Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


113 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 344 ratings

Wenn Du das Glas zur Nase führst, sagen Deine Sinne: Ich will mehr !
Einfach nur fantastisch ! Nicht für Jedermann ! Sehr dominant ! Ein Diktator !
In der Nase Holztöne, Ledernoten, dunkle Schokolade, wie beim 12 Y oder 20 Y, nur intensiver und viel harmonischer.
Wunderschönes dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
Im Gaumen wird es sehr komplex, schwarzer Kaffee mit Gewürzen, Toffee, gebranntes Karamell, auch die Holznoten spielen in diesem Orchester der Geschmäcker mit.
Der Abgang will nie enden, dunkle Schokolade, dunkles Holz, sehr schwer.
Ein sehr spezieller Ron der Zeit und Raum braucht und sich auch nimmt um seine Geschichte zu erzählen.
Super an kalten Wintertagen, im Sommer zu deftig.
G+R F LU17

If you bring the glass to the nose, say your senses: I want more!
Just fantastic! Not for everyone! Very dominant! A dictator!
In the nose wood tones, leather notes, dark chocolate, like the 12 Y or 20 Y, only more intense and much more harmonious.
Wonderful dark mahogany in the glass.
In the palate it becomes very complex, black coffee with spices, toffee, burnt caramel, also the wood notes play in this orchestra of tastes.
The finish will never end, dark chocolate, dark wood, very heavy.
A very special Ron who needs time and space to tell his story.
Great on cold winter days, in the summer too hearty.

Posted over 1 year ago by Christian from Germany with 12 ratings

What a nice caramel taste! Definetly something you should try!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from Master of Malt for around the £8 mark. Decent sipping rum with notes of coffee and intense caramel for a powerful nose. Good rum with loads of character!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pavel Strnad from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Excellent aroma. An unique. Full taste with touch of coffee, almond or chocolate. I am totally surprised with such a good taste.

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

I don't think I am drinking the same stuff as the other reviewers. It is a coffee syrup mixed with rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rhei from Australia with 10 ratings

Gorgeous deep amber colour. The caramel nose is dominant, making me think it would be too sweet. It wasn't. Smooth. Clean. Just sweet enough Caramel, honey and maybe a touch of vanilla. Definitely a sipping rum. Don't waste it as a mixer. Hard to find in Australia. But worth the search.

Posted about 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Not too sweet, rich and smooth.

Very good choice.

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

This is one of my special treats. Rich and smooth. Lots of rich notes to the nose and mouth.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

Early on in my rum search, I made the mistake of buying Don Q Gran Anejo, which inspired my strict self imposed limit of $50 per bottle. So what would it take for me to take the risk up to a much higher cost? Based upon my top 5, the older version of El Dorado 12 seemed like the best choice, but I was not as pleased with their ED15 and was not about to risk the bucks on ED21. My Dictador 12 had slowly worked it's way up into my top 5 and I also found out that it can be considered dry for a minimal amount of added sugar. It obtains it's sweetness from the barrels that were used to age aguardiente. I then began reading reviews on more pricey Dictador rums and chose their XO Insolent.

Since this was a candidate for my rating of a 10, I had to compare it side by side in Glencairn glasses with two others. My only rum that I rated as a 10 had to be one of them and the Dictador 12 had to be the other one. So essentially, I was comparing the overly sweetened (but very well done) Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva to the dry Dictadors at 5 gpl or less added sugar.

Update 06APR18: My XO Insolent has been resting in its darkened bottle for almost 30 days now. Trying it again, it has proven itself to be a leader of the pack! IT REALLY NEEDS TIME TO BREATHE IN THE BOTTLE TO BRING OUT IT"S FLAVORS!!! After letting it rest in it's bottle, I seriously doubt that I could find a better rum with minimal added sugar.

By the way, good rums improve in taste after opening, but most only get worse after opening. This is truly the ultimate test. No one should make a bad judgment on a rum after only the first taste unless it is totally disgusting with no chance for improvement after being allowed to breathe.

Any time that I took the chance in spending more than $55 on a bottle of rum, there was less than a 30% chance that it would wind up with my rating of an 8 or higher. This is quite sad really.

Update August 10, 2019: I now have all three of my favorite rums from Dictador and side by side comparison were made this afternoon. What sets this one apart from the Dictador 20 is it's complex finish. Is this worth an extra $35 US per bottle over the 20 year? That is up to you. The 20 year is almost a totally different rum than the 12 year. And yes, these are solera rums with no true aging!

Update October 13, 2019: My curiosity got the best of me this morning. I used this premium rum with it's coffee notes added to a cup of my normally great coffee. I used 3 TBS of ground Central American Arabica dark roast coffee to 2.5 cups of water. Once brewed, I add 2 tsp of demerara cane sugar and 2 tsp of creamer. One ounce of this rum was added for finish to the tune of about $4 US per ounce. It put my normally great tasting coffee over the top, but not enough to justify the expense. This is a neat sipper only!

Update May 12, 2020: I browsed my favorite clearance liquor store yesterday and found this one going for only $80 US. It was a no brainer to buy it. So why is my top ranked rum overall not selling? Something tells me that it is the very sticky paint that they use on the outside of the bottle. I cannot even remove the stickiness with rubbing alcohol. I am stuck wrapping a paper towel around the neck, which one should never have to do for a rum costing this much. Oh, but what is inside is worth all of the trouble from the outside.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

“ Honey, that’s amazing” my gal said as she handed me back my Norlan glass half filled with this rich and luxurious rum. Strong scents of maple,oak, cinnamon and honey with a nice little heat at the end. My gal knows her shit, give this rum a try!

Posted over 2 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Can't make up my mind about this one. It's a good rum, but I've had better and for the price I don't think I can recommend it. That said, if you're splashing out or buying a gift, it is a decent rum and I enjoyed the taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

This is my first Colombian rum , what a great start ! Nice presentation box and cool looking bottle.
After uncorking , the first aroma is coffee.. this is a definite leave in the glass for 20mins rum.
Upon tasting i find toffee , coffee , licorice and milk chocolate , absolutely fantastic taste. Then with a teaspoon of filtered water added it changes down a bit to more floral tones plus a lot of honey coming through.. no burn just a wonderful warm mouth feel , not too much aftertaste but still very nice.
How this rum is so sweet without a ton of sugar added is amazing ? I hope its the real deal.. Maybe the re charring of the barrels is the secret ? Great idea anyhow..
Its expensive but truly worth it , could of been my first 10.. and still might be after further tastings.
I will be searching out more Dictador and other Colombian rums. Cheers...

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

Love this Rum.... Molasses and butterscotch, sweet and smooth, flavorful from start to finish! Put this on your top shelf and enjoy!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Mere af de gode sager fra dictador. Fortsat mit favorit mærke

Posted over 2 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

Light molasses flavor, well balanced rum.. if you like rum with a bit of burn on the back, try the perpetual. I prefer fruity, molasses rums. Cheers !!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc from Switzerland with 7 ratings

Delicious... smooth with sweet toffee, mocha and vanilla.

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 105 ratings

Part of Rum Calendar 2016: very nice scent of caramel, well balanced, delicate, but a bit thin and a short aftertaste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

This rum is amazing from pop of cork to last sip ,
Amazing aroma , vanilla , cinnamon and caramel what a wonderful experience. I shall savour every glass I pour smooth , smooth , smooooooooth . FREAKING AMAZING RUM !!!10 plus

Posted over 2 years ago by christos from Greece with 1 rating

truly unique is that toward the end they dump the Insolent barrels, re-toast the wood, and then refill them with the previously dumped rum. The final product is one of the finest rums you’ll ever drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

I'm personally very torn between a 9 and a 10 for this one. It's one of the best I've tried in my life. Its color is deep and it's flavors of honey, toffee, caramel, and it's aroma is almost of butterscotch.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Serge from Belgium with 15 ratings

Prachtige kleur, zoete zwoele geur van karamel en zoete mandarijn.
Toch ook wel alcohol die op de voorgrond treed.
jammer ook weer in de hogere prijsklasse.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 1,800 aged rums tasted during the past 15 years and I had very high expectations on the Dictador rum family. The XO Insolent has plenty going on flavorwise, but ultimately it is all coffee and then some more coffee. If you like coffee, you will absolutely go crazy after this rum. It is very smooth and there is no afterburn at all.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Matt from Australia with 17 ratings

I really wanted to like this but I don't like the tobacco and coffee that dominate the flavour profile. It isn't particularly rich,sweet or complex but instead feels quite thin in the mouth. It just doesn't balance well for me. At this price the zacapa xo wins every time. I'm sure it'll taste great drowned in coke though. I just like my rum neat and this doesn't cut it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Timbo from New Zealand with 18 ratings

Dictador XO Insolent rum is delicious I give it an easy 10, enough said

Posted almost 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

Its a very good rum but very similar to D20y that cost the half. I tasted these rums side by side. It is bit more sweet than 20y, but still Coffee, caramel, vanilla. Good choice