Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.6/10 (118 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
5
33
53
20

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

I bought a bottle after seeing it rated so highly by online reviews. Thought it had a taste I couldn't put my finger on. Re-read some reviews and agree it is like a butterscotch/toffee. Smooth though, no burn aftertaste.

I have less expensive rums which I think taste much better. Paid $100 US for the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had this rum as well as the Dictador Perpetual on my wish list ever since I got a bottle of their 20-year rum at Dorignac's in New Orleans. I found this bottle (and a Perpetual) at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL. I am so glad I got it.

Let's get started...

First off, the color of the rum is a gorgeous mahogany..deep and rich.

Excellent legs and a most wonderful aroma in my snifter.

Then the flavor...

Out-freakin'-standing!!!

Honesty, no rum in my history of sampling tastes quite like this. I've seen the testing results and this is not a sugared rum but on the outset there is a wonderful subtle sweetness along with the closest-to-perfect vanilla/toffee flavor I have ever tasted. Further sippings give me a little cinnamon/sugar buttery toast flavor. This comes as close to a 10 as I will consider.

Burn? Not even a major warmth. This rum envelopes you in a cozy blanket in the throat. No burn. The finish is a tad dry with the vanilla/toffee flavor even more predominate but not overwhelming.

Whomever is the rum-master behind this specific rum deserves major kudos. I would love to shake his or her hand. AWESOME!!!

Mixing rum? Perish the thought!!!

This is a sipping rum through and through. Nothing else.

Next time I'm in Jacksonville, I am getting at least one more bottle to have on-hand.

If you come across a bottle of this, get it. It's worth every penny of the $100 USD. This is one of the best rums I have ever tasted.

I think I have found my new favorite rum.

Okay...for those of you asking why I didn't give it a 10, let me explain once again...

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Starting by Insolent : Beautiful and deep dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present. Also agree with butterscotch aroma. Sweet and long finish. A very good one and should be on your collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I had this side by side with the Dictador Perpetual, and to me, this was much better. This has a sweeter, more rum-like flavor to it.

Honey, toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a hint of anise. Beautiful smell! This is definitely my favorite of the Dictadors!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

After trying a bottle of 20 year solera from Dictador I thought I would give this a go. Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible. A must try.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Perpetual.
Aroma: Lékořice! Opět hřejivý dojem, jako u Dictador 20, ale tady se nám přidává pendreková sladkost, náznak koňaku je tu stejně jako u Dictador 12. Nějaká ta čokoláda, cappucino. (90 b)
Chuť: V chuti už sladkost nezaznamenávám, nebo jen opravdu nepatrnou a Dictador se tak drží svého suchého stylu. Velmi jemný, delikátní na jazyku, ale D 20 byl olejnatější. Řekl bych, že chuťově je i podobný dvacetileté verzi. Lékořice je i v chuti, ale v menší míře. (86 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Hodně zajímavý rum, jen škoda, že ( z mého pohledu) chuť nedosahuje kvality vůně. Příznivci stylu Dictador si i tak přijdou na své.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Coffee and anise dominate. The anise is usually a dealbreaker for me, but in this case, it's ok. I know what the testing says, but this is cloyingly sweet. Seems like it was made in a lab instead of a barrel.

edited to add sugar test results- 4g

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is smooth so smooth that you do not get any afterburn. Writing this the flavour jusy goes on and on and stays forever. Its not as sweet as Zacapa XO but this is something you can share with mates no ice needed. You will notice the coffee taste but trust me it is not overpowering. This is well balanced, complex medium body rum. You will not be disappointed with this in your collection

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 6 ratings

The smell, my god, the smell.. Vanilla and spices. It demands you to take a sip. Complexity of taste all around. The coffee taste combines with gentle sweetness without being too much. It still has a nice kick as experienced in the subtle afterburn. Every sip you take is a party and a litlle surprise to your tastebuds. Cheers to one of the finest rums around!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 36 ratings

Powerful but complex aromas, on the nose. Smooth sipping rum that is frankly, amazing. It has good burn that’s offset by the smoothness of the flavors and the aftertaste lingers warmly and pleasantly.

The most prominent flavor is butterscotch. It’s got caramel notes and it took me a bit to place the flavor of butterscotch since I wasn’t expecting it, but it’s super tasty.

Less sweet than Diplomatico Ambassador but with more pronounced flavors. This is my new favorite, although, it doesn’t diminish the other rums in my collection.