Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Perpetual rum

Dictador XO Perpetual

Colombia | Aged

Perpetuating family traditions. A dry, very deeply elegant rum. The favourite rum of Hernan Parra, Dictador Master Blender. Aged in premium quality, ex-bourbon and ex-sherry. Aging time 25-35 years.

8.3/10
87 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
24
40
8

Rate Dictador XO Perpetual

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

87 Dictador XO Perpetual ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Edwg1967 from Canada with 12 ratings

This rum is so nice to sit back and enjoy. So smooth and full of flavour. A definite must have

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 100 ratings

Very nice aroma with vanila, orange, chocholate, medium alcohol, sugar with long aftertaste. For me very good balanced clasic rum,

Small 20210319 183208

Posted 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 103 ratings

The Dictador XO Perpetual is a Solera Blend from Colombia. It was stored in various barrel types (Ex Bourbon, Sherry and Port Wine) for up to 20 years. The rum is based on sugar cane juice and is not sugared. With 40% drinking strength, it comes into the bottle. The design is certainly a matter of taste. Similar to all Dictador bottlings under 100€, I don't find it particularly nice.

In the nose it is immediately clear in which direction the rum goes. Coffee and mocha notes combine with dark chocolate, oak, vanilla and caramel. A heavy sweet scent that invites you to explore for a long time. On the palate, the rum is quite sweet with chocolate, toffee, mocha and coffee notes. But it's also spicy. The finish is a little too short for me and the aromas pass relatively quickly. The 40% made the rum a bit watery.

The rum is an Easy Sipper, if you like the described flavors. It is easy to drink and the alcohol is barely perceptible. I would like to drink the rum with 2-5% more alcohol. A super sweet rum without sugar. Personally, the Insolent and also the 20 taste a little better to me. Would not by this one for 70-80Euros.

Der Dictador XO Perpetual ist ein Solera Blend aus Kolumbien. Er wurde in verschiedenen Fasstypen (Ex Bourbon, Sherry und Portwein) bis zu 20 Jahre gelagert. Der Rum basiert auf Zuckerrohrsaft und ist nicht gezuckert. Mit 40% Trinkstärke kommt er in die Flasche. Das Design ist dabei sicherlich Geschmackssache. Ähnlich wie bei allen Dictador Abfüllungen unter 100€ finde ich es nicht besonders schön.

In der Nase ist sofort klar in welche Richtung der Rum geht. Deutliche Kaffee und Mokka Noten verbinden sich mit dunkler Schokolade, Eiche, Vanille und Karamel. Ein schwerer süffiger Duft der zum langen Erforschen einläd. Am Gaumen ist der Rum erstmal durchaus süß mit Schokolade, Toffe, Mokka und Kaffee Noten. Es ist aber auch würze dabei. Der Abgang ist mir etwas zu kurz und die Aromen vergehen relativ schnell. Auch die 40% lassen den Rum doch etwas wässrig zurück.

Der Rum ist ein Easy Sipper, wenn man die beschriebenen Geschmacksnoten mag. Er lässt sich leicht trinken und der Alkohol ist kaum wahrnehmbar. Ich würde den Rum gerne mit 2-5% mehr Alkohol trinken. Ein super Süßrum ohne Zucker. Mir persönlich schmeckt der Insolent und auch der 20er etwas besser. Für 70-80 Euro würde ich persönlich nicht dafür ausgeben.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jipla from Belgium with 64 ratings

Bought this one after having the 10y, 12y and 20y, this is my top 3 in my collection. Simply delicious

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by OctavianCatusanu from Romania with 5 ratings

I loved this one as well, but I can't give it the 10 that I gave to the XO Insolent. This rum didn't hit me as sweet as the other one, but I would definitely not skip it. You should have this one in your cabinet at all times, for the people that prefer something a little bit drier than its brother. Loved it.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Georg from United States with 4 ratings

So tasty! Beautiful sweetness on the nose, when I drink it I can feel my body relaxing. I definitely will try it with my cigars.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by MoveThatGeaRUp from Germany with 16 ratings

Now this is very similar to its brother Insolent: Smooth, oak, coffee/roasted smell. BUT the caramel flavor, which adds sweetness to Insolent, is completely missing here, making this rum a more rough than sweet experience.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Max from France with 5 ratings

XO Perpetual- my top choice of Dictador Rums from Colombia, great job on working the Bourbon and sherry casks. Very elegant rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Limike from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

Prémiový rum, pěkná láhev i balení. Vůně kávy dominuje , v pozadí med,vanilka. Chuť zase hlavně káva, trochu karamel,
v dochuti příjemné dřevo. Spíše suchý rum, alkohol je tu dobře skrytý, mohu jen doporučit.

Small 49897d37 4ace 499e a67a 91d354ebedeb

Posted 6 months ago by Trotinete from Romania with 44 ratings

Geruch nach Kaffee, Tabak, Kakao, Wallnuss
Farbe dunkler Bernstein
Geschmacklich exakt wie der Geruch mit ein wenig Alkohol und im Abgang nachklingend. Ganz nach meinem Geschmack, ausgewogen, harmonisch...

Fazit: ein sehr sehr guter Rum, absolut nach meinem Geschmack, mehr auf der trockenen Seite, hätte auch eine 9 verdient, wäre da nicht der 20-years .....

Da ich beide vor mir habe und gleichzeitig zum Perpetual auch den 20-years zum verkosten hinzugezogen habe, muss ich feststellen das der Unterschied im Geschmack für mich nicht so groß ist, (ja, der Perpetual ist das intensivere, bessere Erlebnis), wie der preisliche Unterschied der um ein Vielfaches höher ist als der Geschmackliche.

Doch sollte ich einen Perpetual im Sonderangebot ergattern werde ich ihm sicher den Vorzug geben und ihn wieder kaufen, denn es ist ein sehr sehr guter Rum, bis dahin bleibt es aber, im Moment, beim 20-Years der ein sehr gutes Preis/ Leistungsverhältnis besitzt und auch sehr gut schmeckt !

Small plantation

Posted 10 months ago by Montal from Romania with 20 ratings

Expensive ,but worth buying !
A very smooth tasting rum with subtle aromas. Dark in colour with subtle tastes of coffee and honey.