Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


112 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had this rum as well as the Dictador Perpetual on my wish list ever since I got a bottle of their 20-year rum at Dorignac's in New Orleans. I found this bottle (and a Perpetual) at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL. I am so glad I got it.

Let's get started...

First off, the color of the rum is a gorgeous mahogany..deep and rich.

Excellent legs and a most wonderful aroma in my snifter.

Then the flavor...

Out-freakin'-standing!!!

Honesty, no rum in my history of sampling tastes quite like this. I've seen the testing results and this is not a sugared rum but on the outset there is a wonderful subtle sweetness along with the closest-to-perfect vanilla/toffee flavor I have ever tasted. Further sippings give me a little cinnamon/sugar buttery toast flavor. This comes as close to a 10 as I will consider.

Burn? Not even a major warmth. This rum envelopes you in a cozy blanket in the throat. No burn. The finish is a tad dry with the vanilla/toffee flavor even more predominate but not overwhelming.

Whomever is the rum-master behind this specific rum deserves major kudos. I would love to shake his or her hand. AWESOME!!!

Mixing rum? Perish the thought!!!

This is a sipping rum through and through. Nothing else.

Next time I'm in Jacksonville, I am getting at least one more bottle to have on-hand.

If you come across a bottle of this, get it. It's worth every penny of the $100 USD. This is one of the best rums I have ever tasted.

I think I have found my new favorite rum.

Okay...for those of you asking why I didn't give it a 10, let me explain once again...

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Starting by Insolent : Beautiful and deep dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present. Also agree with butterscotch aroma. Sweet and long finish. A very good one and should be on your collection.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I had this side by side with the Dictador Perpetual, and to me, this was much better. This has a sweeter, more rum-like flavor to it.

Honey, toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a hint of anise. Beautiful smell! This is definitely my favorite of the Dictadors!

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

After trying a bottle of 20 year solera from Dictador I thought I would give this a go. Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible. A must try.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Perpetual.
Aroma: Lékořice! Opět hřejivý dojem, jako u Dictador 20, ale tady se nám přidává pendreková sladkost, náznak koňaku je tu stejně jako u Dictador 12. Nějaká ta čokoláda, cappucino. (90 b)
Chuť: V chuti už sladkost nezaznamenávám, nebo jen opravdu nepatrnou a Dictador se tak drží svého suchého stylu. Velmi jemný, delikátní na jazyku, ale D 20 byl olejnatější. Řekl bych, že chuťově je i podobný dvacetileté verzi. Lékořice je i v chuti, ale v menší míře. (86 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Hodně zajímavý rum, jen škoda, že ( z mého pohledu) chuť nedosahuje kvality vůně. Příznivci stylu Dictador si i tak přijdou na své.

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Coffee and anise dominate. The anise is usually a dealbreaker for me, but in this case, it's ok. I know what the testing says, but this is cloyingly sweet.

edited to add sugar test results- 4g

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is smooth so smooth that you do not get any afterburn. Writing this the flavour jusy goes on and on and stays forever. Its not as sweet as Zacapa XO but this is something you can share with mates no ice needed. You will notice the coffee taste but trust me it is not overpowering. This is well balanced, complex medium body rum. You will not be disappointed with this in your collection

Posted 6 months ago by Silvano from Italy with 1 rating

Fantastico Rum Colombiano!! Morbido al palato ed all'olfatto. Sentore di liquerizia molto persistente. Una gioia berlo

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Dictador XO Insolent smells delicious with sweet toffee, mocha and vanilla. You also sense some oak, spice and raisins. Let the rum rest in the glass for a while and the great aromas gets even better.
 
In the mouth you get flavours of oak, spice and wonderful sweet flavours like vanilla, nuts and toffee. You also can find flavours of coffee and orange.
 
In the throat this rum is like velvet, so smooth. The flavours of oak, spice, vanilla and toffee is still there and you also sense them in the long and smooth aftertaste.
 
A high class sipper that I recommend to drink neat. I was happily surprised when I tasted this rum. There are a lot off different opinions of this rum so I was a bit unsure before I tasted it. But now I am certain that the Dictado XO Insolent will be one of my favourites for a long long time.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

GREAT rum, smooth from start to finish. Nice smooth Port finish. Definitely a rum to keep on hand.. Stand by to hand over your kidney cause this guy will set you back a firm $100.00. Definitely one of the best rums in my cabinet.. complex as it gets..

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

What a Rum ! Balanced balanced balanced. Sweet sweet sweet !
Would compare with any superior XO...

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

I bought a bottle after seeing it rated so highly by online reviews. Thought it had a taste I couldn't put my finger on. Re-read some reviews and agree it is like a butterscotch/toffee. Smooth though, no burn aftertaste.

I have less expensive rums which I think taste much better. Paid $100 US for the bottle.

Posted about 15 hours ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This one is not reasonable rum but I'm very satisfied.
After all, high end of official rum is great.
The flavor of coffee, maple, vanilla, and caramel cream blend together.
This is not expansive !

Posted about 1 month ago by OctavianCatusanu from Romania with 1 rating

It is a bit sweet, with hints of vanilla, smooth like honey and a very, very mild burn, almost unnoticeable. I enjoyed this with a Cohiba cigar on my balcony during the 2020 quarantine. I've never experienced such a great rum. Truly a 10!

Posted 2 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

Thats a wonderfull rum. so much flavor without sugar. the price is a bit high but if you can afford it is a must recommendation.

Posted 3 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Bursting with caramel, banana and vanilla. Smooth and beautiful on the palate.

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

ve vůni i v chutí káva a sherry, jemnější, vyladěnější než Dictador 20

Posted 3 months ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

En otroligt god rom, där sherryfat rundar av och kompletterar de många smakerna.

Posted 3 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

As I said in my review of dictador 12, I like coffee. Concetrated coffee, italian kind of ristretto, especially after a good meal, on a late evening. This 12-year version tastes caramel, dark chocolate and coffee, which is my profile. So, if you're like me, do not hesitate ! The Insolent version is much more expensive and is more powerful, clearer in the flavors.So, I appreciated it. This is however not a rum for any rum drinker. Not a jamaican style, not a real spanish, not an agricole type either. It is very original. Is this worth the difference of price ??? Up to you but I tried the 20-year version and it is a good compromise !!

Posted 3 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 37 ratings

Was für ein Rum. Tiefgründig, schwer, Vanille, Kaffee, Holz.
Geile dunkle Farbe, aber nicht zu dunkel als das es künstlich wirken würde.

Macht Lust auf mehr. Quasi kein Zucker beigemischt.
Dennoch extrem mild und weich. Toller langer Nachgeschmack, kein Nachbrennen im Gaumen.

Etwas teuer, aber immer noch im vernünftigen Rahmen. Habe die Flasche für 63€ bekommen.

Posted 3 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

It is strongest version fo Dictador 20. Same good choice/Nuts and oak taste. Thats why columbian Style of rum is one of my favourite for winter in north EU :D

Taste and aroma is good. Worth to try.

Posted 3 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Der Dictador XO Insolent war einer der mildesten und weichsten Rums die ich je probiert habe.

Meine Verkostungsnotiz dazu war: Liebstöckel,Holz,sehr trocken und sehr mild

Liebstöckel ist zwar nicht der Geschmack den ich außerhalb von Suppen bevorzuge, aber trotzdem
ist dies ein absoluter Premium Rum!

Zuckerzusatz laut Internetrecherche 4g pro Liter, was bei dieser geringen Menge durchaus natürlichen Ursprungs sein kann.

Posted 3 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated 10-15 GPL. This is a top shelf rum! Complex, sweet, and smooth. Nice amber colour in the glass and so aromatic. Reminds me of the Diplomatico Ambassador rum, but a lot lower priced. The smell and taste remind me of the burnt sugar on the top of a creme brule. Add in some coffee, vanilla, chocolate and butterscotch and you have a desert in a glass. No harsh afterburn, just a nice long warming of your palete. Overall this is a superb rum.