Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.5/10 (115 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
5
32
51
20

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


115 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 198 ratings

This is my first Colombian rum , what a great start ! Nice presentation box and cool looking bottle.
After uncorking , the first aroma is coffee.. this is a definite leave in the glass for 20mins rum.
Upon tasting i find toffee , coffee , licorice and milk chocolate , absolutely fantastic taste. Then with a teaspoon of filtered water added it changes down a bit to more floral tones plus a lot of honey coming through.. no burn just a wonderful warm mouth feel , not too much aftertaste but still very nice.
How this rum is so sweet without a ton of sugar added is amazing ? I hope its the real deal.. Maybe the re charring of the barrels is the secret ? Great idea anyhow..
Its expensive but truly worth it , could of been my first 10.. and still might be after further tastings.
I will be searching out more Dictador and other Colombian rums. Cheers...

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

ve vůni i v chutí káva a sherry, jemnější, vyladěnější než Dictador 20

F3e024befd09b928c9b080fea2f1e317.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 37 ratings

En otroligt god rom, där sherryfat rundar av och kompletterar de många smakerna.

1b27fe0e50e2c08434b185e44344eca6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 34 ratings

As I said in my review of dictador 12, I like coffee. Concetrated coffee, italian kind of ristretto, especially after a good meal, on a late evening. This 12-year version tastes caramel, dark chocolate and coffee, which is my profile. So, if you're like me, do not hesitate ! The Insolent version is much more expensive and is more powerful, clearer in the flavors.So, I appreciated it. This is however not a rum for any rum drinker. Not a jamaican style, not a real spanish, not an agricole type either. It is very original. Is this worth the difference of price ??? Up to you but I tried the 20-year version and it is a good compromise !!

102f1793e493eee2e667792043577f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Was für ein Rum. Tiefgründig, schwer, Vanille, Kaffee, Holz.
Geile dunkle Farbe, aber nicht zu dunkel als das es künstlich wirken würde.

Macht Lust auf mehr. Quasi kein Zucker beigemischt.
Dennoch extrem mild und weich. Toller langer Nachgeschmack, kein Nachbrennen im Gaumen.

Etwas teuer, aber immer noch im vernünftigen Rahmen. Habe die Flasche für 63€ bekommen.

72b8bf1bd105d48a743ed2c3ab1763df.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

It is strongest version fo Dictador 20. Same good choice/Nuts and oak taste. Thats why columbian Style of rum is one of my favourite for winter in north EU :D

Taste and aroma is good. Worth to try.

Be67dc9f8c4cb52052ef358f01abcf9f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Der Dictador XO Insolent war einer der mildesten und weichsten Rums die ich je probiert habe.

Meine Verkostungsnotiz dazu war: Liebstöckel,Holz,sehr trocken und sehr mild

Liebstöckel ist zwar nicht der Geschmack den ich außerhalb von Suppen bevorzuge, aber trotzdem
ist dies ein absoluter Premium Rum!

Zuckerzusatz laut Internetrecherche 4g pro Liter, was bei dieser geringen Menge durchaus natürlichen Ursprungs sein kann.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: Estimated 10-15 GPL. This is a top shelf rum! Complex, sweet, and smooth. Nice amber colour in the glass and so aromatic. Reminds me of the Diplomatico Ambassador rum, but a lot lower priced. The smell and taste remind me of the burnt sugar on the top of a creme brule. Add in some coffee, vanilla, chocolate and butterscotch and you have a desert in a glass. No harsh afterburn, just a nice long warming of your palete. Overall this is a superb rum.

1f9109b9771787b73b081faa02d00535.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Rude Dictator? Smooth as silk! First sip and this earned merit as one of my all time greats! So great that mixing it would be a crime. Perfectly balanced.

9bd95cd7fd6531856e4abcdd86ca1edd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 48 ratings

I got a 5cl mini bottle of this, along with Perpetual and out of the 2, i slightly prefer this one. First off, this is one of the nicest smelling rums i have laid my nose on! This is odd for me to say, but the smell is very similar to an aftershave by Carner Barcelona called El Born! Very nice indeed. The taste is very unique too, giving a nice warm honey vibe although i found the finish to be quite short. I feel bad rating this as a 7 because in reality, i would give it a 7.5 but i have my own rating system and would like to stick to it rather than dishing out 8's and 9's when i know there are rums out there that just give me that little extra. Overall, this is a nice rum worth trying, i just seem to favor rums that have that gorgeous finish like with Doorly's 12 & 14, Appleton 12 & joy.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 166 ratings

This dictador differs from the 20 and 12 year old.
It smells of a spicy marshmallow (sweet coconut) and vanilla.
An interesting rum, I wouldn't always want to drink it, but it's very unique.
Would definitely recognize it again. A very tasty dictador.

Smell: marshmallow, vanilla, spices, creamy and warm
Taste: little sweetness, again a lot of marshmallow (vanilla, some coconut, sweat cream), a lot of spices, vanilla, very creamy.

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 4/5