Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Perpetual rum

Dictador XO Perpetual

Colombia | Aged

Perpetuating family traditions. A dry, very deeply elegant rum. The favourite rum of Hernan Parra, Dictador Master Blender. Aged in premium quality, ex-bourbon and ex-sherry. Aging time 25-35 years.

8.3/10 (69 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
8
19
31
6

Rate Dictador XO Perpetual

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


69 Dictador XO Perpetual ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Mineral nose with walnut and light caramel aromas. Very similar in the mouth which makes out for a great original sipper. Notes of coffee, walnut, slightly burnt caramel and even some dry fruits on the finish. Maybe not worth the price compared to whats availble on the market but an interesting sip.

1fd31f5a2e60a1497e842351eec3d90f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by LuxAlpha from Luxembourg with 7 ratings

Very nice rum. Like the complexity here, gets me out of my comfort zone.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I have held off for more than a year in buying this expensive rum ($96 US) because most of the reviews favored their XO Insolent to this one. I agree and I won't add any more to what has already been said. The best buy from Dictador is their 20 year solera and I keep several bottles of that one on hand because it is so hard to find where I live. This one is even harder to find.

A few days later, I compared it side by side with my Dictador 12. This one is much darker and much better in taste. Then I compared this one to my Dictador 20. Same colors, but very subtle differences in taste. Overall, I would say that this one is not worth the 50% markup over the Dictador 20. It is still a very good rum, but not worth the high price. Stick with Dictador 20 for best value!

3ab9e556749d4ad16692c374f1b28f04.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

A nice dark amber colour and a strong caramel, vanilla and spice aroma sets the expectation for a taste delight. Once sat for a minute or two it does not disssapoint. It's not overly sweet and delivers a smooth oak start, those caramel, vanilla and spice flavours in the middle and ends dry with a slightly molasses aftertaste. A very nice rum indeed.

69fb36e55457d26566e311f68dee0c5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 174 ratings

docela pro mne zklamaní.
čekal jsem daleko lepší.
oříšky ve vůni, chuť vanilka ořechy, káva...
no za ty peníze...

0ce5fec075a11895b90e223dc1e01858.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Dictador has better ones! I had a quite high expectations having tried the insolent one. Perpetual is flatter, but it's still pretty good rum, very mellow. The smell is better than its taste.

5f8159f179b5d1a4dd878775ce1e89e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Title says it all very oaky very dry
Not so sweet smooth rum
Not a bottle I’ll be buying but if you are looking for a dry rum this Dictador XO perpetual will be for you
Really can’t go wrong with any of the Dictador rums
No added sugar in any of their rums

A8d5e4e32df036f4c2e665e042fedffc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by dxtr from Sweden with 2 ratings

This is simply a fantastic and smooth rum.

In my opinion the Insolent is marginally better but if anyone asked me which one they should buy I'd tell them to buy both.

16d2ff0d99742fd3be4423676e492b25.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Trochu více kořeněný a hlavně hodně ořechový. Měl jsem možnost ochutnat a musím říct, že něco podobného jsem zatím ještě nepil. Nicméně lahodný, sic těžší rum.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Toasted spices, herbs with molasses mix, nose warming and well mellow nature on letting the quite lovely aroma to whiff thru effortlessly. Catch the warm brownie, sticky sponge cake with maple syrup. A fine breakfast rum that breath well in the glass with broader spices, herb, chocolate and muskiness developed. (86/20)

P- Good indeed, sour fruit with right dose of caramel sweetness for suffices mouthfeel, well sphere with mellow spices with candle wax at the tail. Rounded. (87/21)

F- Medium-long, relatively low on strength at basic 40% but finely warm. Drift of pencil shavings along mannered oak present at this stage, with depth and body to justified as a premium releases. (88/22)

B/B- 88/22, Still a solera, so probably some youngster in the vat, but well crafted.

Weighted Rate- 85pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It doesn't have the maple of the Insolent, but still delicious.