Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Ambassador Selection rum

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico Ambassador Selection is a limited edition rum crafted from 100% still pot rums and aged for a minimum of 12 years. Like its counterparts, the rum originates from Venezuela and is aged in ex-bourbon casks. The rum has a high strength and does not contain any sweeteners, caramel or other additives which means it does not require chill filtration.

9.0/10 (206 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
32
65
91

Rate Diplomatico Ambassador Selection

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 Diplomatico Ambassador Selection ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Wonderful, as you’d expect. One of 5 sampled at a rumfest seminar. Not sure it’s 4 x better than the exclusiva, but it is even better.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

What an explosion of tastes, complexity, sweetness, delicate, very balanced..first time I tasted a rum that really gave me a WOW feeling! My favourite rum so far. The budget speaks for its self..

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Enjoyed a back-to-back-to-back tasting between Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, Single Vintage 2002 and Ambassador. All truly world class rums. Ambassador wins the nicest bottle design and it comes in a very sturdy wood box. Ambassador has a spectacular notes to nose and palate including toffee, light oak and red fruits. Smooth sailing in the taste area.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 16
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 8
15/100 Ultimate value for money 5
Total score 75

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Been waiting for this moment for some time. I am a fan of sweet rums, and Venezuela has a few of the best. I have the reserva and some of the single vintages among which the 2000 which is superb, but now that I got the Ambassador, I am in heaven. Strong but smooth, thick and sweet, but then again not too sweet, great to roll around on the tongue and incredibly full aftertaste. Absolute perfection, in a absolutely perfect presentation... which is what you have the right to expect at that price!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Tested together with single vintage and it is difference, more body and longer aftertaste with more complexity. High priced but worth the money, To enjoy at special occasions.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

The best rum i ever tastet. Compared to the price Single Vintage is a better buy but this taste perfect! A fresher firsttouch and more pronounced aftertaste than Single Vintage

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

Fancy and good, easy to drink, but at this pricetag I can find better. Way better. In the diplo series I Would pick their s.v 2000 over this anytime and its half price.

Small 20201127 182808

Posted 7 days ago by dsurtai1 from United States with 42 ratings

I’ve had many high end rums. But this one is a dream I didn’t know that could be true. Well balanced, lots of complexity, this is what rum should taste like.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 20 ratings

What a wonderful rum. Dark Amber colour, and very smooth.

Nicely oaked and have hints of it in the nose. Does not have added sweetness. But I am surprised it does leave a trace of alcohol burn. Not much though as it is 94 proof or 47%

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Locodelcocoromano78 from France with 2 ratings

I had to buy a bottle for my evenings after long hours at work with kids. I thought about a nice rum to remind me the time I was living in the Caribbean. I was delighted with the box and the elegant bottle. The nose is quite strong at first and attacked me a bit certainly cause of the 47percents of alcohol. Itis spicy with a strong vanilla smell. At the first try you can feel a very nice creamy effect with notes of caramel, dry fruits like with a cake. Also some vanilla. Then I felt some nice coffee and dark chocolate notes. Finally if you stop drinking for a bit and leave the flavors developping in your mouth, you really have a nice and warm feeling. You definitely want to have some more. It is complex, sweet and strong at the same time. Nice piece of work for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 46 ratings

A truly master piece, very rich and bold, its dark color tells you how much flavor is in it, hazelnuts and chocolate hints without being too fruity.