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

I love the presentation; the box, the bottle, even the heavy cork head.
I smell figs, raisins, prunes and hints of tobacco.
The entry is a bit acrid and reminds me a bit of a dry wine.
Not horrible but i like a sweeter rum.
The finish stays very dry; I'm wondering if a small ice cube wood help it out.
All in all not bad, but with a hefty price tag I would just stick with the Reserva Exclusiva; unless your a rum collector or aficionados.
I hope to try the vintage series one day.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

A really great rum. You can taste it is in the same family as Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. But most better.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

Toujours dans son écrin de bois et de satin, mais promis je le débouche bientôt ;-)

Enfin dégusté, en présence de José Ballesteros himself ! et bien il mérite la note maximum. Moins réduit que le reste de la gamme, il est puissant, épicé, malgré tout il garde la signature Diplomatico avec la vanille et le caramel très présent. On reste sur le sucré et les Français amateurs d'agricole resteront sur leur faim.... Seulement 5000 bouteilles produites par an. Sa qualité (et son packaging) font de lui un vrai premium.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jesper Sørensen from Denmark with 11 ratings

meget fyldig, knap så sød som forventet. Super lang og kompleks eftersmag. Mærker ikke de 47 % som sprit, mere som dybde og intensitet i smagen. Super oplevelse.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Not great at this price. Nice packaging and great bottle but I'd rather save my money and by the vintage 2000 or Reserva.
This is a dry rum with sherry hints, it is smooth but one dimensional. Add an ice cube and it mellows.
I prefer sweeter rums, ill buy two of the vintages at this price and the Star Anise taste becomes annoying when you pay this kind of money.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by taz.c from France with 85 ratings

Très cher, trop peut être...
j'ai mis du temps a l'avoir, mais je le voulais, et il vaut le coup.
fruits secs, épices et vanille avec une pointe de fumé par dessus.
Très complexe, la finale est longue et chaleureuse, c'est une invitation pour réitérer l'expérience...
je l'adore et vais le boire lentement... pour l'amortir...

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Stephan from Canada with 15 ratings

I had high expectations considering the reviews and hefty price of that rum. Indeed it is a great rum but it did not 'wow' me enough to get a 10. I tasted it after the Vizcaya and thought the latter was smoother but Diplomatico Ambassador has a more complex taste. I guess I need to give it a second try.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

this is a absolutely amazing rum its like miracle in a bottle but the for the price-tag i would find others

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by laurent from France with 14 ratings

il a tout d'un grand: aspect, odeur, goût et longueur frôle la perfection