Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Perpetual rum

Rate Dictador XO Perpetual

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


68 Dictador XO Perpetual ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Time for Perpetual : Same beautiful dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel and chocolate are present. This one is drier with a more robust body. The finish is also long. Dictador made two different rum with one dry , and the insolent more softer. This one should be better for rum connoisseur. To be also into your collection.

34b2952841d2cc3da388326806e91a40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 209 ratings

Ceva deosebit.. Exclusivist și rafinat. Un rom super premium dacă se poate numi așa. Am rămas plăcut impresionat. Merită 10 fără nicio îndoială dar mai există și INSOLENT-ul care chiar este 10.

484dacb82bafadeaa3d7f5ce4bebc1d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 26 days ago by kodex from Poland with 5 ratings

Top kind of rum for me - sweet but not too sweet - intense taste but not too intense, alcohol hidden - but warming from first sip.
A great Rum to pair with cigar

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 153 ratings

Typical taste of a Dictador with a lot of spices. This is the best Dictador rum from the standard range.
The taste is warm, oily and with some very light sweetness (I like that).
It's a very balanced rum, with a nice coconut smell (marshmallow smell like Dictador Insolent), but the taste is not that creamy, it's very mild and spicy.

Smell: spices, vanilla, oil, marshmallow (coconut), white fruits (melon)
Taste: creamy/mild, spice, oil, vanilla, sunflower seeds, white pepper mixed with a light coconut aroma, white oak

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Mildness: 4.5/5

Age: Solera, blend of 21 to 32 old barrels
Casks: Bourbon, port wine and sherry
Country: Cartagena de Indias (Columbia)
Material: sugar cane honey

263c980652ee097ee64c3dd1d3d0258c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Both shine in their genre. Insolent a touch of maple, Perpetual drier with dried fruit/vanilla. If you go back and forth you can decide which way you lean. My senses are still fighting over sweet vs dry ratio in my tastings. I seem to enjoy and appreciate both, so I will continue to own both.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Way back in May of this year I wrote my thoughts on the Dictador XO Insolent rum giving it a well-deserved 9. I made that bottle last until now so I FINALLY broke out my bottle (poor choice of words) of Dictador XO Perpetual. And I ask myself, "What took you so long?!?"

If you read my review of the Insolent you are going to find me repeating myself in several areas. With that said...or written...let me get started.

I got this along with the Insolent at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL.

As with the Insolent rum the Perpetual also is a deep and rich mahogany color with excellent legs and a fantastic aroma in my snifter. I swear I detect the hint of cinnamon and vanilla.

As with the Insolent rum the Perpetual is also not a sugared rum. However there is an initial sweetness to it that quickly changes to a tannin-driven slight dryness. A very perplexing but delightful balance.

I also detect toffee, coffee, and vanilla with a hint of cinnamon so apparently my olfactory system seems to be working.

I do like this rum. A lot.

I do notice similarities between my impressions of this rum as compared to the Dictador XO Insolent rum.

Which means I will need to do a side-by-side tasting to try to figure out, in my own weird way, what are the differences between the two rums.

Oh, if I only had another bottle of the Insolent rum.

WAITAMINNIT!!!

I do!

I had a nice long weekend in St. Augustine before Hurricane Matthew about a month ago and stayed at the Edgewater Inn (wonderful motel at the end of the Lion Bridge -- sadly they received a lot of damage and are currently closed until repairs can be made -- I do plan on going back) and my wife and I drove up to Jacksonville to replenish some rums I found I really, really like but cannot get locally. Of course I got another bottle of the Dictador XO Perpetual and Insolent rums.

So I will soon be having a little side-by-side comparison with my thoughts appending both reviews.

Stay tuned, campers!

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

Absolutelly a good choice. A very different rum, it's a masterpiece.

172584c0ecda44293d9d4972e0f54930.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 15 ratings

Dictador XO Perpetual

Notation Personnel : 8/10 .

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Insolent.
Aroma: Ve vůni se nám vrací ke kávě a oproti Insolentu nám mizí lékořice. Koňakové tóny, hřebíček, hutná kůže, čokoláda. Přijde mi podobný D 20. V druhé vlně se vynoří hřejivost koření, hutnost je ještě o kousek dál a je tu i větrovost.(89 b)
Chuť: V chuti mi přijde o kousek zajímavější, než D 20 i Insolent. Je o něco plnější, kořenitější. Hřebíček, rumové pralinky. Bez sladkosti, jinak klasicky pro tuto značku koňak a čokoláda.(87 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Značka se drží svého stylu, jede si to své a dělají to dobře.

C7aebf863c37ebbda055c4540209351e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

The rum is excellent. it has a strong smell that continues into the body of Vina walnut. Perpetual is very smooth, with a silky finish that lasts and gives away aromas of vanilla and nut. My wife says she can feel also coffee and dark chocolate hints.