Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.5/10 (122 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
5
34
54
21

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


122 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This is a smooth and drinkable run. Not as sweet as Zacapa or Zaya. Complex flavors including butterscotch, toffee, banana as well as some nuts and berries. My biggest issue is that i can find 10 rums that are much better for half the price

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Was für ein Rum. Tiefgründig, schwer, Vanille, Kaffee, Holz.
Geile dunkle Farbe, aber nicht zu dunkel als das es künstlich wirken würde.

Macht Lust auf mehr. Quasi kein Zucker beigemischt.
Dennoch extrem mild und weich. Toller langer Nachgeschmack, kein Nachbrennen im Gaumen.

Etwas teuer, aber immer noch im vernünftigen Rahmen. Habe die Flasche für 63€ bekommen.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

It is strongest version fo Dictador 20. Same good choice/Nuts and oak taste. Thats why columbian Style of rum is one of my favourite for winter in north EU :D

Taste and aroma is good. Worth to try.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Der Dictador XO Insolent war einer der mildesten und weichsten Rums die ich je probiert habe.

Meine Verkostungsnotiz dazu war: Liebstöckel,Holz,sehr trocken und sehr mild

Liebstöckel ist zwar nicht der Geschmack den ich außerhalb von Suppen bevorzuge, aber trotzdem
ist dies ein absoluter Premium Rum!

Zuckerzusatz laut Internetrecherche 4g pro Liter, was bei dieser geringen Menge durchaus natürlichen Ursprungs sein kann.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 198 ratings

Sugar: Estimated 10-15 GPL. This is a top shelf rum! Complex, sweet, and smooth. Nice amber colour in the glass and so aromatic. Reminds me of the Diplomatico Ambassador rum, but a lot lower priced. The smell and taste remind me of the burnt sugar on the top of a creme brule. Add in some coffee, vanilla, chocolate and butterscotch and you have a desert in a glass. No harsh afterburn, just a nice long warming of your palete. Overall this is a superb rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Rude Dictator? Smooth as silk! First sip and this earned merit as one of my all time greats! So great that mixing it would be a crime. Perfectly balanced.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

I got a 5cl mini bottle of this, along with Perpetual and out of the 2, i slightly prefer this one. First off, this is one of the nicest smelling rums i have laid my nose on! This is odd for me to say, but the smell is very similar to an aftershave by Carner Barcelona called El Born! Very nice indeed. The taste is very unique too, giving a nice warm honey vibe although i found the finish to be quite short. I feel bad rating this as a 7 because in reality, i would give it a 7.5 but i have my own rating system and would like to stick to it rather than dishing out 8's and 9's when i know there are rums out there that just give me that little extra. Overall, this is a nice rum worth trying, i just seem to favor rums that have that gorgeous finish like with Doorly's 12 & 14, Appleton 12 & joy.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

This dictador differs from the 20 and 12 year old.
It smells of a spicy marshmallow (sweet coconut flavors are just marshmallow for me) and vanilla.
The taste is not sweet and that is the wird thing. It's kind of a surprise. The taste is creamy or oily, with many spices and there is no added sugar.
I don't know how good the current batch is, the last batch of dictador perpentual was not very good in my opinion.

You would definitely recognize this rum again. A very tasty dictador.
Profile: creamy (oily), white oak, many spices

Smell: marshmallow, vanilla, spices, creamy and warm
Taste: little sweetness, again a lot of marshmallow (vanilla, some coconut, sweat cream), a lot of spices, vanilla, very creamy.

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5
Intensity: 3/5
Value (61€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by The_Earl from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Delightful finish, yet mildly overrated(priced). At almost twice the price of a Plantation XO

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

Much better and smoother than his 12y brother. This is really awesome rum with right amount of sweethness. Aroma of coffee and nuts. In mouth continue flavours of coffee, dark chocolate, nuts, vanilla and oak. Absolutely great.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

That is really the one I love. Full body, long after taste, perfect rich aroma...