Posting your rating...
Dictador XO Insolent rum

Dictador XO Insolent

Colombia | Aged

Our bold move! Your perfect finish for a meal. Extra old. Blended rum between 25-35 years old. Aged in American Oak ex-bourbon and port casks which have been re-changed in some stages of the aging process.

8.5/10 (119 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
5
34
54
19

Rate Dictador XO Insolent

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


119 Dictador XO Insolent ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

This is my first Colombian rum , what a great start ! Nice presentation box and cool looking bottle.
After uncorking , the first aroma is coffee.. this is a definite leave in the glass for 20mins rum.
Upon tasting i find toffee , coffee , licorice and milk chocolate , absolutely fantastic taste. Then with a teaspoon of filtered water added it changes down a bit to more floral tones plus a lot of honey coming through.. no burn just a wonderful warm mouth feel , not too much aftertaste but still very nice.
How this rum is so sweet without a ton of sugar added is amazing ? I hope its the real deal.. Maybe the re charring of the barrels is the secret ? Great idea anyhow..
Its expensive but truly worth it , could of been my first 10.. and still might be after further tastings.
I will be searching out more Dictador and other Colombian rums. Cheers...

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Silvano from Italy with 1 rating

Fantastico Rum Colombiano!! Morbido al palato ed all'olfatto. Sentore di liquerizia molto persistente. Una gioia berlo

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Dictador XO Insolent smells delicious with sweet toffee, mocha and vanilla. You also sense some oak, spice and raisins. Let the rum rest in the glass for a while and the great aromas gets even better.
 
In the mouth you get flavours of oak, spice and wonderful sweet flavours like vanilla, nuts and toffee. You also can find flavours of coffee and orange.
 
In the throat this rum is like velvet, so smooth. The flavours of oak, spice, vanilla and toffee is still there and you also sense them in the long and smooth aftertaste.
 
A high class sipper that I recommend to drink neat. I was happily surprised when I tasted this rum. There are a lot off different opinions of this rum so I was a bit unsure before I tasted it. But now I am certain that the Dictado XO Insolent will be one of my favourites for a long long time.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

GREAT rum, smooth from start to finish. Nice smooth Port finish. Definitely a rum to keep on hand.. Stand by to hand over your kidney cause this guy will set you back a firm $100.00. Definitely one of the best rums in my cabinet.. complex as it gets..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

What a Rum ! Balanced balanced balanced. Sweet sweet sweet !
Would compare with any superior XO...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

I bought a bottle after seeing it rated so highly by online reviews. Thought it had a taste I couldn't put my finger on. Re-read some reviews and agree it is like a butterscotch/toffee. Smooth though, no burn aftertaste.

I have less expensive rums which I think taste much better. Paid $100 US for the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by MoveThatGeaRUp from Germany with 11 ratings

When you smell and taste this old molasses rum, you'll know this is something better than your standard known rum Diplomatico etc. You'll get caramel and a hint of coffee. It is super smooth and although you might think it is a sweet rum, there is not much sugar included.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 45 ratings

Der Dictador XO Insolent ist ein Solera Rum aus Zuckerrohr Honig. Das alter der verwendeten Rums soll zwischen 20-35 Jahre liegen! Wow. Zur Lagerung wurden klassische Eichenfässer aber auch Sherry und Portwein Fässer genutzt. Diese werden ausgebrannt um süße karamellige Noten zu erhalten. Der Insolent wird mit 40% Alkohol abgefüllt. Es werden keine Farb oder Süßstoffe hinzugefügt. Die silberne Flasche ist leider Geschmackssache. Der Karton ist stilvoll und wirkt hochwertig.

In der Nase ist der Insolent mächtig ohne die Contenance zu verlieren. Weich kommen Noten von Karamel, Eiche, Honig, Melasse und auch etwas Rauch. Angenehm und ergiebig umgarnt der Rum die Nase. Am Gaumen zeigt der Rum was er zu bieten hat. Ausgewogen mild und cremig gibt er Noten von Schokolade, Toffee, Milchkaffee und Karamel ab. Honig und Eichennoten tanzen und werden von leichten Rauchnoten eingefangen. Butterweich gibt der Alkohol seine Wärme ab ohne den Ansatz zu brennen. Schärfe kennt dieser Rum nicht. Für mich ist nur wieder das Leder und der Kaffee etwas zu intensiv. Hier finde ich den 20 jährigen tatsächlich ausgewogener. Ändert aber nichts das der Rum vollmundig mit viel Körper eine weiche Komplexität mitbringt welche nicht aufregen möchte. Respekt. Für mich 9.5.

Es ist nicht mein Lieblingsrum und für mich persönlich ist der Dictador 20 Solera etwas ansprechender. Aber das ist persönlicher Geschmack und ich kann nicht anders als anzuerkennen was für ein hervorragender Rum der Insolent ist. Er ist Ideal für einen Abend mit einem guten Freund. Lecker und komplex. Ich werde den Rum weiter erforschen.

The Dictador XO Insolent is a Solera rum made from sugar cane honey. The age of the rums used should be between 20-35 years! Wow. For storage, classic used oak barrels but also sherry and port wine barrels were used. These are burned out to get sweet caramel notes. The insolent is bottled with 40% alcohol. No colors or sweeteners are added. Unfortunately, the silver bottle is a matter of taste. The cardboard is stylish and looks high quality.

In the nose, the Insolent is powerful without losing it. Soft come notes of caramel, oak, honey, molasses and also some smoke. Pleasant and productive, the rum envelops the nose. On the palate, the rum shows what it has to offer. Balanced and creamy, it gives notes of chocolate, toffee, milk coffee and caramel. Honey and oak notes dance and are captured by light smoke notes. Buttery, the alcohol releases its heat without burning the base. This rum does not know sharpness. For me, only the leather and the coffee are a little too intense again. Here I actually find the 20-year-old more balanced. But nothing changes that the Rum has a lot of body and brings a soft complexity that does not want to upset. Respect. For me 9.5.

It's not my favourite rum and for me personally the Dictador 20 Solera is a bit more appealing. But this is personal taste and I can't help but acknowledge what an excellent rum the Insolent is. He is ideal for an evening with a good friend. Delicious and complex. I will continue to explore the rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Limike from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Velmi dobrý sladší rum. Ve vůni dominantní káva, v pozadí vanilka. V chuti hlavně cítím hořkost kávových zrn. Velmi výrazná specifická chuť. Stojí za vyzkoušení, nevím jestli se ta chuť ale brzy neomrzí.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

From the firt taste you can feel a lot of chocolate and sweet tones. You will not believe, that there is no added sugar...
Other (fruity) tones are showing up in finish. Not bad, but I'm not friend of chocolate, therefore 1point down.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 138 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation. Très bon goût de chocolat et caramel. Goûte très peu l'alcool.