Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Perpetual rum

Dictador XO Perpetual

Colombia | Aged

Perpetuating family traditions. A dry, very deeply elegant rum. The favourite rum of Hernan Parra, Dictador Master Blender. Aged in premium quality, ex-bourbon and ex-sherry. Aging time 25-35 years.

8.3/10 (75 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
21
35
5

Rate Dictador XO Perpetual

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


75 Dictador XO Perpetual ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Time for Perpetual : Same beautiful dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel and chocolate are present. This one is drier with a more robust body. The finish is also long. Dictador made two different rum with one dry , and the insolent more softer. This one should be better for rum connoisseur. To be also into your collection.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Way back in May of this year I wrote my thoughts on the Dictador XO Insolent rum giving it a well-deserved 9. I made that bottle last until now so I FINALLY broke out my bottle (poor choice of words) of Dictador XO Perpetual. And I ask myself, "What took you so long?!?"

If you read my review of the Insolent you are going to find me repeating myself in several areas. With that said...or written...let me get started.

I got this along with the Insolent at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL.

As with the Insolent rum the Perpetual also is a deep and rich mahogany color with excellent legs and a fantastic aroma in my snifter. I swear I detect the hint of cinnamon and vanilla.

As with the Insolent rum the Perpetual is also not a sugared rum. However there is an initial sweetness to it that quickly changes to a tannin-driven slight dryness. A very perplexing but delightful balance.

I also detect toffee, coffee, and vanilla with a hint of cinnamon so apparently my olfactory system seems to be working.

I do like this rum. A lot.

I do notice similarities between my impressions of this rum as compared to the Dictador XO Insolent rum.

Which means I will need to do a side-by-side tasting to try to figure out, in my own weird way, what are the differences between the two rums.

Oh, if I only had another bottle of the Insolent rum.

WAITAMINNIT!!!

I do!

I had a nice long weekend in St. Augustine before Hurricane Matthew about a month ago and stayed at the Edgewater Inn (wonderful motel at the end of the Lion Bridge -- sadly they received a lot of damage and are currently closed until repairs can be made -- I do plan on going back) and my wife and I drove up to Jacksonville to replenish some rums I found I really, really like but cannot get locally. Of course I got another bottle of the Dictador XO Perpetual and Insolent rums.

So I will soon be having a little side-by-side comparison with my thoughts appending both reviews.

Stay tuned, campers!

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Ceva deosebit.. Exclusivist și rafinat. Un rom super premium dacă se poate numi așa. Am rămas plăcut impresionat. Merită 10 fără nicio îndoială dar mai există și INSOLENT-ul care chiar este 10.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 41 ratings

When I opened the bottle of Dictador XO Perpetual, I notices a sweet aroma. Maybe some honey, toffee, or molasses. It reminded me of the smell of captain crunch cereal from when I was younger, which worried me. I let it breathe for about 5 minutes and took my first sip. I was surprised. Not super sweet, not burning alcohol, and not a lot of flavors going on. I definitely hit notes of caramel, chocolate, and coffee. Definitely not overpowering in any way and not as sweet as I expected (which is a good thing) I don't mind paying the $85-ish USD for this rum. I would definitely purchase again. A smooth drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by kudzey from Poland with 11 ratings

Had a glass of this rum in Piernikova restaurant, Toruń, Poland. I had high expectations since I liked the 12 and 20 from Dictador.
Nice shape of the bottle typical do Dictador family but I prefer matte style of the 12 and 20 rather then glittery shine of xo. The bottle didn't make it clear whether it is a solera rum or not.
Nice copper colour and high oliness. Aroma dominated by typical Dictador scents, i.e. cocoa (or chocolate), coffee, vanilla, honey and carmel. First sip revaled spices with mild vanilla and pronounced coffee and cocoa tastes. Overall it was a gentle experience with long- lasting cocoa finish. The rum was dry and well balanced, which I liked, but nothing stunning compared to the 20.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by kodex from Poland with 7 ratings

Top kind of rum for me - sweet but not too sweet - intense taste but not too intense, alcohol hidden - but warming from first sip.
A great Rum to pair with cigar

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Typical taste of a Dictador with a lot of spices. This is the best Dictador rum from the standard range. The taste is warm, oily and with some very light sweetness (I like that).
It's a very balanced rum, with cocoa flavors. The taste is not that creamy, it's still very mild and spicy.

Update June 2020: got a new bottle, I don't know what's wrong with it. The nose is great, but the taste is not similar to my old expressions. The taste is not warm and oily, maybe I got a wird batch of the blend or the blend have changed in general. If I would rate it again without my old expression it would be an 8. The complexity and the intensity in the taste is not sufficient. The initial taste is weak and almost watery.

Smell: cocoa, pepper, vanilla, oil, white fruits (melon)
Taste: creamy/mild, spice, oil, vanilla, sunflower seeds, white pepper mixed with a light cocoa aroma, white oak

Sweetness: 1/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Intensity: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (61€): 3/5

Age: Solera, blend of 21 to 32 old barrels
Casks: Bourbon, port wine and sherry
Country: Cartagena de Indias (Columbia)
Material: sugar cane honey

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Great. Not good but great. Another true sipping rum. Review: When the bottle is opened a hypnotic aroma, with intricate roasted honey, Colombian coffee, royal toffee, dark chocolate, mature oak and parfait roundness. The mouth feel is extremely smooth, with fudge and flavors of toffee. The finish is long, complex with light oak flavor.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Both shine in their genre. Insolent a touch of maple, Perpetual drier with dried fruit/vanilla. If you go back and forth you can decide which way you lean. My senses are still fighting over sweet vs dry ratio in my tastings. I seem to enjoy and appreciate both, so I will continue to own both.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Absolutelly a good choice. A very different rum, it's a masterpiece.