Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


114 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Fd564ee0ad6af9479252a1ab4b6c7078.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Serge from Belgium with 15 ratings

Prachtige kleur, zoete zwoele geur van karamel en zoete mandarijn.
Toch ook wel alcohol die op de voorgrond treed.
jammer ook weer in de hogere prijsklasse.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had this rum as well as the Dictador Perpetual on my wish list ever since I got a bottle of their 20-year rum at Dorignac's in New Orleans. I found this bottle (and a Perpetual) at Total Wine and More in Jacksonville, FL. I am so glad I got it.

Let's get started...

First off, the color of the rum is a gorgeous mahogany..deep and rich.

Excellent legs and a most wonderful aroma in my snifter.

Then the flavor...

Out-freakin'-standing!!!

Honesty, no rum in my history of sampling tastes quite like this. I've seen the testing results and this is not a sugared rum but on the outset there is a wonderful subtle sweetness along with the closest-to-perfect vanilla/toffee flavor I have ever tasted. Further sippings give me a little cinnamon/sugar buttery toast flavor. This comes as close to a 10 as I will consider.

Burn? Not even a major warmth. This rum envelopes you in a cozy blanket in the throat. No burn. The finish is a tad dry with the vanilla/toffee flavor even more predominate but not overwhelming.

Whomever is the rum-master behind this specific rum deserves major kudos. I would love to shake his or her hand. AWESOME!!!

Mixing rum? Perish the thought!!!

This is a sipping rum through and through. Nothing else.

Next time I'm in Jacksonville, I am getting at least one more bottle to have on-hand.

If you come across a bottle of this, get it. It's worth every penny of the $100 USD. This is one of the best rums I have ever tasted.

I think I have found my new favorite rum.

Okay...for those of you asking why I didn't give it a 10, let me explain once again...

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."

And this rum embodies what Coach Lombardi meant.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Back to solera rum for these both Dictador rum from Columbia. Starting by Insolent : Beautiful and deep dark color. The coffee, vanilla, honey, caramel are present. Also agree with butterscotch aroma. Sweet and long finish. A very good one and should be on your collection.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

I had this side by side with the Dictador Perpetual, and to me, this was much better. This has a sweeter, more rum-like flavor to it.

Honey, toffee, caramel, vanilla, and a hint of anise. Beautiful smell! This is definitely my favorite of the Dictadors!

F8733ee2ae9902e6dba818f5eade911e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

After trying a bottle of 20 year solera from Dictador I thought I would give this a go. Unlike the 20 year old, this one has a subtle aroma. It is sweet but the flavor and smoothness is absolutely incredible. A must try.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Ochutnán ve srovnávacím testu s D 12, D 20 a XO Perpetual.
Aroma: Lékořice! Opět hřejivý dojem, jako u Dictador 20, ale tady se nám přidává pendreková sladkost, náznak koňaku je tu stejně jako u Dictador 12. Nějaká ta čokoláda, cappucino. (90 b)
Chuť: V chuti už sladkost nezaznamenávám, nebo jen opravdu nepatrnou a Dictador se tak drží svého suchého stylu. Velmi jemný, delikátní na jazyku, ale D 20 byl olejnatější. Řekl bych, že chuťově je i podobný dvacetileté verzi. Lékořice je i v chuti, ale v menší míře. (86 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Hodně zajímavý rum, jen škoda, že ( z mého pohledu) chuť nedosahuje kvality vůně. Příznivci stylu Dictador si i tak přijdou na své.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Coffee and anise dominate. The anise is usually a dealbreaker for me, but in this case, it's ok. I know what the testing says, but this is cloyingly sweet.

edited to add sugar test results- 4g

1171222b231b71a5ca4ce5ecee9e76dc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is smooth so smooth that you do not get any afterburn. Writing this the flavour jusy goes on and on and stays forever. Its not as sweet as Zacapa XO but this is something you can share with mates no ice needed. You will notice the coffee taste but trust me it is not overpowering. This is well balanced, complex medium body rum. You will not be disappointed with this in your collection

1bf316536b8d1b31db1f4e8bfe68f0bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Silvano from Italy with 1 rating

Fantastico Rum Colombiano!! Morbido al palato ed all'olfatto. Sentore di liquerizia molto persistente. Una gioia berlo

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Dictador XO Insolent smells delicious with sweet toffee, mocha and vanilla. You also sense some oak, spice and raisins. Let the rum rest in the glass for a while and the great aromas gets even better.
 
In the mouth you get flavours of oak, spice and wonderful sweet flavours like vanilla, nuts and toffee. You also can find flavours of coffee and orange.
 
In the throat this rum is like velvet, so smooth. The flavours of oak, spice, vanilla and toffee is still there and you also sense them in the long and smooth aftertaste.
 
A high class sipper that I recommend to drink neat. I was happily surprised when I tasted this rum. There are a lot off different opinions of this rum so I was a bit unsure before I tasted it. But now I am certain that the Dictado XO Insolent will be one of my favourites for a long long time.